We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic day out”

WWT Martin Mere Wetland Centre
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Burscough
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Crewe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A fantastic day out”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Martin Mere has so much to offer! It's great to be able to walk around outside and look at lots of species of birds living in different areas according to country of origin - and to be able to feed them and see them up close - and it's great to go to the hides too, especially as the sun starts setting. It was amazing seeing huge flocks of geese meeting in sky and the noise they made was incredible!

The food at the cafe was nice and cheap, and my sister loved seeing the otters and being able to feed some of the birds out of her hand.

We saw lots of kids who seemed to be having a brilliant time, so I think it would be great for kids too. A highly recommended day out!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    482
    203
    39
    7
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“got loads of poo on my car”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

didnt even go in! i just sat in the car park cos it was too expensive! and they mustnt have realised that birds fly so you can see them from outside anyway :p

Helpful?
2 Thank sean m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WWTMartinMere, Manager at WWT Martin Mere Wetland Centre, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Hi, I am sorry you did not enjoy your experience at Martin Mere on your last visit. At this time of year we do get thousands and thousands of migratory pink-footed geese, who fly here from Iceland so I am sorry to say that it is a occupational hazard that there will often be bird muck on cars at this time of the year. It is a shame that you did not enter the centre as the sight of all of these birds whiffling over the mere and landing is one of natures best spectacles as well as experiencing everything else that Martin Mere has to offer. I do hope that you will decide to visit us again, December and January is a great time as we will have peak numbers of Whooper swans on the mere (up to 2000) and you can come along to one of our events such as the Model Train show on 26 & 27 January or the North West Bird Watching Festival on 24 & 25 November as these events are all included as part of the admission price making them great value for money weekends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
903 reviews
453 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 406 helpful votes
“Nice morning out”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is a great place for bird lovers. Superb collection of captive birds organised by continent and lots of comfortable hides to view the local area - plus otters (feeding late am) and beavers - better wiewed on their internet webcams. Local wildlife viewing depends on the season and time of day, but there is always plenty to see. Spring when the chicks are hatched is our favourite, but we enjoy a visit at any time of year. Cafe worth a look. Do try it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank djpend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Chilly experience”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great place to visit. Took our grandchildren and they loved it. The weather was a little brisk to say the least but we were wrapped up warm.A few nice exhibits and the people on duty were very knowledgable.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank SouthportWolfhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eccleston, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice day out for all the family..”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Had annual membership here for years. Lovely walk round on a nice day. Really good play area for little ones and slightly older ones. Cafe does a nice cuppa. A bit pongy in summer due to the bird doodoo everywhere.

Helpful?
Thank Jacqui W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed WWT Martin Mere Wetland Centre also viewed

 
Chorley, Lancashire
 

Been to WWT Martin Mere Wetland Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing