We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, clean and well equipped cottage for 2” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Martin Lane Farm Holiday Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Martin Lane Farm Holiday Cottages
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable, clean and well equipped cottage for 2”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We have stayed at The Dairy many times recently while visiting elderly family members in a local care home. We have always been made very welcome by the extremely helpful owners and have enjoyed a peaceful and comfortable stay. Visits to Martin Mere and walks along the canal have added to the pleasure as is the cottage's close proximity to 'The Farm' shop and tea room. Breakfast there is to be recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine S, Owner at Martin Lane Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Many thanks, we appreciate your remarks. Looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
13
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed in the Granary and the Stable for a couple of nights over new year. We were two families, both with small children. We were very happy with the cottages - clean, warm and inviting, very comfortable and well-equipped, and beautifully quiet at night. They were also decorated for Christmas which was a lovely touch. The owners were very helpful and the cottages had plenty of information about things to do in the local area. We would definitely recommend this property to anyone wanting to stay in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarrieLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elaineelizabeth, Owner at Martin Lane Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thanks for your kind words, i'm glad you all enjoyed your New Year break
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We booked the Granary to allow us to be close to family at Christmas. The cottage was very warm, clean and comfortable. It had been decorated for Christmas, including a Christmas tree which was a really nice touch. We were able to visit my son, daughter-in-law and 2 young granddaughters and they came to the cottage on Christmas Day. We cooked Christmas dinner (including turkey) for 7 people and, although it was a bit of a challenge, we managed it and it was thoroughly enjoyed by all. It is a nice quiet location and I would have no hesitation in recommending to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueL281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine S, Owner at Martin Lane Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. So glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had 2 cottages The Granary and The Stable, we are a party of 10 ranging from 5 months to 74 yrs old, the cottages are very well equipped. My Mum loved the Stable as everything was within her reach as she is in a wheelchair, both cottages were really warm and the Stable has underfloor heating. Close to Southport (15 mins drive), Burscough Wharf well worth a visit, 2 mins away. The owners were brilliant excellent info packs in both cottages with all local info, we visited the local Farm Shop for breakfast. Cottages have plenty of lovely clean white fluffy towels & excellent bed linen on comfy beds.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShoppingQueenHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We booked the Stable and the Dairy as a base to allow us to be with family over the Christmas period. The accommodation was warm, very clean, well maintained and certainly met all of our needs. The Stable had even been decorated with its own Christmas Tree.
The location was ideal for us and provided a quiet and peaceful base to work from.
I would have no hesitation in booking again or recommending to others in the future.

Room Tip: The Stable has excellent facilities for those who are less mobile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BobR2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We have used The Dairy on several occasions and found it to be adequate for our needs as we only come to the area to visit family.It is cosy and comfortable.On our last visit we stayed in The Stable which is excellent and highly recommended.The location of this cottage is very private with its own entrance and exit and parking is right outside the front door.We have already booked another break in the spring for The Dairy.

Room Tip: Bedroom in The Dairy is facing the back garden so it is very quiet. Both bedrooms in The Stable coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gillian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed as a couple together with my elderly mother, who was pleased to have her own ensuite shower room.
We found the cottage (The Stables) very warm, comfortable and clean. Really well appointed and cared for. The cottages are very near to Southport and Ormskirk yet it was a really quiet country location. The owners were very welcoming and helpful. We shall definitely want to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz0021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burscough
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southport (Ormskirk) Hotel
5.7 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 28 in Southport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
7.8 mi away
Holland Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
3.9 mi away
Rufford Arms Hotel
Rufford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rufford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Farm Burscough
The Farm Burscough
#2 of 3 in Burscough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin Lane Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin Lane Farm Holiday Cottages

Property: Martin Lane Farm Holiday Cottages
Address: 5 Martin Lane | Lancashire, Burscough, Ormskirk L40 8JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Ormskirk > Burscough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Burscough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Martin Lane Farm Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four delightful, award winning, country cottages in Lancashire. Nestling in the rich arable farmland of West Lancashire between the beautiful seaside resort of Southport and the bustling market town of Ormskirk.The cottages, ranging in size and character, have been expertly converted from former farm buildings. The Stable has been specially designed to be fully accessible for guests with all disabilities, it is bright and spacious. All the cottages are fully equipped with every modern convenience yet still retain lots of the original features.The area is ideal for walking & cycling and being only 2 miles from the Wildfowl & Wetlands Trust at Martin Mere, it's a bird watchers paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Martin Lane Farm Holiday Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing