We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable first visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Keats Restaurant

Keats Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Ampfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $58
Cuisines: Italian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Surrounded by Hampshire Countryside, Keats restaurant is located in Ampfield, half way between Winchester and Romsey. Easily Accessed from Chandlers Ford and Southampton. The restaurant provides the perfect environment for an intimate dining experience while also offering ample accommodation to cater for parties and functions. We have 40 years of catering experience behind us and are always moving forward with our traditional experience and contemporary outlook. Our talented and creative team will give you confidence in all aspects of your dining experience.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable first visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

It was our first trip and was extremely pleasant. Food was rich and tasty and service from host very agreeable.
Not the cheapest but if you want cheap go to a pub or chain.
A very good evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank earwig2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    39
    10
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and I have eaten here on a number of occasions in the last 20 years. Sometimes with friends and other times with Family and you always get a warm welcome. The food is first class and the service is second to none. Not the cheapest but well worth the money.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A warm welcome to an excellent Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

My wife and went with 58 Rotarians on a warm summer evening to this beautiful restaurant set in the picturesque village of Ampfield, just opposite the Golf Course.
A glass of Prosecco made a good start for the evening served. Taking into account the number of us the extent of the menu was indeed very good, the service was excellent, as was the true Italian food all hot...completed with superb dessert and of course coffee.
We will definitely be returning.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank avoca70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average to Good!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Depends very much on when you go to this one. Been about three times in the last three years. First pretty awful because large numbers in our group and the food is usually awful when the chef has to cater for 'crowds'. Second time just OK , but not memorable. Third time luckier. Dont know if changed chefs or what, but it was Christmas and six in our party as opposed to thirty on previous visits. Better quality of food, better sized portions.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Back after a couple of years”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Returned with a group of friends for an annual reunion. A quiet night for the restaurant with our party of eight making up half of their customers for the night. As one might expect, with those numbers the service should be good and, although there were only two waiting staff on duty, it was.
The number of clean plates, from each course, indicated the edibility of the food. Apart from a few bits of lamb, from my dish, every plate from the main course was clean. My lamb was a little stringy and the mint sauce too vinegary for my taste. That said, I enjoyed my three courses, the crepes starter being particularly flavoursome. .

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keats Restaurant also viewed

 
Romsey, Hampshire
 

Been to Keats Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing