We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent as usual.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Keats Restaurant

Keats Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Ampfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $56
Cuisines: Italian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Surrounded by Hampshire Countryside, Keats restaurant is located in Ampfield, half way between Winchester and Romsey. Easily Accessed from Chandlers Ford and Southampton. The restaurant provides the perfect environment for an intimate dining experience while also offering ample accommodation to cater for parties and functions. We have 40 years of catering experience behind us and are always moving forward with our traditional experience and contemporary outlook. Our talented and creative team will give you confidence in all aspects of your dining experience.
southampton
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent as usual.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

28 of us visited this wonderful restaurant to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday. Everything about Keat's is fabulous. The food is to die for. Daverio, Donato and all the staff make you so welcome and are so friendly, helpful and yet unobtrusive. Everyone in our party commented on how delicious the food was. Some were new to Keat's but I know they'll go again. We have been using it for years and we will keep going back.

Helpful?
1 Thank southamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    38
    10
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

A cosy family run italian restaurant.
Owners are very welcoming, let us know all daily offers.
We opted for fish for starters and mains as well, because they resource them from the market.
Absolutely delicious!
Unfortunately they are a bit pricey, but a nice treat on an occasion.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AgotaSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, England
Level Contributor
638 reviews
398 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,118 helpful votes
“Gourmet food on fixed menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We visited on a Wednesday evening in January. The restaurant was warm and the tables dressed with fresh linen tablecloths and napkins. I was happy to find two truly gourmet dishes on the fixed-price menu. I began with a game terrine, which contains pieces of four different types of game: venison, pheasant, quail and partridge. Very tasty and attractively presented, dressed with a home-made chutney, pea shoots and small endives. For the main course I chose the duck, served with steamed pak choi, sweet potato puree and an orange and star of anise sauce. Well, this was great! Very tender duck, supplied by a local butcher, and the sauce was delicious. The pak choi was pleasantly crunchy and the sweet potato excellent. It is not so often that you find such gourmet dishes on a fixed-price menu. My wife was also pleased with her oriental salmon starter and grain-fed chicken main course, stuffed with mascarpone mousseline and garnished with asparagus, peas and saute potatoes.
The house wine (£3.50) and freshly-ground coffee (around £2 for all types) were reasonably priced and good value. All in all, we had a very enjoyable evening there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BroLucius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ham, United Kingdom
1 review
“"Fabulous & friendly"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have revisited Keats for many years and introduced family and friends to the delicous food and the friendly staff. It is by far my favourite resturant! The only down side is that I would like to be able to afford to eat there more often.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We have been visiting Keats for years. It's a well loved establishment because of the people but the food is now sooo overpriced.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keats Restaurant also viewed

Ampfield, Hampshire
Braishfield, Romsey
 

Been to Keats Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing