We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality food”
Review of The Indian Plaza

The Indian Plaza
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Quality food”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Had the best Indian food ever , the quality was brilliant and the service was second to none.
Absolutely amazing evening that could not be faulted

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    551
    59
    20
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service.”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Having driven past this place many times, we finally went in tonight, and we weren't disappointed. Staff were waiting for us at the door, and when we had sat down we had our drinks in front of us in less than 5 minutes.

The food took a litlle while to come, but given that everything is cooked to order, and we had 2 rather large meals, it was OK. When the food arrived it was excellent, piping hot, and very tasty indeed. The staff were very friendly and attentive too without overdoing it, which is always nice and although I don't like being called "sir" my Mum just loves being addressed as "Ma'am" when it's said properly.

2 large main meals with all the trimmings and 3 drinks came to just over £33 which is great value in my book. Happy to recommend to others, but unless going when they have just opened would book a table as the restaurant filled up very quickly after we arrived.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank diskmandave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Can't fault the place”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Another fantastic meal. Just been with parents(who are in every week) food faultless, staff friendly, prices reasonable, (just don't trust them when they tell you they are green beans) ;-)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ianvincent80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good for East Manchester”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

For a ‘local restaurant’, Indian Plaza provides the very highest quality of food.

To be fair, I went on a quiet Sunday afternoon so there would have been no excuse for poor service. That said, they excelled themselves.

For my starter, I shared the mixed Tandori and had the lamb shah-he-shofra (excuse spelling) for my main course.

We also had some poppadoms with a variety of sauces.

The starter and the poppadoms were fine and nothing too exceptional. However the main course was superb. The lamb shah-he-shofra was described as moderately hot and didn’t disappoint. In addition to that chilli after-taste, it had a sweet and sour undertone which provided an interesting fusion of tastes.

As for the service, it was attentive without being too ‘in your face’. However, I don’t know how they would perform on a busy Friday or Saturday evening.

This place is definitely worth going out of your way for and if my experience is anything to go by, you won’t be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RedTom64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This place was cute and very welcoming. We were greeted by the owner and he was so happy to know how we found his place. We used Trip Advisor! He suggested a great appetizer for us to try. Delicious! The food is prepared fresh and tastes very authentic. The price was great for dinner and wine. Service was excellent!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank leah j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Indian Plaza also viewed

Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
 
Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
 
Droylsden, Greater Manchester
Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Indian Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing