We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quality for the price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Hotel Manchester Ashton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good quality for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

I use this hotel on a regular basis for trips to Manchester and also as a base to walk the north end of the Peak District. It's roughly 15 mins into Manchester City Centre. Main plus for me is that it accepts dogs (I have a dalmatian). Rooms are clean and spacious, beds are very comfy and you don't hear any noise from the nearby M60 unless you open your window. Only negative I'd have about the room is that it's dark, and however many lights you turn on it doesn't seem to make a difference - possibly not helped by the dark furniture/fixtures that they've opted to use throughout the hotel. Overall a good hotel for the money and like I say, great for dog owners! (expect to pay around £70 per night booking ahead which includes breakfast).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    515
    260
    128
    80
See reviews for
242
573
52
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

If you need a hotel close to the M60 for an overnight stay that is a bit better than a premier inn, then I would recommend this hotel.

Look for deals and I would not pay more than £70-80 pn. Its theme is your urban hotel. However the location is slightly odd for this type of hotel and dosn't compliment it. Appart from either a business trip or travel stop I don't know why you would need to stay in this area (no disrespect to Ashton) however the rooms are nice. Not the biggest to be fair and the storage is quite minimal. Rooms have 27" TV, ipod dock, free wifi, iron, kettle. My room had the walk in 'monsoon' shower which was quite nice.

However..I have stayed in nicer 'chic' hotels and there were no freebies! The finish therefore needs work. The plastic soap dispensers were a big let down for a 4* hotel....come on Devere.

Didn't try the Spa or food therefore cannot comment. Word of warning tho, if you require a quiet romantic weekend, the hotel does cater for events therefore might be better to check their website before you land. For the romantic getaway I would look elsewhere, possibly centre of Manchester.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that are not above the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sporty_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We have just come back from a one night stay at this hotel.
Me and my husband paid for an upper deck room for a bit of a relaxing time, because of a crash in the motorway it took us ages to get to the hotel hours over what it should have done, we arrived at the hotel at 5.15 and had booked a package where our evening meal was included we requested a table for around 7.30 only to be told they were very busy that night and there was only 6.15 or 9. I was starving 9 was far too late so we had to accept the 6.15 one which had me in a mad panic to get ready in time. The meal itself was delicious and we really enjoyed it, what really upset me was that we were in there around a hour and the place was dead I would be surprised if there had of been 30 diners I was unimpressed. Another thing that I was disappointed in was a bottle of house white wine we bought, just short of 17 pounds which we weren't bothered about paying until we got into the bar only to find the exact same bottle was charged to us for 10pounds!
Other than these two factors the hotel is really stylish, clean, modern and just lovely to stay in, the upper deck rooms are just that little bit more special than a normal room and were well worth the extra 20 pounds we paid especially for the fab nights sleep we had in the so snuggly and comfy bed.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank head2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions in the last year and have always enjoyed our stay. The beds are extremely comfortable (we actually asked where to purchase one!) and the blackout blinds and thick walls ensure a good nights sleep. The whole interior is finished to a high standard. The rooms are gorgeous and very clean. The food in the restaurant on the whole is good but having eaten here many times I would say some of the chef's are definitely better than others! Location of the hotel is right next to the motorway so don't expect good views but links are excellent. The staff are always helpful and polite. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Not much difference in terms of view etc!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshineruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We've just come back from an amazing stay at the Village Ashton. I have nothing negative to say at all. We arrived at 3PM to check in, no queue and it was very quick. We were on the 4Th floor as we had booked Upper Deck. We stayed in Room 406, it was fantastic. The room was immaculate and the facilities available were beyond what we were expecting. We had Sky with Sky movies and Starbucks in our room which was lovely. The bed was amazing also, feather duvet and pillows were so comfy.

The hotels spa facilities were lovely. The pool was a good size and when we went it was very quiet. The changing rooms were clean and tidy with private changing rooms and towels are provided. The Gym is huge and the machines are very high quality. There is also a small ladies only gym if you don't fancy using the mixed gym. They also have a Spinning room which looked great.

The location for us was perfect it's a 10 minute walk from the train station and 2 minutes away there is a retail park with a cinema and loads of places to eat and drink.
Breakfast was great, there was so much to choose from. we went at around 9:30 and although we were advised at check in that it would be busy after 9am we were seated straight away. As soon as we were seated we were asked what we'd like to drink.

Check out was quick and easy. We requested a late check out until 2pm, with a charge of £20. The usual check out is 11am but we wanted to use to use the spa facilities again. When we checked out we were given an itemised bill and we asked how our stay was.

We loved it here and will certainly return. My advised is to get Upper desk as these rooms are on the top floor and there is no noise at all from the road or from other guests.

Room Tip: Get Upper Deck! If you don't have children go to pool 12am - 2pm or after 7pm. These are the tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I had booked a room here to be convenient for returning a hire car and getting ourselves to Manchester Airport fairly early on a Saturday morning. We found the room quite small with only a minimal amount of hanging space and not at a convenient height ( I am just 5' tall).
The bathroom was passable, at least the water pressure was decent but the light coming through the "window" into the bedroom was a nuisance.
We used the restaurant for dinner and were very unimpressed by the prices and menu options. To counterbalance that the waitress was very helpful and friendly.She could not make up for an overstretched kitchen.
The next morning we sat down for breakfast within 5 minutes of it opening. Much of the hot food in the buffet was already tepid.
There appears to be very little soundproofing as on the second floor we could clearly hear the "vocalist" downstairs. I would also suggest a rebalancing of the airconditioning in the restaurant as parts of it are freezing with a howling gale - not conducive to a pleasant dining experience

Room Tip: Less noise higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEESSIDE
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Just returned from a lovely weekend away.

Booked via Groupon for £109 for Bed and Breakfast for Two People for Two nights with a dinner on one night.

I took my partner here for his birthday from Saturday - Monday.

The rooms were very modern and chic, lovely decorated and clean. Beds- extremely comfy! Bathrooms were very nice with lovely walk in drop shower! It had everything we needed e.g. iron, hairdryer etc.
(have stayed in the De Vere in Bury, Manchester and these rooms were better!) Room got cleaned in between days and got new towels which I don't think many hotels do if you stay over 2 nights.

All staff were quite young and very professional, smart and friendly. - no complaints.

The first night we had our inclusive dinner, we chose off a small menu but food was lovely - good portions - not too big or small and was very full by the end of it. Lovely cheese and tomato tart, soup, chicken and mash, burger, eton mess and chocolate fodant. (would recommend any!)

We only had to pay for our drinks which was around £12.00 I thought this was pretty good for a hotel as we had 1 wine, 1 soft drink and 2 beers.

We went in the pool and spa, lovely clean and very big changing rooms, pool adequate but we preferred the other de vere pool as it was much bigger. Steam room and sauna good.

On the second day we went into Manchester to do some shopping - only took about 15/20 minutes. We then went to the leisure park close to the hotel for tea and cinema. Nice to have that on your doorstep if you don't want to stay in the hotel.

The only complaint we had was a man who was banging down a door, next to us, for about half an hour at 12am. and then again lots of talking and cheering outside our room at about 3am. However that isn't the hotels fault. Very infuriating.

Both breakfast was lovely, buffet to choose from - could have more pastries e.g. pain au chocolat and chopped fruit. - but thats just my opinion.

Overall we had a great stay, rooms, staff, food - great. Would definately recommend. and we thought we got a bargain for the price!

Thanks!! Would definately return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sammy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashton-under-Lyne
1.8 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Hyde
8.0 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle
15.6 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Bury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Broadoak Hotel
The Broadoak Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Smokies Park
1.1 mi away
Barton Villa
Barton Villa
#1 of 1 in Dukinfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Manchester Ashton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Manchester Ashton

Property: Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
Address: Village Hotel Pamir Drive, Ashton-under-Lyne OL7 0LY, England (Formerly Village Urban Resort Manchester Ashton)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Ashton-under-Lyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ashton-under-Lyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Manchester Ashton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton is located to the east of Manchester City Centre, close to the city of Manchester Stadium and Sports City complexes and just 8 miles from Manchester Airport. The hotel is within easy reach to Cineworld, Hollywood Bowl and Ikea. Village Hotel Manchester Ashton has 120 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding License and free WI-FI throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Village Hotel Manchester Ashton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Ashton Moss Under Lyne
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton Ashton-Under-Lyne, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing