We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely family run hotel.”
Review of The Broadoak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Broadoak Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

As a single traveller I am impressed by the warm and friendly welcome I received from the moment I walked through the door. I was greeted by the hotel proprietor at reception who was exceedingly efficient and friendly. I was then shown to my room and the lady offered to take my bags to which I declined. The room was very clean and very comfortable. I had requested an ironing board and iron and this was there on arrival and unlike some hotels the iron worked!!

I had read several reviews which stated the hotel drinks were expensive but I paid 2.90 for a glass of house red. So not sure where the expensive came from as hotels generally charge more.

Breakfast was lovely and the service quick.

Everyone chatted and made my visit warm which in comparison to a rather large chain I stay in,in Hyde a rather pleasant change.

It is a small hotel so you are made to feel like a guest rather than a number.

Would totally recommend !!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrystaltips2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 180 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

I Stayed with a colleague whilst on Business in the area. We both found everything to be of a high quality and better than one normally expects for this price range. The rooms where large, very clean and had all the expected additional touches which are sometimes missing. The restaurant was well laid out, the menu contained options for a variety of tastes and dietary requirements (the Lamb done three ways was wonderful). The Breakfast was also a very high standard. All the staff where extremely efficient and friendly. Even the Beer was good quality and 30p less than I am used to paying. Altogether a wonderful experience, I will be certain to return when next in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 188John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed over night 6th october as was visiting relatives in the area .the room was lovely the staff were very helpful in the evening we had a drink in the bar which was reasonably priced and the breakfast was very tasty and filling next time were in the area we hope to stay again

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We live less than 1 mile from the Broadoak but had never eaten there so thought we would give it a try. There were seven adults and a 2 year old for Sunday lunch in December. We booked the day before and were seated shortly after 12.00pm in the restaurant area. Drinks orders were taken at the table. We all mostly ate from the set menu which included pate and toast, tuna salad, melon and soup for starters followed by turkey, roast beef, lamb and salmon for main with three dishes of shared root vegetables & roast potatoes. Ice-creams, christmas pudding with brandy sauce or custard and a tarte with cream or ice cream for dessert. Coffee for some after the meal (not included with set menu). Cost approx £140 with one round of drinks (4 pints, gin & tonic, wine and a coke). We also bought drinks at the bar and paid at the bar. Service was generally good and the meal was enjoyed by all. The 2 year old had a side plate and shared with the adults. Ample car parking outside. Toilets very clean. We would go again and we have been back for a pint in the bar area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank georgedoorsscores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I called the Broadoak late in the day on the first day of my stay and they were very accommodating and helpful. Good sized rooms, plenty of storage space, comfortable bed, friendly locals in the bar. Would definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SR1Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Thank you Trip Advisor for your valuable advice in choosing hotels.
My wife and I have lived in Cyprus for the past 20 years and each year we return to the UK to visit family and friends. For the past 6 years we have always used the Broadoak Hotel for our 2-week break. This year our visit was a very special one to celebrate our Diamond wedding anniversary.
The manager Robert Frost and his splendid staff exceeded all expectations in the warmth of their welcome. Their contribution to our celebration especially the wonderful party was excellent and a significant element in its success.
The famous brewery” Robinson’s named a fine new beer after Robert in recognition of his family’s 50 years association with this excellent hotel. It is called “Frostys” If you are in the area try it.
A former correspondent commented adversely about Robert being in the bar every evening. I want to emphasize that we and other guests appreciate him making himself readily available to enquire about our comfort and satisfaction with the hotel’s provisions.
This hotel for us is not just a place to stay but it is now a vital and integral part of our annual visits.
Norman & Elizabeth Kenyon

Room Tip: Any of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here last weekend 1st-2nd September with a work colleague. Wasn't expecting the best, what a pleasant surprise ! The service from checking in was first class, remembered my name from the phone call booking in, offered to carry our bags, the carpets were brand new, the whole place was spotless and clean. Food was great, beer was very good, room was spotless. Shower was great, the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was one of the best I've had in a long time. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Just turn up !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveLouth_Lincs_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashton-under-Lyne
1.3 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
#1 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
1,766 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Ashton Under Lyne
Travelodge Ashton Under Lyne
#2 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
264 reviews
1.4 mi away
Barton Villa
Barton Villa
#1 of 1 in Dukinfield
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park
2.4 mi away
Village Manchester Hyde Hotel
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Broadoak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broadoak Hotel

Address: 69 Broadoak Road, Ashton-under-Lyne OL6 8QD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Ashton-under-Lyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ashton-under-Lyne
Price Range: $119 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Broadoak Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Broadoak Hotel is located minutes from Ashton-under-Lyne town centre, close to the M60 motorway, and convenient for Manchester City Centre, Airport, football grounds & Peak District National Park. Offers individually decorated rooms to a national Four Star standard, all ensuite, with free WIFI, flatsreen TV, room service, & full breakfast. Award winning restaurant, bar, function rooms & conference facilities. Car park. Family owned with a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Broadoak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Broadoak Hotel Ashton-Under-Lyne, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing