We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and well-appointed rooms. Friendly and helpful staff.”
Review of The Broadoak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Broadoak Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2011

My stay was only for one night and was for family reasons. My room and bathroom were well appointed and clean and had everything that I needed. The staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I had thought that the location might be noisy but this proved not to be the case. I had considered staying in a Premier Lodge but I am so pleased that I stayed at The Broadoak Hotel. It made me realise how isolating and anonymous group hotels can be.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMaryP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadoak01, Manager at The Broadoak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2011

Thank you for your lovely comments, we are glad you stayed with us instead of the premier inn.

Look forward ro seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 180 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2011

We needed a comfortable place to stay for the weekend while visiting my partners daughter. This Hotel is really an Inn/Tavern and was exactly what we wanted,as we enjoyed the personal hospitality of the proprietor and staff in the restaurant and bar. Highly recommended.
A francophile and now an anglophile
From Ireland.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irish-francophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

Stayed often over the years. All but one of the attributes is excellent - staff from owner, managers to cleaners, good food through various changes of chef, not to mention range of wines and beers etc. Just one adverse comment - please change or even get rid of the dried flower arrangements on landing and corridor. They look dusty even though they aren't, and do nothing to enhance the appearance of the place. The internal decoration is beginning to look a bit tired, but not yet disastrously so - and I guess the brewery should put in some money to restore what was a lovely conversion of the old space to rooms to its former glory.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed_Cons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We had our wedding reception here last weekend and this place is amazing, a real hidden gem. We chose this venue as we had one of our first dates here and it was the best decision we have made. After making the booking we went for several meals on a Sunday and we were never disaapointed, the roast dinner here is a must.
We hired the Acorn Suite and had around 70 guests for the sit down meal, the room was a perfect size for this number, the staff happily accomodated the round table layout that we wanted. They phoned the week before the wedding to ask what food we fancied and we requested minestrone soup for starter and sticky toffee pudding, both of which the kitchen doesn't normally do and they had no problems making this and it was lovely, everyone enjoyed it. The meal serving time was marginally longer than you average wedding, but this is because each dish is cooked to perfection and served at the right time and did not feel like you average larger group catering. The Roast beef dinner was fabulous too. In the evening we had a lovely hot buffet too.
The staff could not do enough to help us they were friendly and attentive throughout and changed the room round for the evening remarkably fast. They took great care in trasnferring all our centres pieces over for the evening too.
Before choosing the broadoak my fiance and I visited around ten hotels and other prestigious venues in the north west, and they all wanted to give us a bland wedding reception that they apply to everyone for an extortionate price, The Broadoak is reasonably priced, family run, lovely rooms, exceptional service and they help make your day your own. All our family stayed in the hotel too and thorougly enjoyed there stay from start to finish.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelzoo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadoak01, Manager at The Broadoak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2010

thank you for your lovely comments, we look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

We held our daughters wedding at the hotel and stayed overnight. The staff were so helpful before and during our stay. Nothing was too much trouble for them.The meal and service was amazing, all our guests have said how much they enjoyed it. We stayed in a family room which was excellent, 2 bedrooms with a bathroom inbetween the 2 rooms. We had plenty of room and it felt like a home from home. The rooms were lovely, very comfortable and clean. We were well looked after at breakfast, the staff were very attentive and made sure we all had everything we wanted. This is really a hidden gem!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz499520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadoak01, Owner at The Broadoak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2010

thank you for your comments, they are much appreciated, look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2010

This was the second time I stayed here and would be my first choice when in the area. Good Food and drink and very friendly helpful staff. Rooms are very nice and the Jazz on a Tuesday is an added bonus.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stags_fanNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadoak01, Owner at The Broadoak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2010

Thank you for your comments, look forward to seeing you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

I went to the Broadoak Hotel with friends for a meal and a few drinks.

The staff were excellent, the service was superb and the food even better.

It was brilliant food for a reasonable price and would definately recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chloelou25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadoak01, Manager at The Broadoak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2010

Thankyou for your review - we're glad you enjoyed your meal and thankyou for your reccomendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashton-under-Lyne
1.3 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
#1 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
1,771 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Ashton Under Lyne
Travelodge Ashton Under Lyne
#2 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
264 reviews
1.4 mi away
Barton Villa
Barton Villa
#1 of 1 in Dukinfield
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park
2.4 mi away
Village Manchester Hyde Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#4 of 11 in Oldham
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Broadoak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broadoak Hotel

Address: 69 Broadoak Road, Ashton-under-Lyne OL6 8QD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Ashton-under-Lyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ashton-under-Lyne
Price Range: $117 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Broadoak Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Broadoak Hotel is located minutes from Ashton-under-Lyne town centre, close to the M60 motorway, and convenient for Manchester City Centre, Airport, football grounds & Peak District National Park. Offers individually decorated rooms to a national Four Star standard, all ensuite, with free WIFI, flatsreen TV, room service, & full breakfast. Award winning restaurant, bar, function rooms & conference facilities. Car park. Family owned with a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Broadoak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Broadoak Hotel Ashton-Under-Lyne, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing