We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Ashton Under Lyne
Certificate of Excellence
Grange Over Sands
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Basic but convenient”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This hotel is now alongside the newly opened tram tracks between Manchester and Ashton-u-Lyne, and is very close to a (free) park and ride car park so access to the tram routes is very convenient. It is also adjacent to the main road and close to the M60, so not the quietest of places if you want the window open - rooms at the back of the hotel may be quieter. There is a free car park at the hotel, and a pub adjacent to the hotel which offers breakfast if the Travelodge Breakfast Box isn't to your liking. The hotel itself is the same as all Travelodges we've used - basic, simple, clean. No free wifi and at £5 for an hour we went without for the night. The hotel reception is not the cheeriest of places and when we visited the lift was out of order.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank sullivan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    89
    44
    12
    18
See reviews for
79
73
20
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights it was very pleasant very helpful staff the lad on the desk Adam was amazing will come again we are booking to stay on the 24th of January for 3 nights and can not wait especially now they have had a refurb it looks amazing

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tertianend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2014

we went down to stay with family over the festive period and it was a nice travelodge and i will be back soon we have been before the rooms are very well looked after and there are tea and coffee in your room

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank joefurey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanzarote, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I have just had a very pleasant experience with Travelodge. I had booked in for 4 nights but because I did not know if would be able to travel because of a family illness, or that I might be able to travel in two or three days time , they bent over backwards to be helpful, I was Abe to book in over the phone and given a room number , so that if I was able to go then I would have my room , I arrived on the third night , had two very comfortable and peaceful nights sleep , the next time I have to return to England I will deffinatly book in to travelodge

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denis a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with family for a night in late October. The rooms are modern and spacious, the beds are comfy. However neither of our rooms had towels, one had used tampons still in the bin and in the other the bathroom floor was covered in hair. Not sure I'd recommend this place over other budget options.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JHOManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Ashton Under Lyne, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Whilst we are happy to hear you found our rooms to be modern and spacious and our beds to be comfortable JHOManchester, it is regrettable to learn that the room was not up to our usual high standards of cleanliness and that the room was not set up with the correct amount of towels before you arrival. We will ensure to pass your comments onto the Hotel Management team which will allow them to be able to make the necessary improvements to stop these type of things from happening again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We booked this hotel as we had an early morning flight to catch and we had read terrible reviews about travelodges closer to the airport so we booked here and we were pleasantly surprised. The Travelodge had clearly had a refurb which we thought had been done to a pretty high standard. It is next to a tram line and some relatively busy roads but overall it was quiet enough to sleep ok and was convenient for getting to Manchester airport. It was also very good value as we booked quite a way in advance and got a cheap deal.

Room Tip: Ask for an even numbered room if you want a quieter room, we were in an odd numbered room which face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayles42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have stayed here a few times and last time we was there they did not get a good review from us. We only went back this time because we couldn't get in anywhere else for the price we paid. I complained to travelodge about the price they was asking for the night and due to the run down state of the place i told them they needed a refit as they beds were awful. They told me Ashton was not on the list for a refit but after a lot of thought and the fact that we had a voucher we booked it for £30 for the night. When we arrived i asked at reception for extra pillows as they never have enough in the room. I was gob smacked to be told they had had a refit and the pillows are big and fluffy and she didn't think we would need anymore. I took her at her word and said i would be back if i did need more. Surprise surprise the beds now had 2 pillows each and they did look big and fluffy. I'm sure it was a new mattress as the bed was very comfy unlike last time we was there. The room looked better but when you looked close there was chips out of the furniture but the new bathroom door could only have been fitted by a blind man and who had no joinery skills what so ever. The door didn't even fit and where the hinges were there was a big chunk of wood missing. The door hadn't even been painted and there was screws missing from the hinges. It gave us a good laugh but they should seriously get a joiner who knows how to fit a door. Sadly i forgot to take some photos otherwise you could of all had a good laugh. The only thing what stopped me from sleeping this time was the people in the room above us who seem to stamp around the room until 3am. I did think about ringing reception or going upstairs myself but i kept thinking they would shut up soon. I fell asleep at the end out of share exhaustion. If we go back i will ask for a room on the top floor but the 1 thing that would put me off is the tram lines a few yards from the hotel. Lucky for us they haven't started to run on that section of line yet. Well done travelodge for listening to people and their complaints and making the rooms more comfortable.

Room Tip: a room on the top floor away from the tram lines
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneRuncorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Ashton Under Lyne, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your review AnneRuncorn. We’re pleased to hear you found our new king-sized beds to be comfortable. Although we are sorry to learn that there was an issue with the bathroom door and that you were disturbed by other guests. We ask customers to be courteous to other guests during their stay and we try to reduce noise by having insulated walls and double glazing. Our hotel staff will be made aware of your feedback so that they are able to make repairs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashton-under-Lyne
0.6 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
#1 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
1,672 reviews
1.4 mi away
Barton Villa
Barton Villa
#1 of 1 in Dukinfield
104 reviews
1.8 mi away
Village Manchester Hyde Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park
1.9 mi away
The Broadoak Hotel
The Broadoak Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
177 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Ashton Under Lyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Ashton Under Lyne

Property: Travelodge Ashton Under Lyne
Address: Lapwing Lane, Ashton-under-Lyne M34 5QL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Ashton-under-Lyne
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ashton-under-Lyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Ashton Under Lyne 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Ashton Under Lyne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Ashton Under Lyne Hotel Ashton-Under-Lyne
Travel Lodge Ashton-Under-Lyne
Ashton-Under-Lyne Travel Lodge
Ashton-Under-Lyne Travelodge
Travelodge Ashton Under Lyne Ashton-Under-Lyne, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing