We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling food and service”
Review of Heroes of Waterloo

Heroes of Waterloo
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Appalling food and service”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Our 2 nd trip in a month . Bland , dry starters . In consistent portion sizes .Burnt black Yorkshire puds that should never have made it to the plates of at least 10 of the 18 of us . No sauces offered . No drinks offered . Replacement yorks hires just as bad . Nice place , had no faults first time so not sure what has gone wrong . Used to go in all the time years ago and the pub grub style was fab . Not sure now .

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    74
    33
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
COASTA BLANCA,SPAIN
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This must be the best restaurant I have ever eaten in. Very personal but unobtrusive service. Food was the best ever and thanks to all the staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MIDDLETON J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Over priced and not great food”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I went here with a group of friends for a birthday get together I ordered Mediterranean Mezze which consisted of few olivies, a few sun dried tomatoes, a little bit of feta cheese and some bread not much for nearly £5. My main course was sirloin steak which was very tough and and very fatty. A friend ordered gammon steak which was very small and he had to ask for more. When we got the bill, we could not believe how expensive it was for a pub/restaurant in Ashton we did have a few bottles of wine, but it came to over £40 per head. I did complain about my steak and it was knocked off the bill, but it should not have been sent out of the kitchen in the first place. Don't think I will be going back soon. The decor inside is quite old fashioned and I think they are aiming at older customers.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneofAshton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very dated”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

First of all from the outside this place looks really lovely but once inside It seems very dated, from ornaments to soft furnishings and even PLASTIC flowere on the tables!!!!! Really? The service was ok the food over priced and tasteless im affraid.after our meal we went to sit in beer garden but the fish and fat cooking smells blowing our wayfrom the kitchen extractor were horrendous, we moved twice to escape it but had to leave in affraid.i think this placr is more suited to over 65's not young families that make noise!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aprileloise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nothing heroic with the service”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We tried this after a refit and unfortunately it was poor. Slow service, poor quality food with greasy plates. One of the waiters etiquette was something to be desired. We never got asked about our meal, maybe they knew. I had fish n chips and the fish tasted bland and overly greasy and the chips were black (not burnt). My wife had gammon and it was fatty. Very poor indeed. Would not recommend.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkPocock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heroes of Waterloo also viewed

Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
 
Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
 
Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
Oldham, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Heroes of Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing