We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Heroes of Waterloo

Heroes of Waterloo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Visited 5/2 and impressed with beer and menu. However, fobbed off by waiter after waitng more than 30 minutes for 2 sandwiches. Shame, as looks decent for Ashton and not many good eating places around. But, no wonder pubs are closing if customer service is poor

  • Visited February 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    69
    31
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“nice surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

saw your reviews went for sunday lunch the set price meals are amazing value for money and freshly cooked and a very good choice.The staff have a lovely smile on there face and very attentive to your needs.would go again very soon. Better than the bland carvery food you get on a sunday

  • Visited February 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maureenwood07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home cooked and great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

First time here yesterday lunch time. I was unsure what to expect having read through the reviews. I don't know what pub some of these bad reviews have come as my partner and I had a great experience. Yes the pub was very busy...heaving infact, but what a lovely buzz it gave the place. The waiting on staff were clearly run off there feet yet managed to keep all the customers happy chatting to customers when they could and providing a good timely service. We didn't wait too long at all for our starters or main course. I ordered off the early diners menu and the portions are very generous and it is not 'ping' food...it tastes home cooked, chips to die for, possibly a little on the greasy side, only just though. all in all, attentive staff, good atmosphere and value for money... we will be back. Thank you

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vicky a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

You really need to go to this restaurant, the food is all fresh and the chef is excellent, it's also great value for money, aim not a oap yet but if you are it's amazing value for money, it's not worth making it yourself. The staff are also very good and will make you welcome,

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Allison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing place to eat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

After reading all the reviews on here I decided to go and see for myself what the food is like. The food is amazing from this place for my starter I had the black pudding as did my partner it was amazing also the chicken breast stuffed with black pudding was lovely my partner had the beef wellington and he said it was the best he had ever had. The staff are all very pleasant and see to your every need! I would definitely come again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katiemariex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heroes of Waterloo also viewed

Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
 
Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
Oldham, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Heroes of Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing