We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Saturday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sheldon Arms

The Sheldon Arms
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
bolton
Level Contributor
135 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Saturday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Called here Saturday lunch time at 12noon, the pub was full, we got a table and I went to the bar to order 2 carvery 2 cokes £16, went to get the food, very good choice roast and new potatoes, mashed carrots, leeks, cauliflower and broccoli cheese, red cabbage, white cabbage, gravy and stuffing, pork, beef , turkey and gammon and Yorkshire puds. Excellent choice and all well presented. The food was all well cooked and tasted as good as it looked. We will definatlely be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bevgerrard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    112
    54
    32
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Wonderful meeting place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Met with friends as this was halfway for both couples.
Lovely building, wonderful atmosphere. The staff were ever so helpful. Large car park so no worries there.
Basic JW Lees menu, and food. I had the small portion fish and chips, the fish was like cardboard, everyone else had the large fish and chips and all said they enjoyed. So that is the small portion off my list next time. Really a shame as I do not have a huge appetite!
They do a carvery here, so maybe next time I will try that!
We all enjoyed ourselves, so there will be a next time!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Earley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Ate here with friends very nice food ate outside in the sunshine good service nice & clean inside & outside

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank loracyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“breakfasts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Called in last Saturday for breakfast food excellent staff very friendly service superb would recommend this to everybody it was quite full but we didn't wait long at all

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sue b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff..food was lovely,veg hard,but some people like that so i left mine but everything else was really good. would go again

Helpful?
Thank jellybaby852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sheldon Arms also viewed

Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Mossley, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Sheldon Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing