We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Evening”
Review of The Sheldon Arms

The Sheldon Arms
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Evening”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Booked a large table for my daughters birthday on line received a prompt polite confirmation, due to circumstances changed the party size twice down then up last time hours before our reservation. On both occasions I was acknowledged and the alteration confirmed.
Arrived on time immediately shown to our table, no waiting which was good. A drinks order was taken given menus told there was no rush but advised the carvery closed in an hour. Initially ordered some starters to share while people were deciding which came promptly, they were very good arrived hot. The mains were very good a number of steaks ordered which all came as requested from rare to well done--excellent, couple of people had an enjoyable carvery while the chicken new-Yorkers were very tasty. Limited desert menu but we all had no problem finding something to order. The drinks service to the table was very good. The waitress we had was lovely she had a really nice friendly personality. The bill was very reasonable and we had a really enjoyable evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    112
    54
    32
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never again!”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Wasted £45 on a meal that was undercooked, full of pepper. The meat wasn't even cooked it was still walking!! Everything was covered in pepper which ruined the whole meal as it was to spicy. There wasn't a selection on veg (no peas, carrot, mash/potatoes). Very poor and a total disappointment! Will not be come again! KFC would have been a nicer tea!...

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelbey -jade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very Average Carvery”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Found it quite expensive for what you get and the overall quality of the food.
The beef was tough and the veg was luke warm the gravy helped to warm things up a bit
Will not be rushing back

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterMancunian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Disaster apart from waitress”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Food was poor. Overcooked meat and under cooked veg. For some reason the roast potatoes were covered in pepper and were very hot as a result. Very dry vegetables. Our sons order didn't come out as they'd run out 45 AFTER he ordered. Plus they'd run out of spoons. Ran out of spoons. Both waitresses were very helpful though on a very busy day. However I will not be going again. Also overpriced compared to other carverys I've been to.

Helpful?
Thank bill a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
113 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Modern Pub - Lodge - Eaterie combine”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

The Sheldon Arms is a typical modern traditional mode pub favoured by the progressive mid size brewery combines serving both as a pub and as a restaurant for an adjacent lodge.

The pub is operated by J W Lees and we have eaten there twice.

The pub is relatively new and therefore well appointed and spacious. The beers are well kept, and as is typical of the modern brewing trade well stocked with a rotation of seasonal beers. Yes it gets busy - but that's what happens when you provide well for your market and you might have to sit somewhere rather than where you really wanted - but that happens anywhere.

Where the Sheldon Arms scores is its good value carvery.

They have enough trade, or take enough care, to keep the meat and the accompaniments rotating fast enough to be fresh and tasty - not dried out by heat lamps, and tough and tasteless.

Its not the Ritz - its not trying to be the Ritz - but it is a good value quality place to get reliable good British fodder - if that's your thing.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TBirdFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sheldon Arms also viewed

Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Mossley, Greater Manchester
 
Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
Chadderton, Lancashire
 

Been to The Sheldon Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing