We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stick to standard car very” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sheldon Arms

The Sheldon Arms
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Stick to standard car very”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Place is lovely as are the staff but please, if you're doing a carvery can you do normal veg? I or my children don't want Moroccan spice all over.
And stop doing frozen roast spuds. You charge more than most, particularly drinks, so please serve fresh food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank judithchalmers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    109
    53
    31
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Best Carvery I've ever been to !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Excellent carvery.
Food hot, all fresh, lots of choice of meat and veg.
Staff always great !
Have been many times now and can not fault it !

10/10

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Under new management”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

First time been back here since being taken over by new staff. The new manager is really great she has excellent customer service skills. Meal ordered at bar, found us a table had some drinks went for carvery - simple usual pub standard nothing too fancy but food is really nice. Perfect for a id day meal. Nice warm pub, friendly staff, good atmosphere. Definately coming back, good value for money.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank katenorthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Family meal out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Visited here today with our family which was a party of 6 adults and 3 children under 10. The restaurant itself was ok, seemed like a very cheap place, with Sticky old tables with cutlery just shoved in pots at the end of table. Service was slow, and the once we got food it wasn't amazing but okay.

Their famous roast dinner, is not good. 4 small slices of meat and a Yorkshire puds then a load of random vegetables.

I wouldn't go again but I sure if you want to grab a cheap meal this place would be good, but for nice occasions this is not the place.

Helpful?
Thank Abbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
117 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good carvery on a Sunday lunch...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Looking back we should of booked, however there was a table available for an hr at Sunday Lunch, we had the carvery which was a selection of meats and good choice of Veg/ gravy, you could also order from the menu, ...table Service was available, was clean, good atmosphere, staff attentive and good value for money... Caters for all, we shall return ...

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joannamje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sheldon Arms also viewed

Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
Chadderton, Lancashire
 
Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Sheldon Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing