We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Christmas at the Priory”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newnham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Priory Cottages
UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Christmas at the Priory”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

As all others, we were greeted with a lovely plater of homemade or locally produced yummy goods. The cottage (we had the 2 bed) was spotlessly clean. We worried about the cottage being cold but the temperature was just right. Ian is a friendly and very helpful host and he made us feel very welcome indeed. We would love to go back for a summer break and see the forest in all its glory. Thanks for a wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We were a last minute booking in Hootel, but received a warm welcome, with a lovely surprise welcome pack of tasty local produce, on arrival. The cottages setting is sublime, facing a small orchard with grazing sheep, and backing on to the banks of the river Severn. Here we watched the Severn Bore, had some amazing walks, and on our return lit the wood burner to warm our toes. The evenings were spent reading the local information books and planning the next walks, bliss!
Ideal for true country lovers, the cottage decor and comfort is superb, every requirement met, even wifi! Didn't want to leave, will be back soon, thank you.

Room Tip: If you want to unwind further, there is a therapist living next door!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Lovely cottage with excellent facilities. Very clean and comfortable. Welcome pack appreciated. Beautiful views of the River Severn especially in the morning and evening. So quiet and peaceful. Perfect place to retreat and relax. Forest of Dean close by with fantastic walks and scenery. Perfect for dog owners and walkers. Plenty of good local pubs.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jollypop14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penryn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2011

My cousin and I travelled from West and East of the Country to meet at "Hamstalls" Cottage with our dogs and were delighted with what we found. The first thing as you arrive is the stunnng views but then to find a clean and well equipped cottage too was great. The welcome food pack is a lovely touch as are the flowers. Loved going out first thing in the morning and wandering up the lane with the dogs to turn around and take in the wonders of the river and countryside with the only sound either sheep baaing or cows munching. Plenty of places to visit and if you like walking , then spoilt for choice. Our only grumbles are that ,in general, the stiles in the area are poorly maintained and not easy to negotiate, especially with a combination of sheep, beef cattle and dogs, also the signs could be better. However this would not deter us from returning as still places to see and places to revisit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed here with our 15 month old daughter. The cottage and surronding area was very safe for a toddler. The owners also provided a cot and high chair for us. The cottages are surrounded by gorgeous scenery and we loved sitting at the bottom of the owners garden which over the looked the river Seven. The beds were comfy and we loved the wet room. Homemade bread, fresh eggs and wine were waiting for us on arriaval! The cottage was nice but not very cosy, although perfect if you own dogs. All in all it was a fantastic stay and the owners couldn't have been more accomodating.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BecciSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Great welcome by owners including fresh bread, eggs and wine.
Cottage has everything that you need including fantastic views of the River Seven.
Large comfortable bed, plenty of hot water, sunny patio ideal for afternoon and early evening.
Good spot it you like kayaking and walking as plenty around to explore. Close to Symons Yat and Rock, Forest of Dean.
Dog friendly.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollytheCollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2011

The cottage was very inviting and incredibly comfortable. It catered for all needs during our stay, the facilities were Fantastic, very well equipped, especially as I was travelling with a 14 month old child. The cleanliness was impeccable, and the owners were so helpful. A wonderful gesture on arrival of a food parcel of their own produce of eggs, bread and jam, accompanied by butter and a lovely bottle of wine, so very well thought of, which we found very useful. A wonderful place to stay and also very dog friendly. I shall most certainly be returning in the near future again with my family.
Well done and thank you to Ian and family for enabling their guests to have such a great stay at Hoolet cottage.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paris04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Priory Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Cottages

Property: The Priory Cottages
Address: Awre, Newnham GL14 1EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Newnham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Newnham
Hotel Class:4 star — The Priory Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet and peaceful location by the River Severn, on the edge of the Forest of Dean, the cottages, Hamstalls and Hoolet have been converted to a very high standard using all the latest ecologically friendly devices including geo-thermal heating throughout. One cottage is wheelchair-friendly, and each cottage has its own garden area with barbecue, tables and chairs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing