We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST HOTEL EVER”
Review of Endeavour Hotel

Endeavour Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Endeavour Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Canvey Island
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Hard to find hotel in the first place, In a back street between houses. The 'hotel' was dirty and smelly. Was taken to my room. Had one look at it and that was enough for me. It was a small dingy room with a small single bed. I would never ever recommend this so called hotel.

Room Tip: Stay away !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jan0livier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
There are newer reviews for Endeavour Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 52 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

Having just stayed at this excellent hotel, I can thoroughly reccomend it to anyone looking for a good, reasonably priced hotel. The couple who run it are very nice, they are friendly and very helpful. Have good loacl knowledge to reccomend good places to aet in the evening.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Decor very dated and worn but the room and ensuite was clean and the bed comfortable. I was awoken at 1am by another guest coming in. Owners friendly and welcoming, and breakfast was good (I would have preferred brown toast!). Considering the price and standard of cleanliness, the accommodation was acceptable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoolihound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Basic, honest, good value B&B with excellent breakfast. Decor a little dated and tired, but a warm friendly welcome from the owners. Beware of the very narrow driveway to the rear car park, so narrow that I had to fold the mirrors in on a Volvo, otherwise you will become a Chips Away customer!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul11553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This was my first trip to canvey and the last, after a very long journey from the south west, we arrived at this b&b. it smelt terrible! it was dark and dingy, the walls were yellow. there were cameras everywhere. i think this would be an invasion of privacy!!!!.The whole place needs extensive refurbishment. I was afraid to get into bed, as there were black specks of something on the sheets! book at your own risk.....

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LindaT523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We booked this "hotel/b&b" based on prevous reviews & ratings - what a shock we all had!! The entire place needs a real good clean and a revamp with horrible grease stained artexing everywhere - and the grease smell even penetrated the towels. Hours after we left i could still smell the place on my clothes and in my hair and on my skin. We laid in bed listening to airoplanes which sounded like they were just a few feet away - the quilts were like dog-blankets thin horrid fibre things, the pillows were disgusting - just peeling back the pillowcase made me urge - the mattresses are so thin you could feel the boards they are laid on. Absolutely one of my worst experiences EVER!!! I could go on and on but my main point is that as a frequent traveller who uses trip advisor's recommendations to make decisions on where to stay felt impelled to put the real facts about this disgusting place on line for all to see

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My elderly mum, two sisters and I stayed one night last week in this hell hole. It stinks of cigarettes and grease and the vile artex covering every wall and ceiling is dripping with grease and is yellow. The room doors have no handles or trims and there are cameras all over the place. Wipe your feet on the way out if you ever dare to stay in this dump. The towels smelled so bad my sisters were scared to shower and there were green nose pickings on the bedroom walls..the mattresses are 2 inches thick with one rock hard pillow and stained sheets.Please DONT believe any reviews that say this is good as we booked because of the good reviews and had the shock of our lives.

Room Tip: Avoid like the plague.....unless you want to keep your pigeons here??
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canvey Island
0.5 mi away
The Oysterfleet Hotel
The Oysterfleet Hotel
#1 of 2 in Canvey Island
190 reviews
5.7 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#14 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
310 reviews
5.1 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rochford
132 reviews
5.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,221 reviews
6.5 mi away
Travelodge Basildon
Travelodge Basildon
#6 of 7 in Basildon
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Endeavour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Endeavour Hotel

Address: 196 Thisselt Road, SS8 9BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Canvey Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Canvey Island
Price Range: $47 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Endeavour Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Endeavour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Endeavour Hotel Canvey Island, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing