We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Oysterfleet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Canvey Island
Reviewed March 8, 2010

made to feel welcome the moment we arrived,very friendly staff nothing too mutch trouble
rooms clean and large /great food /good beer good location very comfortable
stayed there for the dr feelgood weekend on 5th 6th march 2010

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
There are newer reviews for The Oysterfleet Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 190 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2010

A generous sized room with a comfortable bed. Hotel is located right at the end of an estuary, so sea birds provided the morning alarm clock, but very pleasant.
The surprise came when I turned onthe shower - one of the five best hotel showers I have ever experienced !

Staff were very friendly, meals good value for money in the restaurant, and the bar area doubles as a local pub. All in all, a good stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raetzelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2010

On my birthday, i stayed at the Oysterfleet Hotel. I was welcomed by reception with open arms. She was a lovely lady and very helpfull and polite. The food was not to expensive but very nice. My room was clean and very cosy and comfortable. I would definaltely recommend his hotel ! I also had free wi-fi available for my laptop.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neverknowme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

Used the oysterfleet when working on Canvey, it might not be up there with the best but it's entirely adequate and any short-comings are more than made up for by the friendly helpful staff. Excellent bar with a choice of menu/price for food. Any special requests for room changes due to working nights or need for more linen/toiletries were dealt with quickly and efficiently. Right price for the facilities and location.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank briddiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2009

SUMMARY ....... having book the 'suite' (in reality just a larger room), well in advance .. I arrived on a very cold December day ....

WORST MOMENTS ....
(1) ...... arriving to a freezing cold room because housekeeping had not switched on the electric panel radiators ... also finding previous occupants hairs and other personal 'bits'
(2) ....... being served inedible poached eggs for breakfast.
(3) ....... being constantly told by various non-concerned staff that ''no-one had ever complained before''

BEST MOMENT .... checking out

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sxjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

Having read the reviews on here we booked a night in this hotel for a quiet night away after Easter. The bar was good, didn't try the food - didn't have to, we could smell it in the room! We had a suite two floors above the kitchen. All we could smell was the odour of cooking, not always present as the pervading odour was that of frying. The soap in the bathroom had not been replaced, so we didn't use the soap which previously could have washed any unsavoury part of a previous occupant! Toilet rolls stacked on the cistern, no toilet roll holders in this hotel? As the suite was worryingly disappointing, we moved the bed to see what might lurk underneath.... Christmas confetti (in April!), wedding confetti, and a mobile phone case. Under the cushions on the sofa was a cigarette and a dead spider. We really would NOT recommend this hotel to a friend, nor even to our worst enemy!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lobsterman1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2008

Large, clean quiet room & comfortable bed with lovely soft duvet. Good shower and towels.
Heating is via a large radiator, which warmed the room nicely on a chilly November evening.
There is no room service, but you can order reasonably priced meals in the bar downstairs and take them back to your room.
Breakfast is not included in the room price, but there are tea/coffee making facilities in the room, and fresh milk (not longlife) in little sachets.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank kaz_in_essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canvey Island
0.5 mi away
Endeavour Hotel
Endeavour Hotel
#2 of 2 in Canvey Island
52 reviews
4.7 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
629 reviews
5.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#14 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
310 reviews
6.7 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,602 reviews
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oysterfleet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oysterfleet Hotel

Address: 21 Knightswick Road, SS8 9PA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Canvey Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Canvey Island
Price Range: $65 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Oysterfleet Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oysterfleet hotel is a family run hotel situated in the town centre of Canvey Island. The hotel has 40 rooms that are all en-suite with tea and coffee making facilities, TV's and hairdryers. A wide range of accommodation is available including single rooms, double rooms, twin rooms, family rooms, interconnecting rooms and our suite. Complimentary parking is available on site. Access to the internet is BT Open Zone and charges will be applied. We have both a pub that serves bar meals every day and an a'la carte restaurant on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms and getaroom.com so you can book your The Oysterfleet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oysterfleet Hotel Canvey Island, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing