We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was Alright”
Review of Lobster Smack

Lobster Smack
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
essex
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“It was Alright”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We have been to the lobster smack many times but this was our first since the refit.

It now feels more of a gastro pub.

The food was nice, the service good and the prices were reasonable.

The menu was very limited.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fennybobsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    83
    34
    28
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a change for the good.”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Booked a lunchtime table for 4 on the 17th March 2014 at the newly refurbished Loster Smack.
Our friends had come from Brentwood, (regular visitors to this venue) to enjoy the traditional fare and like us, were extremely disappointed first with the menu, and then the food.
While the modern take looks good, it lacks the informal ambiance of an 'olde' smugglers pub.
The seating is too cramped, tables too small to accommodate the dinner plates, glasses, cutlery, etc. The menu stand was eventually deposited on the floor, to make some room.
We all struggled to select from the menu, (where had all the courses we liked and enjoyed gone).
The 'All Day Breakfast' was a favorite, as was the Mixed Grill choice, and numerous Chicken Dishes, all gone.
After approximately 20 minutes, we decided on our choice of meal. (None that we would have had in the past). The Gammon and Egg dish that I chose was disappointing. Very little meat on the gammon, an egg, a small ramekin of french fries, a mushroom and a small salad garnish. Hardly filling and at least £2.00 more than before the refurb.
Please, less of the fancy, more of the traditional. We will not return until favorable 'reviews' force a visit.
On a plus note, the waiting staff were very good and helpful.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely lively friendly”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I am a regular visitor to the Lobster Smack whether its just for a few drinks or for lunch or dinner. The service there is brilliant even when it gets busy the staff are always friendly and happy to help. There's a really good community feel to the place, there's never any trouble, the locals are very friendly, its a good atmosphere for friend or family visits.
The food is very nice with a good selection on the menu.
theres a nice warm feel to the inside, and a lovely seating area outside along the sea wall. Its a good place to go for all occasions. Perfect place for beer garden weather! I always leave there with a smile. Definitely one of my favourite places.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice revamp - Great Real Ales - Sunday Roast awful”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We decided as a family (4 adults and 2 children) that we would visit the newly refurbished Lobster Smack for Sunday Lunch.

The refurbishment itself was a welcome addition to the pub and done well. They now have a very good selection of real ales which receives a 10/10 from me.

We had booked a table and we sat down. Everyone wanted a roast dinner, but when we came to order there was no turkey left at 3pm in the afternoon! The children didn't want beef or pork so had to have a chicken nugget kids meal, they weren't happy!

After ordering, we then proceeded to wait for over an hour before we had to complain. The dinners finally arrived a further ten minutes later. What was served up didn't even fill the plate (there were actual gaps on the plate!) I had the pork which was two small slices. The meal itself was bland and tasteless and the spoonful of veg undercooked (I don't mind certain veg undercooked, but cabbage, yuk!). None of our adults enjoyed the meal and to be honest we were still hungry! We decided to order dessert, mainly because the kids had ice cream as part of the kids meal, to be fair the desserts were good.

In summary, if you want a pub with nice decor and a decent real ale the Lobster Smack is fine. As for the food, unless they get their act together, don't bother!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Decor nice food awlful”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Went yesterday Sunday 2nd March with group of 8 for lunch. 2 of us ordered the Aubergine bake, this was the size of two tablespoons full and tasted so horrid and tough we sent it back. The waitress said that others had complained about this dish, so why was it still being served, she also added this was a pre-packed dish, so what happened to the new fresh cooked menu? The roasts came up with burnt yorkshires, dry parsnips and warmed up over done roast potatoes, also hardly any gravy. Another waitress came out with a spare apple crumble asking if anyone wants it for free as it would go in the bin otherwise. We all declined. Lastly to add insult to injury one of the returned Aubergine dishes was on the bill and also the so called crumble that no body had! No apologise were made, Two of us left there having no meal as it all left a bad taste, in more ways than one. Would never return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lobster Smack also viewed

Canvey Island, Essex
 

Been to Lobster Smack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing