We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice restaurant in a lovely spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cawsand Bay Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cawsand
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cawsand Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cawsand
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant in a lovely spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

During a weeks holiday in a nearby location we ate in the restaurant of The Cawsand Bay Hotel twice and it was certainly the best of a very poor selection in that area.
It's a light and airy room with great views of the bay and the food is very good with some nice touches. The service is efficient and in the main friendly and the prices are not too horrendous. I would use again if in that location.

Room Tip: Book if you want a window table with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RFaserH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    23
    10
    14
    13
See reviews for
23
31
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

What can I say this is a lovely little hotel in probably the best location on earth! It's not the first time I've stayed and nor will it be the last, friendly, clean, good menu, good beer, many nice pubs within 5 minutes walk, and stunning views!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Attending a wedding at the Fort In March, searched for hotels In the area on trip adviser and this hotel certainly met the standards I was looking for... Great customer service, excellent food and good value for money, and a added bonus was, the great weather! Some lovely walks and stunning views along the coast ..I would highly recommend a stay at this Hotel..Thanks to the staff for making us very welcome.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dawn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

Travelled down from Leicester - My wife and I stopped at the Hotel for 2 nights - Fri and Sat.
Fantastic location right on the Beach! Views were an extra bonus - overlooking Plymouth Sound.
Always, something happening on the water - (Bring those Binoculars).
Hotel made us very welcome! Good Food - Excellent Service!
Rooms very clean - again with a Sea View - (Another Bonus)
Definately recommend to stay here - Would make a great family location (although we would go again but out of season - like this time)
Thanks to ALL the Staff - and look forward to seeing you again very soon!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poko74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
365 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 571 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

We had a lenghty and most enjoyable lunch here : the staff were friendly, the public areas looked clean and bright and you had marvellous views over the Portsmouth Harbour entrance. Sleepy small village with VERY narrow streets.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jj-the-jetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

Just spent one night at this hotel but would have loved to have stayed longer. The hotel may not look exactly glamorous from outside but is really nicely furnished and decorated inside. The service was great and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
The location is perfect with all rooms having a sea view and there is really nothing quite like laying in bed at night listening to the waves lapping on the beach!
Can't wait to return. Hopefully for longer next time!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ninjagirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

We recently stayed here and firstly the website for the hotel doesn't do it justice! The rooms are lovely and ideal for families as the rooms are on split levels with the children's room downstairs and the adult's room upstairs. The view from the adult's room is spectacular and to lie in bed and listen to the waves incredibly relaxing.

There are two slight downsides to this hotel. Unfortunately the shower in our room was shocking as it was either scalding hot or stone cold. The only other issue was the quality of the ingredients for breakfast - they weren't the best. It's such a shame that these two things let the hotel down as the service was fantastic and the view... did I mention the view?!!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wishywish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cawsand
1.0 mi away
Friary Manor Hotel
Friary Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
5.2 mi away
Whitsand Bay Hotel
Whitsand Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portwrinkle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rame Barton
Rame Barton
#1 of 1 in Rame
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wringford Down
Wringford Down
#7 of 7 in Cawsand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cawsand Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cawsand Bay Hotel

Property: The Cawsand Bay Hotel
Address: The Bound, Cawsand PL10 1PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Cawsand
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cawsand
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Cawsand Bay Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing