We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Top London Restaurant in St. Ives!”
Review of Chai Kai Tea House - CLOSED

Chai Kai Tea House
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Top London Restaurant in St. Ives!”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

An excellent restaurant, very modern and clean, but still has lots of character! They had an extensive tea selection, lots of exotic choices and some funky takes on classic teas. The food was delicious and came in good portions, with an option for every dish of choosing a tapas version of the dish or a main version of the dish. During our dinner the restaurant owner came by and checked up on us and asked us how everything was, very good customer service!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    26
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great alternative to the mundane coffee house”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Awesome teas. Great staff. Excellent atmosphere. A truly refreshing experience! Whether you want to just hang out with friends or have a taste of the beautifully prepared food. Definately a place to visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheBeardedGizmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A wonderful eating experience”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We travel extensively and eat out a lot, never have I tasted more fabulous Indian food, even in the most highly acclaimed of Indian establishments. The menu is perfect, the wonderful selection of blended teas fantastic. We have visited both for lunch (great for a snack, tea, coffees excellent too and a mouth watering selection of cakes) and last night for dinner, which was just a banquet of delights, every mouthful bursting with flavour. It's refreshing to find a restaurant not serving alcohol, and when the owner explained to us that his decision not to have a liquor licence was purposeful as the intense flavours found in Indian food are overtaken by the strong flavours of alcohol, it made perfect sense. Instead we savoured the gorgeous aroma and flavours of the in house blended teas from lemon grass and ginger to the so delicate vanilla chai. I tried the chocolate and pistachio samosas, just a taste explosion! The interior creates a modern yet inviting and authentic environment. All in all how lucky are we to have somewhere to eat in st ives that is unique, and certainly heads above anything that you may come across in London! Our only fear is that when more people discover how great it is, it will certainly become difficult to get a table!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pennyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“London comes to St Ives.”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Popped in after work for a bite to eat & was amazed at the selection of teas on offer. I had chicken wings, lamb butternut squash and ginger & honey naan bread, which was sublime. I would highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MatthewDay1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing friendly people”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

What a refreshing find...This place is decked out brilliantly in a retro style and the choice of teas is amazing. However the genuine passion of the staff stood out even more...Just awesome..go there!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raoul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chai Kai Tea House also viewed

St Ives, Cambridgeshire
St Ives, Cambridgeshire
 
St Ives, Cambridgeshire
 
St Ives, Cambridgeshire
St Ives, Cambridgeshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing