We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Pleased to see the place has improved” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Pleased to see the place has improved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I've been eating at Slepe Hall for nearly 20 years now and under the last management it went seriously downhill. This was my first visit since the change in ownership and my first impression was positive: the sun was shining and the dreadful American bar has gone. Admittedly my demands today were not heavy but my crayfish, smoked salmon and avocado salad was excellent even if I did have to ask specially for oil and vinegar for the dressing.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPW232, General Manager at Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback following your light meal with us. I am pleased that you approve of the changes that we have made and that you enjoyed your meal. I hope that you will come back again soon and put our chefs to the test!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    52
    22
    11
    9
See reviews for
63
53
3
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I just wanted to say a huge thank you to Stuart and all the Staff at Slepe Hall for making my 50th Celebration an absolutely fantastic evening on Friday 20th June 2014. The venue was perfect, the food delicious, and all the staff were extremely helpful, friendly and accommodating. The evening ran so smoothly that I did not have to worry about a thing, and I have had great feedback and comments from my guests saying "what a wonderful" time they had.

From the first contact I had with Stuart, his professionalism and attention to detail was evident, and I have been impressed with the consistent high level of service received. Particular thanks must go to him, of course, and all the others who were involved on the evening.
So thank you for helping to make this evening such a great success, and hope I get the opportunity to attend another fabulous evening at Slepe Hall.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BimbleCambridgeshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPW232, General Manager at Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thanks for your very nice review following your 50th Birthday celebrations last weekend, I am delighted that you and all of your guests had a good time, I did indeed speak to lots as they were leaving and they confirmed that they had enjoyed the evening.

We look forward to seeing you many more times at the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We got married 31st May 2014 at Slepe Hall. Everything went very smoothly thanks to the staff who were very organised and met every detail requested. The Brunel suite was set up perfectly and whatever we needed they were able to provide us with. The BBQ we had was great. Food was lovely came out freshly cooked. The rooms were very clean and the Jacuzzi bath was perfect to end a great day! Thank you so much to all of the team at Slepe Hall you made our day very special. Stuart and Natalie did a great job for our special day and we would recommend the venue to anyone who is looking for an intimate wedding day. From Mr and Mrs Parnham :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPW232, General Manager at Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thanks for your lovely review following your special wedding day, I am really pleased that you enjoyed the day so much. We are striving to achieve very high standards for our functions and weddings alongside everything we do in the hotel and I am pleased that we didn't fail on your day. We look forward to seeing you in the restaurant soon and hopefully we will get to see some of your pictures.

Many Congratulations to you both
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Myself and 6 other ladies got together for a Saturday night. We headed straight to the hotel and began our evening with cocktails on the patio. We looked through the menu, while outside, and it was very difficult to decide what to have as the menu was great, with lots of superb choices.
The meal was lovely, the service was excellent and the building itself has been beautifully furnished - a great place to spend the evening!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPW232, General Manager at Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
I am very pleased that you and your ladies enjoyed your evening with us on Saturday. We do change our menu regularly and will be due a change in a couple of weeks so would be lovely to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Our table was booked for 8pm and we arrived at the Hotel at 6.30 and had some lovely cocktails outside. The service throughout the evening was attentive without being intrusive. All the food was both stunning to look at and tasted wonderful. We didin't leave the hotel until 11.30 and at no point did we feel pressured into leaving our table. Overall we had an excellent evening, in a very comfortable and realxing setting.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPW232, General Manager at Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for your review following your meal with us at the weekend, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your evening, it was certainly a lovely evening to be drinking cocktails on the terrace.

We are working very hard to ensure total customer satisfaction and it appears we ticked these boxes for you at the weekend.

We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We have dined at Slepe Hall on a number of occasions in the past since it first re-opened under new management. The service initially was not particularly good but the food was of good standard from the outset. The service has improved quite considerably but we have witnessed over the past months a deterioration in the standard of cuisine and we can only describe our meal for 4 of us last evening as very poor indeed and certainly not value for money. The two ladies had the Cod main course> The cod was very small and came with 3 asparagus tips.potato rosti which was non existent and the piece de risistance was the pouring sauce ( ? ) which I can only describe as looking and tasting like sheep dip. There was also a very small slither of heritage tomato - whatever that was. The ladies did not have starters as they thought, wrongly, that the main course and a desert would be sufficient. Having looked at the desert menu which was not very inspiring - particularly for one who was gluten free, they decided that they would not bother. The other gentleman had soup followed by rib eye Steak and chips both of which appeared to be satisfactory. I had the pork tempura starter which appeared to have been over cooked and lacked an appetizing sauce to help the dryness along. My main course was whole plaice which was small and well cooked and accompanied by three halves of new potatoes. The other gentleman and myself decided against a desert for the same reasons as the ladies. We mentioned to the waitress our feelings about the meal generally and she conveyed our comments to the kitchen who did not appear to be at all concerned. It is a pity that such a nice venue on which no expense appears to have been spared on the refurbishment is being allowed to deteriorate in the standard of its cuisine. It was very noticeable that there were very few diners for a Saturday evening. Perhaps that should be telling you something.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPW232, General Manager at Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent meal at the hotel, and for also taking the time to speak with me personally on the telephone about the experience.

I have spoken with the hotel owner and head chef at length following your comments and I would like to assure you that what you experienced was certainly not what we are aiming for.

We have conducted a review of the fish dishes served and are making some changes to the menu to reflect this. We are also going to remove the Tomato Consommé, or sheep dip as you refer to it, from the cod dish and add a different sauce.

You did say when we spoke that you would come back and we look forward to welcoming you back soon and proving to you that Slepe Hall Hotel is a great local eatery and that this was a blip after feeding 165 diners on that Saturday.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Just enjoyed a midweek meal with friends. Very pleasant setting, good meal attentive service. Observant and much appreciated proactive attention from bar staff when I found myself in need of assistance.
I will be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emtee54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPW232, General Manager at Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback following your evening meal with us. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us and that they service was very attentive, particularly from Neil in the bar when you needed some help

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.4 mi away
Golden Lion
Golden Lion
#2 of 4 in St Ives
3.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oliver's Lodge Hotel
Oliver's Lodge Hotel
#4 of 4 in St Ives
3.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Old Bridge
The Old Bridge
#2 of 9 in Huntingdon
4.5 of 5 stars 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
#3 of 9 in Huntingdon
4.0 of 5 stars 548 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 34 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 stars 1,920 reviews
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Ramsey Road, St Ives PE27 5RB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New ownership from December 2012 has seen this beautiful building tastefully restored to its former grandeur with extensive refurbishment to the Restaurant, Bar and Reception areas. Boasting 16 individually designed en-suite bedrooms with Jacuzzi baths and usual amenities such as tea and coffee facilities, free wi-fi and TV and telephone. The all new "Ramsey's Brasserie" the hotel boasts, offers the business or pleasure traveler an extensive range of quality food and drink with friendly professional service and accommodation. For business meetings and functions there are two conference and event suites available and the premises are licensed for civil wedding / partnership ceremonies and wedding receptions catering for small or large numbers with individually tailored packages, along with a great venue for events and parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slepe Hall Hotel And Restaurant
Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant St Ives, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing