We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location next to River Ouse”
Review of The Dolphin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Dolphin
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in St Ives
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed one night in an executive room. Only an extra £10-00 more than a standard room.
Room was very large and clean. The bed was firm but that is my preference.
Breakfast buffet was good and the dining room overlooks the river and meadows.
The town is directly over the foot bridge where there is a selection of bars and restaurants to choose from.
Staff were very helpful and allowed us a late check out at no extra cost
There is ample parking. One thing to note that the car park has flooded in the past when the river has been exceptionally high.

Room Tip: The extra £10 was worth it for a large executive room.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adrian_goodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
There are newer reviews for The Dolphin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 388 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

Five couples meet every year for a re union meal, each couple taking their turn to organise the venue. This year we met at the Dolphin Hotel restaurant for the carvery Sunday lunch. The meat quality was good and the veg selection as you expect for a carvery. The price of £18/head covered three courses and coffee – very reasonable. Service was efficient and the staff polite making for an enjoyable experience. Although obviously popular, judging by the full restaurant, it was not noisy allowing conversation to flow across the circular table that easily accommodated us ten.
This review is for the restaurant only we have no experience of the hotel.

Room Tip: Not Applicable
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank JohnJoyce32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed in roon 79 for 2 nights bed and breakfast, Bank Holiday weekend.
Room was lovely, very spacious with bath and shower. Only let down was the bed was very hard.
The room had gorgeous views of the meadow and river. Breakfast was brilliant eat as much as you want. Staff were helpful and pleasent.
The Dolphin Hotel is a lovely hide away in a beauiful market town.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackieedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

If what you like is a false and sterile setting then the dolphin is not the place,there are many places up and down the land that could do with the Mary Portas treatment,but why oh why does everything need to be ultra modern sheek.
The staff are all very pleasant,coffee and teas excellent,and location,the best in St Ives,and it certainly is not overpriced,when you can spent £7.00 for a very sub standard breakfast in the high street cafe sourced from budgen's, or get locally sourced bacon and eggs and real sausages at the Dolphin for £8.50,i know which one i'm having.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fitzroy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We were on a boat last bank holiday and stopped at St Ives to have lunch at The Dolphin.
Although the setting is idyllic, especially on a lovely warm sunny day as it was, the rest soon went very downhill.
There were four of us with our Border Terrier so we sat outside. Two of us went in to order and pay for lunch, only to be told when we finally got to the bar that as we wanted the carvery we didn't have to queue at the bar but to go through to the restaurant and to queue again ( but hey we are British!! ) pay for our lunch and to and choose and take it ourselves to our table outside. This of course we had to repeat again.
Considering that not only was it a Bank Holiday but a warm and sunny day we would have expected it to be more organised than it was.
The food, although reasonably priced was of poor quality. We have paid half again for carvery's and have had excellent food with tender beef and vegetables that haven't seemed as though they had been lying around.
Sorry Dolphin but whoever's in charge really needs to up their game if your going to carry on in business with passing trade.

Room Tip: We didn't stay at the hotel but only stopped off for lunch while we were on the river so cannot...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank PaulAbraham-Lloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Sadly this is the first time I have reviewed the Dolphin having stayed here 3 or 4 times before on the basis that I liked it. however tonight I had to suffer a cold shower at 2130 that pi**ed me of slightly, Frankly I can't be bothered complaining to the management about this sort of thing because it really is too late by then. It's well located by the river for St Ives and the breakfast is good for me with regards to a full english. |t has a great location by the river but can't understand why the bar is closed at 2130? I ended up in one of several other pubs/bars in st Ives that had many life forms present compared to the Dolphin bar. For all that I suspect that I will use the Dolphin again but take my shower earlier and will probably eat & socialise elsewhere. Dolphin, you are obviously doing some things right but I think you are missing out on a whole load of business opportunities. You should be the 'goto' hotel in St Ives but I would be quite happy to try somewhere else (if i can be bothered) in future, c'mon Dolphin, I want you to be as good as you could be :-)|

Room Tip: From my experience they are all very similar standard. I'm not too keen on the rooms on the grou...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is my second review of this hotel. Staying here for work and perfect location.

Good Points
Location
Village lots of bars and places to eat
Good size room and clean.

Bad points
Wifi - its a faff to connect with having to register. I could connect and browse in bar ok in my room (10) i could connect to network but not the internet.
Location of Room 10, on ground floor next to road into village so unable to leave window open when not in room.
Room is looking tired with edging missing off desk and counter.
The TV size is pathetic and some channels are missing.

OK points
The shower is ok although the instructions are funny. Took a few minutes to warm up, the same as home.
The staff are neither super helpful and friendly or miserable.
Breakfast is OK, cook your own toast and buffet. There was cold cheese and meat out but no croissants to put them on.

Room Tip: Rooms 8 & 10 are on ground floor next to road and are best avoided tbh.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Space_Cowby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.1 mi away
Golden Lion
Golden Lion
#1 of 4 in St Ives
230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oliver's Lodge Hotel
Oliver's Lodge Hotel
#4 of 4 in St Ives
136 reviews
5.8 mi away
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
#4 of 9 in Huntingdon
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Huntingdon Fenstanton
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse
4.3 mi away
The Old Bridge
The Old Bridge
#1 of 9 in Huntingdon
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin

Address: Bridge Foot & London Road, St Ives PE27 5EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in St Ives
Price Range: $108 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dolphin 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dolphin Hotel St. Ives
Dolphin St Ives
Dolphin Hotel St Ives
The Dolphin St Ives, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing