We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very neat hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Bristol
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Territet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2011

I have stayed in this hotel in 2006, however, I believe it has not changed since then, as most of the things in Switzerland. This hotel is targeted at an elderly audience and it will fit anyone who likes to have peaceful and quite stay.
The food in the Hotel is excellent, I would recommend tar-tar to the gourmets.
It is relatively close to the city center, about 25 minute walk by the lake, beautiful.

Room Tip: Avery location would be quiet, but I would recommend to chose a room with the lake view, absolutely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yuriy_Aniskevich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 93 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2011

Situated 10 minutes away from the center of Montreux, this is an unusual hotel because it caters to senior or invalid persons who need special care or medical attention.We were immediately upgraded to a large and confortable suite instead of the regular room we had booked at a reasonnable price for Switzerland (220 Francs). We visited because I have an old and percious friend who is blind and living there for almost 3 years. They have about 20 rooms for regular guests and two different dining-rooms. The food is very good and reasonnably priced. The view on the lake is extraordinary and the personnel very kind. Unusual wide doors leading to the bathroom and a large terrace. There is a rather small swimming-pool (10 metres long), but enough for my morning confort.

Room Tip: Request a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gab1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

This does not feel like a hotel. More like a converted hospital. The first thing to greet us as we stepped out of the elevator was a bed frames in the hallway! We booked a Mountain View room but all we could see were buildings and a very busy main road. The only way I can describe the room itself was that it was so basic it resembled a university dormitory. They did provide an air conditioning unit however to use it you need to leave the patio door open which is not ideal if you want to get any sleep due to the noise from the street below. The photographs on the website did not resemble in any way, shape or form the room that we were given. The hotel rooms are on the first 2 floors with residential apartments on the remaining floors. I have a suspicion that the photographs used to advertise the hotel are pictures of the apartments not the actual guest rooms. The hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful and offered us the opportunity to look at another room however this was almost identical to the first. We inquired about a room with a lake view but were advised that a train runs past that side of the building including during the night. We therefore decided not to stay at the hotel and cancelled our booking. I would say this hotel should only be advertised as a 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank wooforbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

As a Romanian hotel owner i was very well surprised by great services,very tasty breakfast,very clean rooms,very good advices at reception,safe parking....so EVERYTHING CAN HAPPEND IN SWISS BUT NOTHING BAD........
Dan Sandru
Romania

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank cosy012003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2008

This was easily my best hotel experience of recent years. My boyfriend and I were going to Switzerland for a family Christmas event - so, to be honest, the main reason I chose the Hotel Bristol was that it was open over the festive season (plenty of other places weren't). Having stayed there, though, I would be happy to book again.

Sure, the building doesn't look anything special, but, it's right by Lake Geneva, and there are lovely mountain views from every room. Like someone else who left a TripAdvisor review, we were given a huge suite during this quiet period - even though we were paying a very reasonable room rate booked through the Minotel website.

The spa is pretty nice, too, with a pool, jacuzzi, saunas etc - all as fresh and clean as you'd expect in Switzerland. There's a lot of competition for that kind of thing from big thermal baths a short drive away (e.g. Lavey-Les-Bains), so they did well to make an appealing mini-version in their hotel.

However, the main reason for giving the Hotel Bristol a great review was that the staff were so nice. Nothing was too much trouble. Bit late for breakfast? 'No problem, we've still got some food left round the back.' Want to bring some guests into the spa for free? 'Sure - have some complimentary towels.'

It's true, I promise. Even though they were working over Christmas, all the people who worked there were unfailingly smiling and polite. Nice job, Hotel Bristol!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank EndangeredMarmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2007

The Bristol is excellent value for money. The room had a large lounge area as well as a bedroom. The balcony was enormous with a fabulous view looking over Lake Geneva and the Alps.

The hotel give you a Riviera Card which gives free travel on all local buses. It takes 6 mins from right outside the hotel to the centre of Montreux and 30 mins to Vevey. The card also gives you discounts at museums and at the fairytale Chateau de Chillon about 1 km away.

As well as being a conventional hotel it looks like rooms are let on a long term basis to mainly elderly people. There also seem to be medical treatments available in the spa complex.

Breakfast is continental with croissants, bread, cheese, jam etc not quite as much choice as an average 4 star hotel but the restaurant staff (and reception staff) are polite, helpful and friendly. In short a hotel well worth staying at!

Stayed: May 2007
4  Thank gazcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2006

Hotel is located about 500m from the commuter train station (NOT the main Montreux station) in a mainly residential neighbourhood. It is a small hike if you have big suitcases.

Peak season for Montreux is summer....the hotel is located right on Lac Leman (Lake Geneva) and all rooms have big balconies. Our room was on the "city" side, but had a nice view nonetheless.

Because the hotel wasn't busy, we were "upgraded" to a suite which was HUGE. The suite had a bedroom with two beds and a very large pull-out couch. There was also a small (complete) kitchen and a dining table. The bathroom was huge.

Although the decor was a bit dated, the room was immaculately clean.

There is a bus stop right outside the hotel that will take you into downtown Montreux and to the train station.

It is a pleasant walk (less than 1 km) along the lake to the Chateau de Chillon.

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Afua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Territet
1.2 mi away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#3 of 17 in Montreux
826 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Royal Plaza Montreux
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Villa Toscane
Villa Toscane
#17 of 17 in Montreux
269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Grand Lac Excelsior
0.8 mi away
Hotel Helvetie
Hotel Helvetie
#14 of 17 in Montreux
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Bristol

Address: avenue de Chillon 63, Territet, Montreux 1820, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Montreux > Territet
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Territet
Price Range: $134 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel & Spa Bristol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel & Spa Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Territet
Territet Minotel
Best Western Territet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing