We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in hidden area with excellent golf course”
Review of Hotel Canelas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Canelas
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Portonovo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Very friendly hotel with great golf course surrounding it. Staff extremely welcoming and pleased to see us. Quiet inoff seaon which is just what we wanted. Very picturesque golf course using all features of the water inlets and trees. Testing but not too difficult.

Room Tip: Very good for golfers
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Canelas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 109 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2011

Portonovo & the nearby Sanxenxo are almost totally a Spanish Resort.. But that should not stop Non-Spanish speaking people off visiting this wonderful place.. It has everything anyone could want.. great restaurants and a night-life without an equal.. everything is here if you look.. and the Hotel Canelas is a very good hotel as a base to explore the area.. situated on the outskirts of Portonovo.. Its a short walk from the lovely Canelas Beach (Blue Flag) and the town of Portonova itself.. the Hotel is a little Gem with the most attentive staff of any hotel i've stayed in.. the rooms and communal areas are excellent and cleaned daily to a very high standard.. We stayed on a Half Board package and opted for breakfast and lunch most days.. the breakfast was very good with all the normal
items.. the lunch offered a seletion of local dishes which were well cooked & presented.. the staff in the restaurant were so attentive & efficient without any faults whatsoever..
The Reception staff (Day & Night) were always helpful and so Professional.. And the maid service to the rooms was second to none.. There are some things that might be a problem to some people.. 1.. The hotel's pool which while being of a very high order is situated on the other side of a quite busy main road - this wasn't a problem for us but for people with small children this should be a consideration.. 2.. The TV in the room is Totally Spanish.. an addition of just Sky Or BBC News would be Bonus.. 3.. The Wi-Fi is very hit and miss , it works ok for a day then takes 2 days off, not good and should be address by the Hotel..
I Think That I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.. do yourself a big favour and tried it.. I'am confident you won't be dissapointed..

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Micky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: en general tiene muy buenas vistas el hotel
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rafael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank José F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jormanat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
2  Thank Sónia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
4  Thank Itzigual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portonovo
1.2 mi away
Hotel Peregrina
Hotel Peregrina
#1 of 15 in Portonovo
333 reviews
1.6 mi away
Augusta Spa Resort
Augusta Spa Resort
#4 of 76 in Sanxenxo
1,312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Nayef Hotel
Royal Nayef Hotel
#10 of 76 in Sanxenxo
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Spa Galatea
Hotel Spa Galatea
#9 of 76 in Sanxenxo
311 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Spa Nanin Playa
Hotel Spa Nanin Playa
#5 of 76 in Sanxenxo
302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aquaria Canelinas
Aquaria Canelinas
#7 of 15 in Portonovo
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canelas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canelas

Address: Lugar Canelas, 12 | Canelas Beach, 36970 Portonovo, Sanxenxo, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of Pontevedra > Sanxenxo > Portonovo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Portonovo
Price Range: $64 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canelas 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Canelas*** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Canelas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing