We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marvelous cloister retreat!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parador de Santo Estevo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Parador de Santo Estevo
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Marvelous cloister retreat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Words cannot describe the natural beauty of the remote surroundings (Canyon de Sil) and of this remarkable parador. The care that was taken in matching modern (lots of glass) to accentuate, rather than cover and detract from, the beautiful original building is astounding. The restaurant is dramatic, with 20 feet high windows looking out to the green nature. I wish we had stayed one day longer to take advantage of the fabulous spa.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cosmofighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    194
    52
    10
    11
See reviews for
160
512
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
751 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 660 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Billeted in one of the hotels in Chantada, my husband and I decided on our day tour by car to visit this Parador as the highlight of our adventure trip along the River Sil. Since we came from the east side where River Sil was, it was not a quick route. We went around, the ground level only, up to the restaurant. It was really a very nice place to relax and commune with nature.

The contemplative setting and the fascinating landscape was the big plus. No hustle bustle. Great relaxing atmosphere.

We took our dinner at the restaurant with a breathtaking view of the valley below. The menu was special. All in its place prepared for a fine dining. Food was delicious. We were very satisfied of our choice though expensive but it's money’s worth.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MijnlieverdFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belbroughton, UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Lovely location above the Sell river but Internet would not work, not hot water due to boiler failure and not many people. Staff didn't offer to help with bags or show us to room. Good meal in main restaurant with friendly staff but that contrasted with the reception staff who seemed very tired.

Room Tip: Costs about another 50 euros to go in spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Coruna
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in this place. The room was very nice, quiet and clean. Breakfast was of a very high quality and good variety!
The restaurant is great - I never tastes better wild pig filet!
Stuff is very kind, helps you with any question.
SPA is extra charge but it's worthy to do it!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

We enjoyed our experience at this restored monastery in a very remote location around 30 minutes from Ourense. Rooms were large, comfortable and well-equipped. It is a great location to get away and relax, extremely quite.
It is quite remote, so you depend on dinner or room service at the hotel, which was OK. Breakfast offered a wide variety of choices.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seven64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
326 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

Parador Santo Estevo is a beautifully restored monastery in a location befitting of monastic life. It is away from it all, sitting atop a very peaceful and secluded valley.

The monastry has been sensitively restored - the rooms are larger than "normal" and are comfortable and well equipped. Being a monastery conversion do not expect large picture windows in the rooms - the windows are tiny - but that was afterall the way monasteries were built. The thick stone walls play havoc with the wi-fi connectivity, but at the end of the day you are here to experience the monastry and all its history.

We found the staff friendly and more than helpful. We needed to switch rooms because the rooms previous occupant decided to ignore the "non smoking" rules. They did so without a fuss and were more than apologetic.

The main dining room in the hotel is spectacular with views down the valley. We enjoyed dinner at the hotel - again good quality without being an exceptional meal. Breakfast the following morning offered an extensive buffet selection.

Our only grumble about the hotel was the lack of public spaces and lounges. Yes, they were there, but built in remote or very dark corners of the Parador. The small vestibule sitting area was a magnet to those seeking wi-fi connectivity and the few seats were rarely vacated.

Putting this issue to one side we enjoyed our stay and the opportunity to share an insight into monastic life of a prior century. A very good stay !

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geddes_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Nice, refurbished monasteer.
Well preserved.
Stone rooms, really well maintened.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pabloski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nogueira de Ramuin
3.5 mi away
Hotel O Remanso dos Patos
Hotel O Remanso dos Patos
#2 of 3 in Nogueira de Ramuin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
7.9 mi away
Oca Augas Santas Balneario & Golf Resort
11.6 mi away
Parador de Monforte de Lemos
Parador de Monforte de Lemos
#1 of 4 in Monforte de Lemos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
NH Ourense
NH Ourense
#1 of 12 in Ourense
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hotel Oca Vila de Allariz
11.4 mi away
Eurostars Auriense
Eurostars Auriense
#5 of 12 in Ourense
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Santo Estevo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Santo Estevo

Property: Parador de Santo Estevo
Address: Monasterio de Santo Estevo, 32162 Nogueira de Ramuin, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of Ourense > Nogueira de Ramuin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Nogueira de Ramuin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Santo Estevo 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open April to October ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Parador de Santo Estevo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Santo Estevo Spain/Nogueira De Ramuin, Galicia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing