We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid the apartments” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sercotel Villa Engracia Rural Hotel and Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sercotel Villa Engracia Rural Hotel and Apartments
Javea, Spain
Level Contributor
160 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Avoid the apartments”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We arrived mid afternoon and left almost immediately. We had booked a room but, as we have a small dog, were told that we would have to stay in an apartment. That was no problem until we saw it.

Totally depressing with no view, typical cheap Spanish beds, holes in the un-ironed bedlinen, miserable little living room and cheap, nasty furniture. Just to cheer us up, piles of cigarette ends outside the door.

We were told that we would have to pay for a night but, after speaking to booking,com we received a call saying that they had waived the charge.

We cannot speak about the main hotel but would advise anyone to avoid the apartments.

We booked into the Masia del Cadet next door, what a difference.

Room Tip: Avoid the apartments!!!
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SenorCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    39
    30
    13
    6
See reviews for
40
43
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

We sleeped there for two nights, and despite is a good place and the kitchen for the apartmetns is fine, we found it a little bit expensive for the services it had. Rooms were cold.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WYD_Pilgrims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed in a room in the main building. It has an historic charm. The furniture throughout the hotel is modern and generally comfortable, although our bed was pretty hard and uncomfortable - probably the only downside of our stay.

Breakfast was included in our stay and was good - comparable to most continental breakfasts you get in the US. The rooms had free wireless which worked well.

The area around the hotel is very quaint and pretty. We enjoyed looking out of our room at the rolling hills and famous Poblet monastery. There are a few wineries within 20 km of the hotel that we visited that are worth the trip - the front desk staff can provide details.

All in all we enjoyed the quiet and quaint recluse provided by Villa Engracia.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marteen239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2011

This is a larger hotel with attached "apartments" all within a complex. We were in a superior studio.

Pros:
-The room was very clean and decently roomy.
-Wall Heating with in-room temperature controls: absolutely fantastic for cooler nights, especially because they left it on all night. As someone who is feels colder than the average person, I really appreciated this.
-free (but not awesome) wifi in the room
- beautiful common areas (with better wifi)
-Breakfast: an excellent buffet - yogurt and cereals, bread with fresh tomatoes and garlic, DELICIOUS pastries, orange juice, coffee, tea.
- Some nice walking trails from the hotel in either direction. About 34 km hike to Santes Creus along the trail. Short walk to the monatsery of Poblet and to the town of l'Espluga de Francoli. We walked back to the hotel from town by the main road after dinner and passed only 1 car.

Cons:
- You can hear your neighbors. Really hear them.
- The mattresses are kind of hard.

I would definitely go back to the hotel in low season when there are fewer guests and everything is quieter.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkTravelbug25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sort en chalossse
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2010

beutiful position but I would advise others that in autumn/winter it is very cold. When we arrived theheating had not been switched on and with the antiquated system it did not really warm up until the time for leaving, only one blanket on the beds, although more were provided when we asked. There was a fireplace in the apartment but with only one log ..... Also it should be made clear that it is not suitable for anyone with walking difficulties, when reserving I asked for a ground floor apartment as my 80 year old mother is crippled with arthritis, the hotel respected that, but ommitted to say that the apartments are reached via a steep flight of steps from the car park ! Restaurant was not open, and in the morning we had trouble finding anyone to pay the bill to as the main building was closed even at 08.30am.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vivesja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2008

I recently visited villa Engracia booked through an English Website. The hotel is charming and has lots and lots of Character. But is poorly maintained and really did not live up to my expectations. They only served Breakfast in the morning and that was about it from the hotel.

The surrounding areas were beautiful and make sure you visit the monastery and the mountain walk. Also take a trip to the famous Vine maker “Torres” if you like to try some Vine.

I also followed the Couples comment about the dinner an Macia del Cadet Hotel situated behind Hotel Villa Engracia. The Restaurant and the Hotel was charming! The food was just fantastic!!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dineshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these L'Espluga de Francoli hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Leyland, Lancs
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2007

The complex consists almost exclusively of self catering apartments, which is popular with families from the city of Barcelona seeking a country retreat and respite from the heat and humidity of the coast. When we were there some of the facilities were in need of some TLC but on the whole the place reperesented value for money. For what we paid, we didn't expect the Ritz!

We spent 2 weeks in the self catering apartments in mid - late September

We'd booked a 1BR, but were upgraded to one of the larger apartments in a block away from the main building.

It was well equipped and very comfortable.

The one downside / benefit is that it was surrounded by high trees, so that it was well shaded from the midday / afternoon sun, but in September, the nights and mornings tend to be rather cool, so getting up early was not and attractive proposition, as by law the central heating is not permitted before Oct 1st. There was a log fire in the living room, but the chimney was not much good at getting rid of the smoke!

During the week, the complex is very quiet, but at weekends it fills up with families from all over Spain. There are good play areas for children, and a good (unheated) pool

We arrived on a Sunday afternoon, and the office was closed - however someone did attend to us quite promptly. They spoke little English, and we spoke little Spanish and even less Catalan, but they were friendly and efficient whenever we saw them. We had a minor problem with a slow draining shower, but it was fixed within a couple of hours of reporting it.

No meals or snacks are available on site - and the local hotels generally do not serve meals until after 9pm. Shops and supermarkets are closed throughout most of the day on Sunday, so make sure if you are arriving on a Sunday to stock up with supplies in Reus or Barcelona.

I can heartily recommend the nearby Hotel Masia del Cadet as a good place to eat if you are staying at Villa Engracia. The menu is excellent, with a number of specialities including an award winning Rabbit dish.

Whilst we probably won't stay there again (there's too many other places we want to see) I certainly would not want to put people off staying there.

It may be a bit off the beaten track, but the wonderful Poblet Monastery is within walking distance.

The village of L'Espluga de Francoli is full of Catalan charm, and the local wines are excellent (and very cheap)

  • Stayed September 2004, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shieldslad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Espluga de Francoli
0.1 mi away
Hotel la Masia del Cadet
Hotel la Masia del Cadet
#3 of 6 in L'Espluga de Francoli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
11.1 mi away
Felix Hotel
Felix Hotel
#1 of 2 in Valls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hostal del Senglar
Hostal del Senglar
#6 of 6 in L'Espluga de Francoli
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Class Valls
Class Valls
#2 of 2 in Valls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
1.4 mi away
El Ocell Francoli Hotel Rural
El Ocell Francoli Hotel Rural
#4 of 6 in L'Espluga de Francoli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ca La Pauleta
Ca La Pauleta
#1 of 6 in L'Espluga de Francoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sercotel Villa Engracia Rural Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sercotel Villa Engracia Rural Hotel and Apartments

Property: Sercotel Villa Engracia Rural Hotel and Apartments
Address: Ctra de les Masies s/n | Les Masies de Poblet, 43440 L'Espluga de Francoli, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > L'Espluga de Francoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in L'Espluga de Francoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Sercotel Villa Engracia Rural Hotel and Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Engracia is located in the small hamlet of Les Masies de Poblet, which belongs to the municipality of L'Espluga de Francoli and lies within the Poblet Nature Reserve, at the foot of the Prades Mountains. It lies just 500 metres from the Monastery of Poblet. This protected and well-conserved area is part of the district of La Conca de Barbera, in inland Tarragona (Catalonia). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Sercotel Villa Engracia Rural Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sercotel Villa Engracia Rural Hotel And Apartments Spain/Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing