We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go B&B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mont-Palau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mont-Palau
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Pineda de Mar
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Go B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

My grown up daughter and I have just returned from a 7 night stay in this hotel and were very happy with our stay.

It was my first visit to Spain and I was concerned that it would be very touristy and full of clubs, pubs and drunks. Thankfully Pineda de Mar is nothing like that. There was a local Fiesta going on for 5 days so everywhere was lively, but with Spanish people, and they were very friendly and welcoming. There was a traditional parade through the town one night and I'm so glad we were there for that, we got a taste of the true Spain. Each night there was something different going on.

The hotel was very good, the staff were friendly and polite and spoke good English. Our air con was not working when we first arrived, but was fixed within a couple of hours of me reporting it. The room was perfectly adequate for our needs. bathroom with shower over bath, twin beds, wardrobe, dressing table etc. We had a very large balcony from which we could see the pool and roof top sun terrace on one side and the sea on the other and being on the sixth floor we had quite good views. The only down side was the food, it was awfull!! We were advised to get to the dining room for 8pm when they open as the food tends to go cold, but one evening we were the first people through the door and the food was stone cold! There was never much choice and most of the salads and veg were just reworked leftovers. I have worked in Hospitality and Catering for many years and know all the tricks of the trade, and obviously so does their chef!! We had booked full board and were left hungry most evenings. I would go back to the hotel but would book room only or b&b as there are plenty of restaurants around and supermarkets for packed lunches, and the hotel bar does a very good cooked brekkie!!

Room Tip: Street facing rooms on the sixth floor have good sized balcony for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    35
    27
    12
    22
See reviews for
38
43
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Postojna, Slovenia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We where very satisfied with Hotel, nice people and acomodation. We like Pineda de Mar, it is realy nice place and people are very friendly and helpful. Beautiful beach. We realy like night life there. They have very nive events in the nearby market.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ViktorCr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sudbury
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We have just returned from a 5 night stay. We were not expecting much to be honest. The hotel is in the centre of Pineda de Mar overlooking the main square.The location is excellent as the locals congregate in the area and it makes for a relaxing environment. Our rooom (407) over looked the square. The beach was a 10min walk down the main pedestrian area and the train station the same. We went to Barcelona for the day which cost us approx 8 euros return and took an hour.
The bathroom is basic but served our needs ( some of the bathrooms have been upgraded). The beds were comfy and Air Con was available 24hrs per day which was excellent.
The pool area was quite small and really suited for a dip not a day sunbathing. We went to the beach most days.
We had a few issues during our stay which were nothing to do with the hotel and the owner and his staff couldnt have been more helpful.
The food was the usually affair some nights excellent some nights not, although some of the guests dont seem to have never eaten before However for a cheap get away we couldnt fault it. We would return again for a short break in a Spanish seaside town!!

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the square we were in 407 on the corner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trina286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Just returned from a holiday in Costa Brava and Barcelona. Stayed 5 nights, half board in Mont Palau in Pineda de Mar. If you do not want to spend for little luxuries, this is a good accommodation. Rooms small, reasonably clean, has a balcony, but no sea view as this is about 400 m away from the sea. Fairly sized bathroom with a shower over the bath. I think our room should have a face lift. A/C seems not adequate to cope with the heat.
TV small. All are spanish channels. No remote in room, 10 euro deposit needed.
No WiFi in room. So carry your laptop/tablet to reception or to bar.
Has a safe in room, costs 20 euro to use.

Food average. Reasonable choice with daily change of menu for the dinner. No drinks included in the dinner, so you have to buy water/drink, or leave dinning room with a dry mouth and have a drink later. Breakfast good with many choices with English menu daily.

Owner of hotel is always around. Very nice and pleasant person. Very helpful if you ask for.

Has a pool in the rooftop. Did not use. Quite small and crowded.

Has several restaurants around the hotel. Also there is a mini supermarket, where you can buy your provisions. There is a children's park in the square adjacent to hotel. If you room is facing the park, you can supervise your kids from the balcony.

Beach is clean and well maintained. Very easy to travel to barcelona from Pineda. Train station near the beach about 400 m away. Trains run every 30 min, cost about 9 euro return.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the square are quiet. Ask for A/C status.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JagDeeAb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

A pleasant 3* hotel on one of the main streets of Pineda. Not too far to walk to the beach. Hotel staff speak reasonable English, and are helpful and friendly. Food is good. However, a word of caution regarding meal times. You would think that some of the other guests hadn't eaten for a month. Alas, not only did they take vast quantities of food from the buffet as fast as they could, a lot of it later ended up in the bin, as they would take more than it was humanly possible to eat. Not the Hotel's fault, but alas a sad reflection on human nature. So, be prepared for a bun fight at meal times. If you leave it a while, the crowds may be less, but you risk some of the dishes being finished before you get there. Oh, and don't forget a Russian dictionary if you want to speak to the other guests!

Room Tip: Some of the balconies have better views than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spanners51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We did not like anything the hotel. We went to spend a few days with our children and there was not space for all our stuff in the room. You get complementary food, however, they do not give you water or any drinks unless you pay for them, and they are quite expensive. They don't let you enter the dining room with bag or a purse just in case you carry with you water or something you could potentially buy there. The receptionist is the rudest person i ever met, horrible service. The pool is really small and there is no wifi in the rooms. The hotel claims they have a parking lot, however, what they have is just a public parking across the street, so its not even theirs. There is not need to pay for a parking anyway because the town how plenty of street parking available. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marta c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pineda de Mar hotels

barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

My husband and I have been going to Hotel Pineda de Mar Montpalau for 3 or 4 years, just for a music festival(4 or 5 days).

Every time we've been in differents rooms in different floors. These are normal, with bathroom, your bed, your TV, your wardrobe, all right, and most importantly: very clean.

At the reception we have always been treated properly, with the same employees. That says a lot about administration and management.

The dining room is divided into two parts. One very large and other small one if you want to eat without much crowding.


The food is good compared with other hotels I have stayed in my life (Pineda, Calella, Lloret, Blanes....) I see more quality.

At breakfast you have everything you want (sweet, salty). At dinner and supper a lot of vegetables and salad, and not miss the meat and fish.
Also employees of the dining room are the same every year, always on the lookout if you have a problem, and always get outstanding food dishes.

The pool was visited for us every time. Not big, but quiet enough for bathing and privately. It's located at the top of the building. Pool with clean water and maintained.

Communicating with the reception you can access to the restaurant-bar. You can sit at the bar or if you want more comfort, in chairs and tables. You can watch TV, read a book available to the public, play games, while enjoying a drink or meal.

Both reception, in the dining room, or simply at the restaurant you can find Mr. Joaquim businessman-owner of the Hotel. A very friendly, attentive, every year greets us arrive. Hopefully many entrepreneurs were so attentive to their customers.

A good place to spend either a weekend, such as holidays .....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank maria g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pineda de Mar hotels
0.3 mi away
Sumus Hotel Stella &Spa
Sumus Hotel Stella &Spa
#3 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Merce
Hotel Merce
#4 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.4 mi away
H.TOP Pineda Palace
H.TOP Pineda Palace
#5 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aqua Hotel Promenade
Aqua Hotel Promenade
#2 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sorrabona Hotel
Sorrabona Hotel
#7 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sabiote
Hotel Sabiote
#9 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mont-Palau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mont-Palau

Property: Hotel Mont-Palau
Address: C/ Roig i Jalpi 1, 08397 Pineda de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Pineda de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Pineda de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mont-Palau 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Mont-Palau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mont Palau
Mont Palau Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing