We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Hotel Merce

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Merce
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Pineda de Mar
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Booked a late deal with Thomas Cook on a b&b basis we did not know what to expect, but were pleasantly surprised. The reception area was bright and airy with really helpful staff the bar and dining room were the same, the rooms were a little dated but clean and comfortable. The hotel breakfast was good quality plenty of choice of both hot and cold food. The evening meal in the hotel was good value for money at 9 euros for the all you can eat buffet and again was good quality. We did however eat out most nights as the are many really good local restaurants to try.
The hotel is nicely situated about a 10 minute walk from the beach, station, and center.
If we went again we would not use the coach transfer, it is quicker and cheaper to get the metro or coach into Barcelona and take the train to Penida which is 9 euros return and is alovely ride along the coast, but can be busy at peak times.
Overall we had a great time and this is a great place for a relaxing quiet holiday and a good center for exploring the surrounding area. 3

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are across the road from the church whose bells ring from 8am till mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 717 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

The hotel is situated in a quiet location of Pineda del Mar, the only problem is the church that is situated right next to the hotel, where the bells go off constantly! unfortunately we were smack bang facing the church bell.. However it did stop between 11pm and 8am so you managed to get some undisturbed sleep and it was a good wake up call for breakfast. The staff were very friendly and attentive and the food was excellent with plenty of choice,

There is a local train station that runs along the sea front (10-15mins walk) and it takes you to Barcelona e.t.c if you fancy a nice day trip out.

Room Tip: I would go back if I could stop in a room away from the church, for sleep quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrstgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

my husband and i just got back from hotel merce and after reading lots of reviews had mixed feelings on what to expect, but we we'r pleasantly surprised, the hotel is in a great location and pinde de mar is beautiful, the hotel staff are all friendly and helpful. The food buffet was very good with a wide selection at both breakfast and evening meal, and always plenty, the resturant is also very clean. We had room 350 and this was lovely and peaceful with both air con and a balcony, the room was also a decent size and we had a double and a single bed( although we only needed a double), the balcony was small but we only really used it to dry wet swimwear!, our only fault with the room was that although the cleaners come in every day they only made the bed and changed the towels, never once did they clean the bathroom, (we had to give them the toilet brush back because it was disgusting and they never replaced it),there was also a few hairs in the bath, and the toilet flush was broken. I took some anti bacterial spray off cleaners trolley and cleaned the bathroom myself, but that was only because both my husband and myself had a bad stomache bug for 24 hours,(after speaking to lots of other guests, we found out that so many had also had bug for 24 hours). we can only go by our room, and yes it was very basic, but bedroom area was clean, and comfy and we got good nights sleep every night. We would def go back and request same room,( but take some bleach) for a 2 star hotel it is very very good value ,( i would also feel very safe and comfy staying in hotel and pinde de mar had i have been travelling on my own) To sum it up, great hotel, great staff, great food, great location, we didnt want to come home!!!

Room Tip: 350 for a peaceful stay, but cleaners did only clean our bathroom on day of arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 397garyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Just back from a weeks holiday at the hotel, cheap deal from ''On the Beach'. Booked a few holiday through them and never had any problems. The hotel is in a good location, next to the church with a short walk to the beach and village centre. Booked for half board, breakfast was always plentiful, bacon and sausages were a bit grim, but eggs cooked fresh. Dinner, if you got there early was good, lots of choice, some dishes cooked fresh at the buffet, fresh mackeral extremely good, lots of tasty salad. If you got there late however, there was not so much choice as not all dishes were replaced. Staff in the hotel were friendly and helpful, rooms were cleaned every day and towels replaced each day. The room was not quite so good, a bit dated and could do with a revamp. Our first room had a balcony which faced a wall approx 6ft away with a huge flue pipe running up it, very dark and not a good view. We asked to change rooms and were given another with no problem which looked out over the street. The walls of the room were extremely thin and the noise of people moving furniture around, talking in the next room and having loud discussions in the corridor in the early hours was disturbing to say the least! (Take ear plugs). The church bells however, chiming all day long were lovely!
Recommend 'Mokolo' beach bar, very comfy blow up sofas, good beer, good food and friendly staff!
Good for a cheap holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flowerpotPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Just back from a cheap week in Hotel Merce. The hotel is a two star hotel, and the rooms are two star, and can be noisy due to the tiled floors and high cielings. However, the food is much better than two star. Only the really fussy could complain at the choice on offer each evening, as well as a sizeable choice for breakfast. The hotel's staff are really friendly, and helpful. If you are looking for a well located friendly hotel in a quieter Costa Brava resort, and don't want to spend a fortune, whilst not expecting five star accommodation in a two star hotel, then this is a good choice. Oh, and the church bells are barely noticeable.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank macala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just back from a 5 night stay at the Merce. The hotel is in a great location in the old town. It's a really nice area with lovely squares and narrow streets. Very Spanish and unspoilt. The beach is just a short walk away.

The hotel reception is lovely as is the dinning room. However, the rooms are not so great. We were in room 109 and didn't have a balcony. Our room was off a shared terrace. The rooms are very dated and in need of a complete make over! The maids do a good job of keeping them clean though. All the staff are really nice and friendly in the hotel. The pool and roof terrace are lovely and clean.

We were half board and the food was excellent. Buffet breakfast and buffet evening meal.

My only complaint about this hotel is the noise! The walls are paper thin! we heard people slamming doors, talking loudly, shouting and rearranging furniture during the night...every night! The church bells didn't bother us at all. There was no need to wear a watch when sitting around the pool!

The free wifi is good. You have to ask at reception for a password. They give you 2 passwords if you want wifi on a laptop and phone.

Santa Susana and Calella are within walking distance. The train station near the beach is handy for day trips. Lots of supermarkets in the area including; Lidl, Aldi, Dia, Carrefour, Consum, Spa & Eroski.

I would definitely go back to Pineda, but probably not to this hotel.

We booked through travel republic and the transfer to and from the airport was very good. They were at the pick up point on time for our return journey to the airport.

Room Tip: Take earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tiger377car
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We didnt want yo spend a fortune on a very short stay in Pineda. Found this one through Trip Advisor. If you are after a budget hotel with friendly staff and good service then this is the one for you!!! Yes its a touch noisy and very basic but how much time do you really spend in a hotel when on holiday anyway!!! The breakfast buffet is more than adequate to fuel your day and the money we saved meant we could enjoy evenings out in the local area. The staff are extremely attentive and will give you advice of places to visit in the area. The train station is a 5 minute walk away which gets you up and down the coast to Girona or Barcelona in no time at all. The beach is also 5 minutes away. There is a pool terrace up top for those who want to take it easy which also has a bar serving light snacks. Don't expect five star conditions but for me as long as a place is clean and tidy then that's all you need. The cleaners come in every day and change the towel and the bedding, empty the bins and generally spruce up the room. We only use hotels to sleep in. After all you're on holiday so you should be out exploring!! Would I stay here again, absolutely!!

Room Tip: Try and get an external room. Would suggest the internal rooms as although they have a balcony you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frog1828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pineda de Mar hotels
0.5 mi away
H.TOP Pineda Palace
H.TOP Pineda Palace
#6 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
734 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sumus Hotel Stella &Spa
Sumus Hotel Stella &Spa
#4 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
576 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Hotel Promenade
Aqua Hotel Promenade
#3 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
ALEGRIA Pineda Splash
ALEGRIA Pineda Splash
#1 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sabiote
Hotel Sabiote
#8 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mont-Palau
Hotel Mont-Palau
#12 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Merce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merce

Address: c/ Antoni Doltra, 2, 08397 Pineda de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Pineda de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pineda de Mar
#5 Family Hotel in Pineda de Mar
Price Range: $42 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Merce 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three stars family hotel located in Pineda de Mar, a tipycal quiet catalan coast village located in Costa de Barcelona, very near Barcelona and the Costa Brava beaches. Free Wi-fi in comoon rooms.Enjoy our panoramic swiming-pool. Daily night entertainment.During July and August free animation program (beach, canoes, children activities, etc.). All rooms with bath&shower, balcony, hair dryer and balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Merce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merce Hotel Pineda De Mar
Merce Pineda De Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing