We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Merce

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Merce
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Pineda de Mar
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just back from a 5 night stay at the Merce. The hotel is in a great location in the old town. It's a really nice area with lovely squares and narrow streets. Very Spanish and unspoilt. The beach is just a short walk away.

The hotel reception is lovely as is the dinning room. However, the rooms are not so great. We were in room 109 and didn't have a balcony. Our room was off a shared terrace. The rooms are very dated and in need of a complete make over! The maids do a good job of keeping them clean though. All the staff are really nice and friendly in the hotel. The pool and roof terrace are lovely and clean.

We were half board and the food was excellent. Buffet breakfast and buffet evening meal.

My only complaint about this hotel is the noise! The walls are paper thin! we heard people slamming doors, talking loudly, shouting and rearranging furniture during the night...every night! The church bells didn't bother us at all. There was no need to wear a watch when sitting around the pool!

The free wifi is good. You have to ask at reception for a password. They give you 2 passwords if you want wifi on a laptop and phone.

Santa Susana and Calella are within walking distance. The train station near the beach is handy for day trips. Lots of supermarkets in the area including; Lidl, Aldi, Dia, Carrefour, Consum, Spa & Eroski.

I would definitely go back to Pineda, but probably not to this hotel.

We booked through travel republic and the transfer to and from the airport was very good. They were at the pick up point on time for our return journey to the airport.

Room Tip: Take earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tiger377car
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    288
    124
    51
    37
See reviews for
177
296
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We didnt want yo spend a fortune on a very short stay in Pineda. Found this one through Trip Advisor. If you are after a budget hotel with friendly staff and good service then this is the one for you!!! Yes its a touch noisy and very basic but how much time do you really spend in a hotel when on holiday anyway!!! The breakfast buffet is more than adequate to fuel your day and the money we saved meant we could enjoy evenings out in the local area. The staff are extremely attentive and will give you advice of places to visit in the area. The train station is a 5 minute walk away which gets you up and down the coast to Girona or Barcelona in no time at all. The beach is also 5 minutes away. There is a pool terrace up top for those who want to take it easy which also has a bar serving light snacks. Don't expect five star conditions but for me as long as a place is clean and tidy then that's all you need. The cleaners come in every day and change the towel and the bedding, empty the bins and generally spruce up the room. We only use hotels to sleep in. After all you're on holiday so you should be out exploring!! Would I stay here again, absolutely!!

Room Tip: Try and get an external room. Would suggest the internal rooms as although they have a balcony you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frog1828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Where do i even begin! The hotel its self was lovely ie the bar area n reception and pool! The rooms, well they are a bit on the small side, our room had no aircon, the toilet only worked once a day and to top it off the maid cleaned our hairdryer in a sink full of water! Its location is in a back street facing a church its a beautiful view but the bells drive you insane! There was no choice of food it was all mainly fish, or unless you like pizza your fine!

We asked for a double room abd were given a twin with beds pushed together!

When we arrived we were dropped off on the main road and pointed in the direction of the hotel! This wasnt the best holiday ive ever had! Luckily we just used the room for sleeping!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becksy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Pros:

Cheap package deal for the week.

Clean hotel. Pool area although simple was nice & very clean. Barman at pool was such a friendly man.

Free wifi throughout the hotel.

Food (when you got there quick enough before it was gone) was good. We had muscles and razor clams one day, plenty of fish and a lovely stew one day. We only had one day when there was nothing we liked.

Nice town. Not too lively but plenty of restaurants.

Cons:

Noisiest hotel we've ever stayed in without a doubt. It's midnight here and we can hear what seems to be a black sabbath tribute act playing in the bar from our room on the third floor. We also had the joys (banging/thudding) of the flamenco dancing noise till at least 1:00am last night.

The walls are paper thin. I've never known people move furniture around at all times of the day like other guests here seem to. There is constant banging and scraping noises coming through the walls/ceilings.

On a number of occasions we weren't able to get a seat in the dining room for either breakfast or dinner. This meant we had to go away and come back later, in the meantime some dishes had been finished and weren't replaced. And we weren't trying to get in to dinner late either.

Hunting for knives, forks etc etc was fun at breakfast or dinner. Note to the wise, get your cutlery before you get your food as your food will go cold in the time you're waiting for them to bring more cutlery out when you've let them know there's none left. All in all the dining experience isn't a relaxing one and you feel a bit like you're in the school dinner hall.

Rooms are very dated but are clean which I guess is the most important thing. Ours didn't have air con so we needed the window open which when the bar is noisy at night and the street can be too doesn't bode well for a good nights sleep. Our window shutter was broken too so wouldn't go up all the way which resulted in a dark room. We decided not to bother telling reception about this after reading other people's reviews and how the reception staff were a bit awkward about moving rooms. The lift is a bit of an experience too, jolts in to action and at one point the light broke so we rode the lift in complete darkness... Scary!

The maids were a bit hit and miss. Although the rooms seemed clean there were days when they left dirty towels in the bath and only half made the bed (they folded one cover neatly and left the other completely screwed up).


Would I come back? No, unless I got a SERIOUSLY cheap deal. And even then I think I'd really think about it and only come back as I like the town.

I also can't do a review without mentioning the church bells. Yes, they're every 15minutes but they're not annoying, you can kind of tune them out an they can come in handy when you don't have a watch on!

One tip, if you do come to Pineda del mar... Go to the restaurant called Ca l'aureli which is near the aqua hotel on the main road that runs parallel with the beach. Lovely restaurant, lovely food, lovely service, fantastic prices!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lottie176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Just got back from a week at the Hotel Merce in Pineda Del Mar and I've got to say that the hotel represents excellent value for money (certainly for what we paid anyway!) Me and my girlfriend had a twin bedroom bed and breakfast and it was a brilliant base for us to explore the Costa Brava and Barcelona. If you are looking for a hotel resort that you can spend all day in and be entertained then this place is not for you but if you want to get out and about then jump at this hotel. For what you pay you don't get air conditioning, or the most up to date rooms but the hotel is clean with a nice pool and bar area and the breakfast provides a good range of food to fuel you throughout the day. the staff were friendly towards us and spoke good English whilst not baulking at my attempts at Spanish! The hotel is a few minutes walk from the beautiful beach and Pineda Del Mar is a lovely, quaint, town which is delightful to explore. So if you're a couple of family who want a nice base to go off exploring then this is the place for you.

Sean Deverson

Room Tip: The church bells go off every 15 minutes until 12 at night so if you plan on being in bed early then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanDeverson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshsire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel was booked as a last minute trip and was just what we expected from the reviews we read. Excellent value for the price we paid. Food was 3/4* for breakfast and dinner with plenty of variety, the rooms were very small and some in need of refurbishment although spotless clean with clean bed linen and towels changed daily. The staff in the dining room are rushed off their feet, more staff in the height of the season are required. We did not use the hotel pool or loungers - some of these are in need of newer replacements. We enjoyed walking through the great Catalonia squares which continued all the way to the beach taking approx 10 mins. Our weather was fab hot and sunny. The train station is the same distance and stops at most resorts along the coast and into Barcelona. In the evening the locals meet in the squares and where they have local dancing, activities and music, stalls selling local produce and gifts. We would stay at this hotel again and the church clock bells did not worry us a great wake up at 8 am to start the day. As it was the second week in August we were very very pleased with this hotel and resort a typical Spanish resort - with plenty of pavement cafes to people watch and chill - would recommend. The hotel is one of the best in the area and so convenient set at the back of the resort in the narrow streets close to the chill out squares yet only 10 mins stroll to the promenade.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jill r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013

On the plus side staff are lovely and helpful. The rooms are old fashioned and dull. When you enter the hotel the reception looks lovely when you see the rooms very disappointing. The room as no fridge which really is a must cause even all inclusive or full board does not include your drinks so its expensive with three kids to keep buying you need to get a few and put in the fridge but you cant so drinks are hot. The food in the hotel is very average the swimming pool is like ice.

Room Tip: Bring lots of money if you have kids the funfair up the road lovely but costs and beach lovely but w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanessa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pineda de Mar hotels
0.3 mi away
Sumus Hotel Stella &Spa
Sumus Hotel Stella &Spa
#3 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aqua Hotel Promenade
Aqua Hotel Promenade
#2 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Taurus Park Resort
Golden Taurus Park Resort
#1 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sorrabona Hotel
Sorrabona Hotel
#6 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sabiote
Hotel Sabiote
#7 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.5 mi away
H.TOP Pineda Palace
H.TOP Pineda Palace
#4 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Merce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merce

Property: Hotel Merce
Address: c/ Antoni Doltra, 2, 08397 Pineda de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Pineda de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pineda de Mar
#4 Family Hotel in Pineda de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Merce 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three stars family hotel located in Pineda de Mar, a tipycal quiet catalan coast village located in Costa de Barcelona, very near Barcelona and the Costa Brava beaches. Free Wi-fi in comoon rooms.Enjoy our panoramic swiming-pool. Daily night entertainment.During July and August free animation program (beach, canoes, children activities, etc.). All rooms with bath&shower, balcony, hair dryer and balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Merce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merce Hotel Pineda De Mar
Merce Pineda De Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing