We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value overall, quiet resort”
Review of Hotel Merce

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Merce
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Pineda de Mar
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good value overall, quiet resort”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We took this holiday mid may and overall this hotel is good value, clean and with the train well placed to visit other resorts and Barcelona just 1 hour and 9 euros return away. Our room was overlooking other rooms to the hotel, sort of in a courtyard, however as they had at the time lots of students staying sleep was difficult due to the noise from these rooms opposite, which went on until 3-4 in the morning. Our room was small, clean and perfectly adequate with a balcony small plastic table and chairs. Towels were changed daily. Staff were friendly on reception and John restaurant manager helpful once you got to know him, however the male restaurant staff could do with a lesson on smiling. Joseph the owner was superb taking on board all our suggestions to improve this hotel to make it better. Food was always cold and the microwave on offer just did not work, I think also as it was early season there was little choice on offer of food, certainly no hot food for breakfast except a small plain omelette which look liked a small dollop of scrambled egg. However it was adequate. We hired bikes from the delightful Mickey Motors who were superb in allowing us to take two half days - something not normally offered this was due to the extremely wet weather we experienced whilst there. The beach is fantasti, long and very clean. The shops are limited, but cheap and friendly. Yes overall great value.

Room Tip: One not in the courtyard which faces other merce apartments from all 3 sides, makes it noisy when ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babebond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    288
    124
    51
    37
See reviews for
177
296
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

10 minute walk to beach and train station. Clean and welcoming hotel. Rooms basic but clean with plenty of hot water and good shower. Some balconies are quite small and some rooms don't get a good view but hey ho you can't have everything. We've been happy with selection of food at breakfast and evening buffet more than enough to choose from. Snack bar on roof terrace do lovely tuna mayo cobs along with other choices at reasonable prices. Two tier roof terrace with pool on top tier, great sun trap. Top tier has newer sun beds with good view over town with picturesque church right next door with the added touch of the hourly church bells ringing...lovely. Didn't see any of the entertainment but have heard it is always good! Staff friendly and helpful. We chose this hotel as a base to travel by train to Barcelona...good choice 3* at least for 2* prices don't be afraid to book it unless your expecting 4/5* then I suggest your looking on the wrong page.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19Sheppard61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Arrived at the hotel mid afternoon and were dealt with at reception by pleasant staff who informed us that you have to pay a tax of 50 cents per person per night so as there were 2 of us a total of 7 euros for the week and we also booked a safe in the room 20 euros plus 10 euros returnable deposit, we were allocated a room on the third floor with a balcony overlooking the road just as I had requested. The room was small and could do with a makeover but was perfectly acceptable and the balcony had a table and two chairs.
The swimming pool is on the top floor and is surrounded by sunbeds and on the slightly lower part of the roof is a snack bar with tables and chairs in the shade and further sunbeds, what was nice about this was what children there were stayed around the pool and you could sunbathe in relative peace and quiet,
We had only booked bed and breakfast which was from 8 to 10 and the dining room was modern and spacious and is self service, it takes a while to find out where everything is but there is plenty of choice, fried food, cold meats and cheese, pastries, fresh fruit, fruit juices, cereals etc etc the hot food was warm rather than hot as other people have mentioned but I took advantage of the microwave oven (40 seconds on maximum) and everything was piping hot.
Every evening at 10 there was cabaret in the bar, flamenco dancing, a musical trio etc a nice way to finish of the day. For the price we paid for B&B it was excellent value and would have no problem returning

Room Tip: Third floor as you have no one above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simmobas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Ok just back from a weeks stay at this hotel,ok the positives first

1 hotel clean
2 close to the town square and beach
now the negatives.
1 very small rooms and very basic
2 constant noise till late from the church opposite the hotel
3 the lock on the outside grill of my door was broken
4 the food was sometimes lukewarm
5 road works going on right outside the hotel
6 you had to pay for drinks with your evening meal unlike in the morning??
7 the restraunt manager was very surly if you refused to have a paid for drink with your eveing meal,he mutterd something in spanish when I said I didnt want a drink and looked cheesed off.
8I was on the second floor ovelooking the small square on level 1 and the noise from the hotels entertainment was off putting
9 and finaly the walls are paper thin you can here everything from the neighbours.

I know some people will say you get what you pay for but sorry I wont be using this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: dont use this hotel if you want to get some sleep at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billycotton17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pineda de Mar hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
essex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just back from a week at the Hotel Merce. It was such a cheap deal, approx £10 per person per day for bed, breakfast and evening meal !!!! Our expectations were fairly low as it was so cheap and reviews were a bit hit and miss but I have to say we were very pleasantly surprised.
The hotel itself was very clean. All public areas were nice, marbled floors etc. The rooms themselves were a little bit tired but our bed was comfortable and the shower was powerful with plenty of hot water. The food in the restuarant was fine. Breakfast included cereals, fruit, pastries as well as cooked bacon, sausage, egg and beans. There was a coffee and fruit juice machine as well as a toaster. Dinner was a bit hit and miss for me. There was always plenty of choice but nothing was labelled and so a couple of night I stuck to salads. There was a different fish every night and various meat dishes most of which were in some sort of sauce. The desserts were lovely though. The chef cooks throughout service and so everything appeared to be very fresh. The hotel put on entertainment every evening in the bar, which wasn't fantastic but at least it's better than nothing. I have been in hotels where the bar has zero ambience as there is nothing going on and no one in there. All in all we were very happy. Our only negative was the bin men that arrived at about 1am every morning to empty bins right outside our balcony ! It took a bit of getting used to !! Others in the hotel told us that they also had an issue with noise either from the lifts or music from the bar. The walls are not particularly thick but it's such a small thing really.

All in all we would recommend this hotel as great value. Pineda de Mar is a nice little town. Fairly quiet though. Don't go here if you are looking for night life as there really isn't any ! We got a train from the airport which was easy and cheap. Took about an hour and half. Would we return? yes, so long as the price was right.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a balcony and some have bad views. We were on the 3rd floor which was ok. Tip, ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baileybonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Just returned from this hotel 8th June 2013.my wife and I enjoyed a fantastic week at this hotel,the staff were great and very helpful,a great location and back too true Spain.great place too spend a relaxing week,don't look at all the reviews and think this is a cheap and cheerfull hotel,go and enjoy a great hotel that does not deserve the 2 star rating it has.another star at least would be a true reflection of this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maxpurdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Booked a cheap holiday. The staff were all friendly, the room was basic, but clean.

Reading other reviews there are concerns about safety of possessions. The safe was not working and we did leave our items in the room but nobody noted anything missing. Maybe one bad apple in the hotel no longer there.

Food was good considering it is a 2* hotel. I've stayed in many 3/4* hotels that would offer something similar.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isti190586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pineda de Mar hotels
0.3 mi away
Sumus Hotel Stella &Spa
Sumus Hotel Stella &Spa
#3 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aqua Hotel Promenade
Aqua Hotel Promenade
#2 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Taurus Park Resort
Golden Taurus Park Resort
#1 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sorrabona Hotel
Sorrabona Hotel
#6 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sabiote
Hotel Sabiote
#7 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.5 mi away
H.TOP Pineda Palace
H.TOP Pineda Palace
#4 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Merce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merce

Property: Hotel Merce
Address: c/ Antoni Doltra, 2, 08397 Pineda de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Pineda de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Pineda de Mar
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pineda de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Merce 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three stars family hotel located in Pineda de Mar, a tipycal quiet catalan coast village located in Costa de Barcelona, very near Barcelona and the Costa Brava beaches. Free Wi-fi in comoon rooms.Enjoy our panoramic swiming-pool. Daily night entertainment.During July and August free animation program (beach, canoes, children activities, etc.). All rooms with bath&shower, balcony, hair dryer and balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Merce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merce Hotel Pineda De Mar
Merce Pineda De Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing