We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more could the kids ask for?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Taurus Park Resort
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Pineda de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2009

Having originally planned to go to Cornwall for the week, a late change of plan resulted in our first holiday abroad for 7 years and the first with children.
Enter The Golden Taurus Park Resort.
I have always been a British holiday type of person but this hotel has gone a long way to convince me that families can have fun and above all safe holidays abroad.
Ok, where to start? First impressions of the hotel from both my wife and myself was a beautiful and impressive reception/lobby area. You get the feel there is plenty to explore and the general feel is one of happiness. There are staff in abundance (although not intrusive) both at the reception desk and the welcoming sight of Thompson blue t-shirt wearing reps who always greet you with a smile.
4 outdoor pools on offer, 2 on the 'main' side which always seemed a little too busy for us and always had the older kids playing there. The other 2 were on the reverse side of the hotel (through the lounge area on the way to the snack bar) and were much more suited to younger kids (ours are 6 and 3) one pool was just above knee height and the other started at your ankles and ended up a little short of 2m. We strongly recommend this area if you like a little more subdued sunbathing and its easier to keep an eye on your young ones.
The snack bar is well priced, never packed and the pizzas are superb.
We were half board and found the food to be plentiful and of a good standard. I never saw a tray of food become empty before it was topped up again.
At times you can feel like its a bit of a free for all to get around the dining area but if you leave it until about 45 mins after it opens then you can enjoy a lot more freedom.
There was a daily change of out-in-the-open cooked fare which ranged from: Steak to chicken kebab. This was situated on the opposite side of the room to where you walk in.
Breakfasts were as you would expect ranging from continental to fry ups with a generous helping of fruit and cereals placed neatly in between.
Evening entertainment for the kids carries on to what would normally be passed bedtime for our 2 but even after long hot days of strenuous arm band weilding paddling fun they still found the energy to dance and be captivated by the ever changing shows on offer. From dogs walking on 2 feet, Flamenco dancers with tattooed smiles and an Abba tribute act - the entertainment always seemed to go down well with everyone.
I could go on and on about how good the kids clubs were, how friendly and helpfull everyone was and the experience as a whole but by now you should have guessed that I cant fault the week we spent on the Costa Brava in the Golden Taurus.
As an aside Ill mention some of the outer hotel experiences.
The beach in the evening is stunning, sitting looking over the sea as the sun sets behind you lights the sky with an array of colour thats as fitting in a water colour as it is in true life.
Check out a train ride to Barcelona. less than 7 euros each and the journey puts English equivalents firmly in the shade both in comfort and cost.
A step out onto the seafront and a 5 minute walk to the left and you will find a street where you can buy your tacky presents, tea towels and fake handbags alongside your castinets and fans.
A trip to marine land was 50/50. Excellent Seal-lion and Dolphin shows and an ok Bird show. We have done this sort of thing in Portugal which we found better as there everything was explained in Portuguese and English, Marineland is 99% Spanish, the 1% English is when they tell you you can buy a DVD of the shows in the gift shop.
Maybe Im being harsh as our day out co-incided with numerous school trips there which resulted in just about every child in Northern Spain desending on the water park in the afternoon.
One place you must check out is a little pub which is situated outside the rear entrance of the hotel. As you leave the rear entrance you will see a sign in front of you pointing to Pepe's Restaurant. Its quiet and under tress which gives a lovely environment to enjoy a drink. If you do go tell the lovely curly haired English manageress that Bev and Gary sent you.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gazman1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,104 - 1,110 of 1,551 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2009

This hotel is fantastic, got back today after a weeks stay, i'm 27, my partner 29 and daughter 4, this hotel is amazing for families, its got everything, pool tables, x-boxes, internet terminals, games machines, teddy grabber, mini golf, mini zoo (goats, terrapins, peacocks etc), playground, tennis court, football court, the pools are great, kids club excellent, day and night entertainment excellent, food excellent, room was great with pool and beach view, the bar has all the sport on, football, rugby, F1 etc, beach on doorstep, we found all the staff very helpful and polite, maid service every day, kids disco starts at 7.30pm then adult shows start at 10pm, Pineda itself is fairly quiet but lovely, the train service is really good value (station short walk), we went to Barcelona for 14 euros return, kids under 6 go free, Marineland is a great day out (free bus) Calella is nice and also Santa Susanna next door, we also went to Lloret and went on a glass bottom boat, we would definately return to this hotel and recommend to anyone, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WillandGraceWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

We arrived back in on Saturday but wish we were still at the Golden Taurus Park Hotel. The whole atmosphere at the hotel is friendly and not enough could be done to please the guests. This goes from the hotel staff and the Thomson Holiday Advisor's (reps). The room we stayed in was big enough for the three of us. Lets face it you don't want to stay in your room all holiday. Maid service every day and we cannot fault the standard of the maid. I do not understand the comments of CheshireFly as we stayed at the hotel at the same time and we found the food to be excellent. The resort of Pineda de Mar is quiet and very low key but Calella is only a 20 minute walk away.Overall we had a good time and would go back at the drop of a hat.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul Murphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2009

Stayed late May -- 3rd June, 2 adults & 2 children. Was very wary of staying here, as we don't go for large hotels, but need not have worried. Family room nice size, 2 singles as you enter room and another room for parents, so you had some privacy. Very clean, maids work very hard to keep up high standards, rest of hotel really clean too. Tv is in first bedroom also only mirror on wall is in here too. Only 2 sockets, 1 in bathroom, 1 in bedroom so not ideal if you take straightners with short leads. We were all very impressed with the food, , breakfast and evening meals, very varied and really tasty, really good selection of cold,& hot buffet, grilled meats, pasta, desserts amazing, icecream too, lovely choice of cheese, breads & fruit. No complaints at all. Word of warning though, don't be late for your evening meal as we were one night, you will be refused. Pools great & cleaned every night, with funny robot machine. Chidrens' entertainment really good and adult evening shows really fab. Resort in itself quite, not too much going on, but we like it that way. Metro/ Train service very good value and on time. Would go again in few years time, but recommend this hotel to any one with families. Only negative point, did not find bar or resturant staff at all friendly, even when you tipped staff at bar. Reception staff & Thomson staff very helpful & friendly. Go to the Marine park, it was worth every penny to see the dolphins & seals performing.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rani2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2009

Went here for a 3 day break
Accomadation.
We were given a cupboard for a room with no view whatsoever, weel to be honest there was a view, it was a wall 2 feet away from the balcony door. We asked to be moved straight away, they moved us after a bit of moaning to a room facing the train line and beach, this was a nice room, very dated and bland.
Food.
Terrible,Terrible,Terrible. Not kidding it was awful, we went for our evening meal to fing very poor quality food, it tasted like crap. Teh meat they used for the the meals were very cheap cuts of meat, the chef`s did not even empty or remove the trays with look warm food on, they just poured the next on top of the it and mixed it up. I left still hungry.
Breakfast.
Just as bad as the meals, look warm, eggs like rubber bacon cold and fatty sausages awful, poeple who were eating the food ( now i am not a snob ) they must be used to very low quality food.
NEVER NEVER book this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CheshireFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2009

Me (60) my child (12) and my wife (49) all went and we all think the same. We arrived at about dinner time so we went to the restaurant and had a beautiful meal before we went to our room and unpacked and the room views were stunning. If you walk down to pineda there are some nice gift shops and some great English bars on the front and on friday ther a brilliant marcket about a mile long. In the hotel there are activities going on all the time and my son made some friends at the briliant kids club. Dont listen to the people who say the food is bad its beautiful there is a wonderful choice and some absolutely beautiful desserts my son filled his plate an cleared it every day an we sometimes even went back for more. We took a trip to barcelona and the nou camp and the aquarium was a let down but the zoo is amazing. Overall best holiday weve been on and we'll be going back again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mentalgav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2008

We arrived quite late, just after 11pm so went straight to the room and unpacked. However come the morning we were not disappointed. The view was amazing. Directly over the pool with sea views to the left - better than the brochure (and we all know that never happens!).

Miserable old toad in the room next door clearly didn't realise this was supposed to be a family hotel but still you can't have everything.

The entertainment team were amazing. Both the Thomson team and the Hotel team. The only criticism was there was so much going on that if you hadn't written out a schedule you missed the stuff the kids really wanted to do.

One tip, if you leave the hotel turn left not right! Right is a long way to Calella and not alot to see - left takes you through to Pineda De Mar and the market on the Friday is fab!

If you go out of season check ahead for Port Aventure - most of it was closed and we were unaware it was a two and half hour trip from Pineda! Not great!

The disapointing thing for me was the food - it started quite mediocre and deteriorated massively over the week. I know it's the end of the season but it's still disapointing when you have a normally not fussy 7 year old refuse to even eat the chips! My husband actually refused to go down for dinner on the last three days as it smelt of cooking fat. Thumbs down on this.

Overall, brilliant holiday for the kids - just wish it'd been self catering!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blakey33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pineda de Mar
0.5 mi away
Aqua Hotel Promenade
Aqua Hotel Promenade
#3 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
464 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sumus Hotel Stella &Spa
Sumus Hotel Stella &Spa
#4 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
576 reviews
0.7 mi away
ALEGRIA Pineda Splash
ALEGRIA Pineda Splash
#1 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
H.TOP Pineda Palace
H.TOP Pineda Palace
#6 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
734 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Volga
Hotel Volga
#1 of 43 in Calella
517 reviews
2 mi away
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
#3 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Taurus Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Taurus Park Resort

Address: Passeig Maritim 33, 08397 Pineda de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Pineda de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pineda de Mar
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pineda de Mar
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pineda de Mar
Price Range: $81 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Taurus Park Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 488
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Taurus Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Taurus Park Hotel Pineda De Mar
Hotel Golden Taurus Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing