We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pensioners paradise-in the nicest possible way!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
H.TOP Pineda Palace
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Pineda de Mar
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Having travelled to this part of Costa Brava [Catalonya] many times over the past 20+ years, I have seen the quiet coastal town of Pineda De Mar grow and improve, taking the best of tourism requirements and still retaining their fiercely protected traditions. I find it odd that some travellers to this part of the world are surprised when no one speaks English and everything is Spanish! Hello! IT IS SPAIN! Whilst I am also VERY OLD now-being 52 [!], I was only in my late twenties when I first happened upon this beautiful coast and have brought all my children here, initially 18months old, 5yrs and 7yrs. Essentially, unless your prepared to entertain your children yourself [play on the beach, swim, take a train ride, visit interesting historical places etc] , you need to visit this part of Catalonya in high season, when all the hotels, bars etc are open and the "kiddies clubs" will be flourishing, as from October to end May there will only be the "local" bars, cafes and restaurants and a couple of the larger hotels that cater for mainly older travellers. The reason why there are many retired Catalonian and Spanish guests at Pineda Palace [and other similar hotels] is due to the excellent government policy of providing a greatly subsidised 2week vacation, annually, all inclusive, for their valued older community. In my opinion its a great pity the UK government doesn't value it's retired people to the same extent.
The card systems have had to be adopted, sadly, because of unscrupulous travellers who either try to get a table full of drinks at one go and proceed to get very inebriated and/or sneak "free" drinks to others who aren't on All Inclusive or don't even belong to the hotel! One card ensures they log the "sale" on their till, the drink card ensures only 1 drink at a time. Photo ID is now required due to the need for increased security and ensuring guests can be identified in cases of emergency or, unfortunately on odd occasions of dishonesty.
Pineda Palace offers a great variety of well prepared, cooked and served food, concentrating on all the healthy and local ingredients and menus and as with most "All inclusive" deals-imported and international drinks have to be paid for separately, but my husbands bottle of Magners only cost 3euros, which is a great discount from the usual £4.50/£5 he pays in the UK. There are free snacks available when breakfast is finished and a few other items that you can choose to purchase or not.
The rooftop pool is cold but once in it you soon warm up and the view is fabulous. There is also a lovely sauna, drench shower and Jacuzzi which you can have all to yourself and free-if you're all inclusive. The only minor disappointment for us was that the free bikes weren't fixed yet-and as everyone knows, out of season, it can be case of manana, manana[!] but at least the workers are less likely to have a heart-attack through rushing around chasing their tails as we do in the UK!
I've just returned from a 9 night stay which I got at a very good price, after checking a number of the usual websites-in total with return flights, private taxi transfers and AI-just over £650 for us both [£325 each is fantastic-we couldn't have similar stay in UK for that].
If you like to mingle with the locals, enjoy history, sightseeing or chilling on the beach, don't be put off trying Pineda De Mar and the really excellent Pineda Palace Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kathryn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (731)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 731 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014

It's where nanas go to knit shredded wheat.

The Hotel is geared towards the more mature travelers and the resort is, well it has a bar and a pizza restaurant and, and oh and a train station where you can travel to somewhere more exciting.

The Hotel is clean, the service at the bar is not great especially with their mystifying card for a glass system and separate card for a drink system, which means you are constantly ferrying to and from the bar for your small glass of beer. Food can be cold but there is a microwave tucked at the back of the restaurant if you need to heat it up.

Would I go back?, yes maybe in 30 years or so.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed From Monday 17th- Sat 23rd March With my partner and my 1 year old daughter. Firstly this is not the type of hotel to bring young children!! There was absolutely nothing for her to do there and they had a children's room which she wasn't allowed to use we went there to check what was in there and found a man sleeping in the middle of the floor. My partner and myself are a young couple and the guests that were there was OLD (45+) and absolutely no1 spoke English. The guests however we're very friendly towards us and loved my little girl they played with her and we're lovely but just didn't understand each other. When we arrived at the hotel our details wasn't on their system so we had to wait a while to prove that we're had reservations from this hotel. They took our pictures upon arrival as a hotel "policy" and had to wait 30 for a room. We were given 6 cards; 2 for the room, 2 for drinks and 2 for food & drink. The drinks policy was a load of S**t we stayed all inclusive but not everything was all inclusive you still have to pay for certain snacks cocktails drinks ect . In order to get a drink you have to do an exchange for a card this was at the bar. However in the restaurant having a little girl with us we wasn't allowed soft drinks after breakfast nor was we allowed to bring soft drinks from the bar into the restaurant so it was either fizzy or nothing! The food was either horrible or cold we Ate chips throughout the whole stay until we decided to go to a mcDonalds 20 mins walking distance or 5 mins in car away from the hotel. The location as for beAch was great however was abit annoying because of the train and where our room was located. The noise always woke us up!! 1 train stop to calella was where you would want to visit there's or a hour away from Barcalona where we had KFC Burger King McD Starbucks Chinese Zoo Aquarium tour busses, Zara h&m Lacoste primark ect it was €19.50 or €120 in taxi!!! Some staff were friendly as for the main guy at the reception he was rude and unhelpful especially cos the company we booked with messed up our transfers we had to get train when we phoned the hotel for help he was huffing and puffing who knew he could blow a house down! Rooms we're clean hotel was clean food was horrible just so glad to be home! Never returning again. Everyone and everything was Spanish defo not for me! Will not be returning

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MTAJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Booked this break from 4th - 8th March 2014. All Inclusive, we are a couple in their 50's.
On arrival we were greeted by a very helpful and knowledgeable young man at reception. Our room was lovely, clean, tidy and with a super large TV. Bathroom was really a good size too which can sometimes be a bit of an issue. Food at all times was lovely, typical Spanish Fayre but all excellent with a wide variety to choose from. Entertainment on throughout and all staff were really friendly and helpful. Rooms cleaned faithfully every morning. Roof top terrace was just what the doctor ordered for the lovely weather we had. All in all and excellent break away and very reasonably priced. No issues with people over indulging and causing problems. We will certainly go back, as we had a really great chilled time, homeward bound with batteries recharged and a BIG thank you to all the staff who made this an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RachelM671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times but the food is not as good this time.On the last night they closed this hotel and took us to the Calella Palace hotel which was full of school children and it was to noisy.It was a good job it was for one night.We will not be going to the Pineda Palace again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
Thank Barrie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Clean mordern rooms. good entertainment. lovely food, great variety. friendly helpful staff. great pool with lovely rooftop views. sauna and jacuzzi facilities. Clean and fresh bathrooms.literally across the road from the beach.

Overall for the price this was a wonderful hotel and I cannot praise the staff enough. We had a lovely relaxed stay. Only draw back maybe that the guests are mostly of a senior nature but having stayed at the Htop in lloret de mar (gran royal casino) where the guests were drunken teens, I much prefered the relaxed atmosphere here.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coco1baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Pineda Palace is a lovely hotel, close to beach and shops.
The entrance is very impressive indeed, and the hotel boasts a host of facilities.
Staff are very helpful and friendly, and the room was cleaned every day.
We had a superior room with a large balcony, complete with sun loungers.
The restaurant catered for all tastes, and was buffet type self service.
Steak was excellent as was the salad bar.
Breakfast was again buffet style, and even Cava was available.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone, close to beach, shops and excursions.
The only improvement would be that the food could be slightly warmer, apart from that I would go again and again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank claudio c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pineda de Mar
1.9 mi away
H.TOP Calella Palace & Spa
2.0 mi away
H.TOP Amaika Superior
H.TOP Amaika Superior
#12 of 43 in Calella
1,399 reviews
2.0 mi away
H.TOP Royal Sun
H.TOP Royal Sun
#13 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aqua Hotel Promenade
Aqua Hotel Promenade
#3 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
458 reviews
9.0 mi away
H.TOP Royal Beach
H.TOP Royal Beach
#77 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
2,101 reviews
0.3 mi away
ALEGRIA Pineda Splash
ALEGRIA Pineda Splash
#1 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H.TOP Pineda Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H.TOP Pineda Palace

Address: Passeig Maritim 9, 08397 Pineda de Mar, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Pineda de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pineda de Mar
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pineda de Mar
Price Range: $46 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H.TOP Pineda Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star superior H·TOP Pineda Palace Hotel enjoys a privileged position on the Pineda de Mar beach facing the sea, approximately 10 minutes from the centre of the resort. Pineda de Mar offers a great choice of entertainment, restaurants and shops. The modern 194-room HTOP Pineda Palace Hotel presents you with glorious views across the beach and azure Mediterranean and provides comfort and hospitality for a fine holiday. Relax and unwind with great food and drink, rooftop swimming poolfor adults and children, sun terrace with loungers and parasols, spa facilities as a Jacuzzi and sauna. The H·TOP Pineda Palace offers a full daily and evening entertainment programme. The more active can work-out in the gym, engage in the daily activities and sports fun, and seek out external water sports and other pursuits. Guests staying on All Inclusive can hire bikes & quadricycles free of charge.Transfer to Girona or Barcelona Airport available (charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your H.TOP Pineda Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pineda Palace Top Hotel
Top Hotel Pineda De Mar
Top Pineda Palace
Pineda De Mar Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing