We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (602)
Filter reviews
602 results
Traveler rating
200
289
70
23
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
200
289
70
23
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course value for money great view swimming pool costa brava my opinion high quality large balcony beautiful area junior suite excellent hotel golf hotel cakes bacon first class worth a visit mini bar
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 602 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2018 via mobile

This is a great Double Tree. The spa is very good but could do with some work. The room was large and very clean. The view was AMAZING with very large windows.
Breakfast was really good with a great selection of food.
Evelyn was so helpful and a pity she isn't on the front counter as she speaks great english.
If you want to watch TV there are NO ENGLISH SPEAKING channels. This is the first hotel we have ever encountered. Not even subtitles! The hotel should look at getting that changed, although we read the reviews before we came and a lot of people pointed that out.
All in all though the positives outweighed the negatives.
The golf course was very good too.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank shapeyourworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreu V, Director General at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Emporda, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2018

Dear chelde,

First of all I would like to thank you for your recent visit. It is nice to see you enjoyed the views from your room, we all know it is one of our main strengths.
I would also like to thank you for your kind words to Evelyn, who is working everyday to deliver her best service.
We look forward to see you again, hopefully it will be soon.
Kind regards,

Andreu Viladevall
Andreu.Viladevall@Hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2018 via mobile

Have stayed for a 3 night break at this little gem of a hotel. The room had a large balcony with views over the golf course, a perfect location for some much needed r & r. A lovely little haven in the middle of nowhere, staff were friendly and attentive, food was delicious and very reasonably priced as to were the drinks. The spa facility was a nice added benefit to the stay. Will definitely be back and would highly recommend if you are after somewhere to escape to.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank lap247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreu V, Director General at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Emporda, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2018

Dear lap247,

We appreciate so much you chose us for your stay in Empordà. We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words referring the staff and their work. They are making their best every day to reach our guest expectations so we are more than happy to see that we are on the good way. Reviws like yours are challenging us for the immediate future to deliver our next guests the best experience we can provide them.
We are looking forward to see you again, hopefully it will bee soon.
Kind regards,

Andreu Viladevall
Andreu.Viladevall@Hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2018

We stayed here for 3 days as part of a 10 day trip to Spain. Booked the hotel as we just wanted to escape and relax and do not a lot. It was a fantastic stay, ambience was first class, breakfast and evening meal was amazing and great value. I really cannot fault the hotel...only error i made was not booking it for longer and as it was fully booked could sneak any extra time here...

I will most definitely be back again!

Room tip: Golf course view with mountains in distance. All have good size balconies.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DazRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreu V, Director General at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Emporda, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2018

Dear DazRoss,

I would like to thank you on behalf of the entire team for your recent visit. We are truly amazed to read you enjoyed so much your stay with us and you could benefit from the calm and peace we breathe here in Empordà.
We are looking forward to see you soon in the near future, this next time for some more days.
Kind regards,

Andreu Viladevall
Andreu.Viladevall@Hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2018

Another great stay at this nice quiet and located around superb surroundings hotel. Staff were great as usual always willing to help and seemed to be there working many hours which must wear them down. I do agree in some other reviews there could be some decorative improvements to tidy things up but to be fair what you get for your money as in the location, peaceful setting and relatively sound proofed suites I don't know if there is much room to complain. Quality of food in the restaurant also seemed pretty good to us. It is advisable to have a car if you are staying here as you cannot just easily walk into town (although I did but can be a bit nervy!). We always find the people in this area ever so welcoming and friendly and look forward to another visit in the future. I would recommend the suites as you get a load of space and a hydro bath which me being so tall can actually fit in to! Sometimes hotels are let down by other guests but not much we can do about these things, we had some loud 'Benidorm' type below us who seemed to be shouting quite loud which could be heard outside in the balcony, kind of disturbs one peace. All in all we were again pleased with our choice to stay here again. Thank you Andreu & team!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superraxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreu V, Director General at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Emporda, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2018

Dear Superraxx,

On behalf of the entire team I would like to thank you for visiting us again and again through the years and also for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor comunity.
We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay here in Empordà. Thank you for your kind words to our staff it is very much appreciated as they work really hard to deliver everyday their best.
We can not wait to see you next time, hopefully it will be sooner this time.
Kind regards,

Andreu Viladevall
Andreu.Viladevall@Hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2018 via mobile

Just got back from staying at this hotel for 7 nights. Had a great time. Here is a honest and constructive review.

The hotel is set in a beautiful setting surrounded by mountains and beautiful countryside but on driving up to the hotel it does rather look like a prison. A very unattractive building!

Walking into the hotel you are greeted with a nasty smell rather like musky dampness. I do think there is a drain problem somewhere. Hilton please invest in some air freshener / fragrance as this is the first impression of the hotel or just sort out the source of this smell!

Welcome at reception was warm and friendly and very efficient

Our room on the second floor had a lovely view of the golf course and had a large balcony with nice chairs to sit and relax and sit and enjoy the peace and quiet. Room was spotlessly clean and spacious. The bathroom was just perfect. We had both a shower and a large jacuzzi bath. Just ask for bathrobes as they are not provided in your room when you arrive.

Breakfast was good. A nice spread to suit most tastes but make sure you get there well before 10.30 - they say they serve until then but really they mean they pull the curtain across and want to pack up then. You can eat on the lovely terrace overlooking the golf course which was really nice but I agree with a previous review that people were smoking all around us. This seems to be a Spanish way as we found this in many of the cafes and restaurants - outside means you can smoke where you like. Hilton, the terrace is large enough to separate it half and half to keep everyone happy.

The outside pool was lovely and we sat outside in the sunshine. We used the spa once during our stay. The jacuzzi was lovely and large but could of been hotter. There is a nice steam room and sauna also.

We had lunch in the hotel restaurant and this was excellent. Much better than the usual Hilton hotel food. Top marks to the chef.

WiFi in our room was dreadful. The only place we could get a signal was sitting on the toilet!

No English speaking channels on the tv which was slightly disappointing as I like to keep up with the news whilst away and couldn’t either watch on the tv or read on my phone.

So many lovely places to visit close by. Beautiful beaches and old quaint towns to explore. We have fallen in love with Begur which was a 15 min drive from
Hotel. Great bars and restaurants. A really lovely place to walk around during the day or in the evening.

All in all a great hotel. Perfect for golfers and for exploring this lovely region of unspoilt Spain.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Happyplace1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreu V, Director General at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Emporda, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2018

Dear Happyplace1963,

On behalf of the whole team I would like to thank you for your recent visit. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to share with our future guests reading here in TripAdvisor about your experince while staying with us. We are more than happy to see you enjoyed your stay and the sorroundings of where we are located.
I take all your comments to review and improve for your next visit, hopefully in the near future.
Kind regards,

Andreu Viladevall
Andreu.Viladevall@Hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews