We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best bar in Estartit !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Harvey's Bar

Harvey's Bar
Ranked #6 of 83 Restaurants in L'Estartit
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Diner, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: You won't find a better watering hole in the area and thanks to the fabulous but ever so slightly mad staff, you'll be thoroughly entertained! Harvey's is an Anglo/American Diner filled with memorabilia. The perfect place to enjoy a meal and drinks with it's relaxed ambience. You will find the staff funny, attentive and friendly even if you come alone you will be made to feel welcome with the relaxed atmosphere. Quite simply, you may arrive as a customer but you will leave as a friend. Still reading and want to know more....excellent! Open from May until October we are located just off the beach front, close to the harbour and the main shopping area. A terrific sun terrace filled with flowers means you can sit back, relax and truly enjoy the setting. Feeling hungry? ....... You will be spoilt for choice with our superb and varied menu famous for its tasty and generous portions....just leave room for one of our delicious desserts! We also have a varied children's menu for the little ones if you can drag them out of our great Kids Room! Whatever your nationality, whatever your age, whatever your needs, we believe we have got it just right here at Harvey's for a truly memorable experience! WE LOOK FORWARD TO SEEING YOU
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best bar in Estartit !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Joe & Gemma are excellent hosts in this fantastic bar, whether you pop in for a quick 'clara' after an afternoon at the beach, a Roast on a Sunday in the winter or an evening on the terrace in the summer. The burgers are the best I've ever had and I can't wait until August for our next trip. Being going to Harvey's since 1997 and even with a chnage in owners the vibe of the place never changes, it's still an awesome place to eat & drink.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LouPye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    62
    23
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This bar rocks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled into Harveys as we were attrackted by the sign 'ice cold beer'. We quickly decided to have fajitas and ended up tasting all the cocktails the menu was advising. So a quick icecold beer became an evening till closingtime. And moreover, this ritual was repeated several times during our two week stay in L'estartit.
Why? Well, there is the food. Never dissapoints. From salades to burgers, fajitas to nachos and quesadillas and so much more. Than the drinks. They serve it all and it tastes goood. But most of all: the athosmphere, the staff... This (sometimes borderline nuts) group of people that calls themselves the Harvey Staff shows such an inspirational teamspirit that it is more fun to watch them, than the (live) sportshows on the plenty flats the place has put up. Sometimes the staff is a bit in chaos, and kitchenorders can get mixed up, but with a great smile and compassion they know how to recover.
Even if you are not British (which we as a mixed belgian/hungarian couple clearly are not) make sure to dedicate 1 evening of your stay at Harveys. Do it early enough during your stay, because you will want to go back!

To end i leave the staff with one suggestion: on the terras tables it may be considered to put a paper placemat when food is served. Make them flashy and funny so they go with the rest of the bar. The wooden tables, no matter how often cleaned, can be sticky sometimes.

And it is true what the website says: you make good friends in this bar!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GinoDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma H, Owner at Harvey's Bar, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your review...it has put a huge smile on my face this morning!
Our staff are indeed nuts and sometimes we do seem chaotic....I like to call this 'organised chaos'! This time every year we need staff....but we want the right staff so can sometimes appear to be understaffed while we try and get the next member for our team!

It is lovely to hear that people appreciate what we are trying to do here at Harvey's. We are a small bar (not restaurant) that has a warm atmosphere with staff that make our visitors feel welcome!
On top of this we aim to serve great food and drinks and it is great to hear you enjoyed what we do.

Thank you for you comment and your tips. We enjoy hearing feedback so we know what we can improve upon.

Hope to see you again in the future and a big hello from all of us at Harvey's Bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limerick
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Have visited this pub many times since 1999. Has never disappointed. Food has always been good and good value. Good atmosphere both day and night. Great place to watch sporting events with good TVs positioned both inside and outside the pub.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bpryan67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Estartit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

One word to describe HARVEYS and that word is "Awesome"! Our family have been coming to Estartit now for over 20 years & although we were aware of Harveys we only experienced it for the 1st time last year when picked out by my 2 sons. Why hadn't we found this little gem sooner! The hospitality is fantastic & the food is fab with massive portion sizes! I told my kids that we were going to Spain on the morning we were travelling & the first thing they asked was whether or not we were going back to Harveys! It was my oldest sons 11th birthday whilst we were away & the owner/staff were very accomodating & even allowed us to bring our own birthday cake to celebrate the occasion! The mexy burgers went down a treat and the kids wont stop talking about them. Certainly be back next year. "The Nutter Family"

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank R_Nutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“wrong day”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

After staying in barcelona for 4 days, my friend and i headed up to l'estartit for a week. on our first day sunday we went to harveys for brunch.the sign says good food served all day. the food was indeed good. we ordered simple fare. An omelette baguette and a very ordinary 2 eggs with chips. a very young waitress asked us if we didn't want sunday lunch as thats what they were serving. Her offer was politely refused.We should have known better as several tattoed gents had already gathered some with families in tow in anticipation of the brazil v engerlund game live at the maracana stadium. Fair enough, but 1 hour later when we had still not received our simple fair,i called the waitress over and asked her if she knew how long we had been waiting,she replied,very sorry sir but we only have one chef on today who was obviosly only cabable of serving sunday lunch.How many times have i heard this only one chef excuse in a restaurant. On a football match day.you would expect extra staff to be drafted in.Come on, an hours wait for egg n chips and a baguette.I'm now asking myself why i did indeed wait that long.The food on arrival was excellent.Shame! Bad day.Wrong day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bluesbuddah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma H, Owner at Harvey's Bar, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
As owner and chef here I cannot apologise enough that you did not enjoy your visit to us at Harvey's. During out of season, Sunday Roasts are very popular here at Harveys. Once the summer begins we stop doing the roasts as our full menu becomes very popular.
During football matches we get very busy but it is very uncommon to have such a wait on food especially on such a simple meal even though they are not on our menu. Also the football did not kick off till 9pm so we cannot use that as an excuse for such a delay on your brunch.
Again please except our apolgises
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvey's Bar also viewed

L'Estartit, Costa Brava
L'Estartit, Costa Brava
 
L'Estartit, Costa Brava
 
L'Estartit, Costa Brava
 

Been to Harvey's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing