We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice!”
Review of La Darsena

La Darsena
Reserve with
La Darsena is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 72 Restaurants in Suances
Price range: $29 - $53
Cuisines: Diner, Delicatessen, Seafood, Spanish, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Perseverance, tenacity, honesty and concern in the kitchen are the cornerstones by which governed the Dock Restaurant , which has allowed them to get the award recently conferred on them as full members of the Club de Calidad de Cantabria Infinita . Directed masterfully by Javier Collado Ruera, The Waterfront offers a compelling cuisine of the highest quality, where any product comes into the market , making proposals imaginative and delicious touches. With a dining room that seats 150 people, is distinguished by impeccable service , quality products and great value . Specializing in seafood in the area, enjoy great prestige and reputation its scallops, barnacles, scallops au gratin, risotto with foie gras and fresh squid of Santander, salted fish, lobster fried calamari, grilled octopus with potato foam and paprika, Cantabria and Mutton.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Hard to choose, when faced with several establishments that appear to be almost the same!! We chose this one for our lunch because it was BUSY! And why was it busy??? Because it's GOOD!!

In the midst of a hectic service, we were greeted warmly - a table and sun shade set up for us within no time. The menu is in Spanish only, so be prepared for that - however, even though we didn't ask her to, our waitress explained the menu to us in English anyway.

We had a simple lunch, but some of the tastiest food of our trip. Try the grilled octopus!! Wow.

Not cheap but not over priced. Nice location. Fast and friendly service on our visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bibs28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier C, Propietario at La Darsena, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2016
Google Translation

Estimado Cliente
Muchísimas gracias por su comentario.

Nos alegra saber que hemos cumplido con sus expectativas, trabajamos cada día para poder ofrecer lo mejor a nuestro clientes, tanto en servicio como en la calidad de nuestros productos.

Será un placer recibirles de nuevo en un futuro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 1,169 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012

there wasn't a table outside available, so they added another table to the sidewalk, and we hung out at the counter bar outside with a glass of wine while they set it up. it was ready before we were. menus in hand, they brought us a seafood tidbit to accompany our wine. the beef in cantabria is as good as the seafood, and my selection (Imperia...i think?) was a generous portion and not rare as I asked for, so I sent it back to the kitchen (nicely) and they cheerily brought me another cooked to perfection (extremely rare). the potatoes of my selection and one of friends were both done differently and creatively, The Paella was determined to be excellent by my companions. Desserts were just fine, coffee excellent, and at 20€ a head, an excellent value. We returned there 2 more times in a stay of just 7 days. the hostess was so friendly and made a point of recognizing us upon our returns. the sidewalk cuts down the middle of 2 rows of tables, so you are truly in the midst of the parade. i had fun. i ate well. value was excellent. p.s. don't expect to be able to read the menu if your spanish is not good.....it's all a good time

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lisa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

Great food and great service. It is very simple and no nonsense but probably one of the best restaurants I have been to in the world. It is one we always return to on each visit to Cantabria. I would recommend eating at the informal restaurant in the bar area rather than the formal restaurant at the back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alexjames75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier C, Propietario at La Darsena, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2016
Google Translation

Estimado Cliente
Muchísimas gracias por su comentario.

Nos alegra saber que hemos cumplido con sus expectativas, trabajamos cada día para poder ofrecer lo mejor a nuestro clientes, tanto en servicio como en la calidad de nuestros productos.

Será un placer recibirles de nuevo en un futuro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2010

The food was good, let's start with a positive. Not excellent but good. We were at our table for 4 hours and the reason for this was the terrible service. Arrogant, unfriendly, seemingly annoyed that we had disturbed them this Restauraunt should be avoided at all costs if you want a pleasent meal enjoyed at a reasonable pace. There are better restaurants around the corner on the beach. Terrible.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chasra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier C, Propietario at La Darsena, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2014

Thank you for your opinion Chasra.

I ask my sincerest apologies for the problems in our restaurant. Our service is distinguished by always giving excellent care . I fight it every day.

Please accept my apologies and visit us soon to prove it was an occasional error.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2009

I stayed with friends for a weekend in Suances and we were recommended this restaurant by the locals. It is not a cheap place (not very expensive either) but the quality of the food is amazing. The seafood is super fresh. All the food we tried was absolutely delicious. The service was very good in both the restaurant and the bar area. We strongly recommend it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Young_couple-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier C, Propietario at La Darsena, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2016
Google Translation

Estimado Cliente
Muchísimas gracias por su comentario.

Nos alegra saber que hemos cumplido con sus expectativas, trabajamos cada día para poder ofrecer lo mejor a nuestro clientes, tanto en servicio como en la calidad de nuestros productos.

Será un placer recibirles de nuevo en un futuro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Darsena also viewed

 
Suances, Cantabria
 

Been to La Darsena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing