We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Split decision”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Torres de Somo
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Somo
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Split decision”
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

New hotel above Somo, amidst the lonely residential/summer home sprawl of the residue of the boom times of the Spanish real estate frenzy. One of us found the place too faux, too corporate, and new materials (Pergo flooring etc) off putting. The other of us liked the amenities of a four star establishment after a week of lesser abodes, and liked the kind staff and lovely glassed-in breakfast room looking into the garden. A long fifteen minute walk to town, a couple of minutes to the beach on foot.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Greenway1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    51
    11
    5
    6
See reviews for
30
73
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warks
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is a stylish small hotel on the edge of Somo only fine minutes walk through woodlands and dunes down to a fantastic beach. The only down side is that you have to walk uphill to get back from the beach. The location is in a quiet residential area, but still within walking distance of the town centre, although once again its an uphill walk back. We had good food in both the restaurant and the bar and the breakfast choice was also good. The small outdoor pool and quiet garden area were an added bonus.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarksTravelplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Good hotel but a steep walk from the aweful concrete modern town with expensive restaurants charging well above their punching weight. Hotel room was comfortable, the staff were very helpful, we went on the ferry for a 20 minute ride to Santander. The beach is a 10 minute walk through a pine wood, lovely sandy beach but the waves are only suitable for surfers. We are a mature couple and were disappointed with Somo, though the hotel just about saved our 2 day
Stop there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Spent four nights at Torres and enjoyed it a lot. Reception is professional (English!) and kind. The rooms were not too spacy but very clean, well furbished with quite good beds (not that evident in Spain I must add), though there's no minibar. We were on the third floor and I would recommend asking not to be on the ground floor as that looks a bit more noisy, though the hotel is as quiet as its surroundings, being located outside of the busy tourist area. A stroll through the dunes brings you to a wide, sandy, clean beach. Breakfast is complete, tasty and fresh orange juice is served by a very friendly lady, makes your day starting well. The kids loved the swimming pool: not too large and not heated, but convenient. We found the value/price of the restaurant not ok and suggest to try one of the restau's in Somo. The bar though made up for it. All in all a very good experience and recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloppenburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We travel a lot but this hotel was really a special experience. Not because of it`s pretty rooms or the perfect beach. Not because of the good breakfast or the friendly staff! No, no - this is what you can expect from a recommended 4-star-hotel.

Really surprising was having diner with the President of Irland Michael D. Higgins sitting next to us. He spend his summer vacation in this hotel what is obviously the best recommendation for the Torres de Somo!

Funny is the glass floor in the 2nd floor!

We stayed 3 nights for swimming at the pretty beach. Santander is just 20 car minutes away or take the ferry. No complaints - everything was best!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KM66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

You come here not for the sun but for the waves. Little gem with its decor and especially the staff..friendly and especially cute at reception :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scaramic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Spent three nights here while touring northern Spain in May. We found the hotel to be very comfortable. Inside the hotel is much more modern that it looks from the outside. We were given a free upgrade to a junior suite which was very nice of the staff. The hotel has an outdoor swimming pool which we didn't use but it looked nice. The area is residential. In the center of Somo just where the bridge meets the town, on the left there is a car park. Its from here the ferry across to Santander leaves from. We used it all three days. Its very convenient to Santander centre at the other side and saves looking for car parking. Breakfast was good and plentiful. Staff were extremely nice and pleasant. Rooms very clean. All in all I'd definitely go back if I were in the area again.

Room Tip: The ferry into Santander is both a pleasant and economical way of getting there. 4 euros 70 cents re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelfastRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somo
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bemon Playa
Hotel Bemon Playa
#3 of 3 in Somo
89 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Estrella del Alemar
6.7 mi away
Chateau La Roca Hotel
Chateau La Roca Hotel
#14 of 32 in Santander
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Bahia Santander
Hotel Bahia Santander
#3 of 32 in Santander
1,211 reviews
4.8 mi away
Castilla Termal Balneario de Solares
15.2 mi away
Hotel Costa Esmeralda Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torres de Somo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torres de Somo

Property: Hotel Torres de Somo
Address: Barrio Arna s/n, 39140 Somo, Spain
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Somo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Somo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Torres de Somo 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Torres de Somo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing