We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious villa with a nice design”
Review of Playitas Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Playitas Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Spacious villa with a nice design”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We enjoyed our week in our villa, which is surprisingly spacious. The quality of the interior is good, and its handy with both dishwasher and washing machine/dryer. The only two things we were a bit annoyed with was the wifi capacity and the showers - not much water at all. The beds are comfy, fully functional kitchen and a nice outdoor area - even if they could paint the place again. Room service turn up every second day to get the place sorted.

The reason for going to this place is of course the sporting facilities. They are great. We rented Giant road bikes for a week, good bikes (Ultegra) - bring your own seat, but apart from that, good. The buffet is good, a bit too crowded of course at peak hours.

Room Tip: I would suggest to go for the villas, havn't tried anything else, but here you get some space an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baltzeberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    82
    17
    9
    1
See reviews for
91
42
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We spent a week at Las Playitas in early March to get some winter sun and some warm weather swim, bike and run training.

There were four of us in the villa and I really couldn't fault it, everything worked and the walk to the restaurant only took about 10 minutes at the beginning and end of each day.

The resort itself was fabulous with activities going on all day long. We swam each day (you need to pre-book a shared lane in the 50m pool) and rode out into the mountains most days. The running is mainly on the trails around the resort.

The buffet food is varied and of good quality.

The only issue all week was the wind - which never seems to go below about 20 mph and gusts up to 30 mph on a really blowy day. Whilst this made the 25 degree heat a bit more bearable around the villa and by the (private) pool it did make the cycling hard work :)

Room Tip: We had a villa right on the golf course which seems to be the best venue for a view of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamMackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

The rooms is spreed on 7 levels. There is a "minitram" and elevator (which takes time) to take you up and down, but the usual way is the stairs. We stayed on the 4th and had to climb 111 steps plus a bit to walk. That´s the negative side, but the view is beautiful! It meens a walk for breakfast and dinner.
You have both a shower and bathroom, practical for washing up wetsuits. Excellent flush and fast warm water in the shower. The beds are soft, it feels they made a lot of effort to get them good. Ok with storage, but a bit small with a bike in the room (not mension 2!). The balcony is a little tiny, but we didn´t use it for more the drying clothes. Large minibar for keeping food and water. A small telly with most german and spanish channels. Cleaning every day. The floors where cold during evenings and mornings, no heating, just AC. The bad thing is the internet which is useless and expensive all over the resort. If you can get hands on a router (deposit) it´s working fine, 60 euro for 2 weeks. Wifi in the reception.
If you like me are there only for training it was very practical, functional and good!

Room Tip: Second level top floor is good! Get more pillows straight away! Take our own cabel for the computer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank consa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The villas look fantastic on photos, and that seems to have been the primary concern when they built the place, because nothing really worked inside the house: the dishwasher could hardly open and didn't function, the dry tumbler was broken, the electric lock on the main door couldn't open, and the pool light didn't go on at night - and everything looked brand new; probably because these things never get fixed when you complain about - so they are practically unused.
The location is right next to the main road 10 minutes walk from the hotels and activity areas, and the garden areas are very exposed exposed. Cramming the villas between two roads is a mystery since there so much empty dessert space around.

Room Tip: Go for the hotel solution!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Per J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Las Playitas for two weeks in November 2013 and went solely on an active sports vacation as a single. The Playitas Resort is great for single's trips as there are a lot of group exercise opportunities scheduled, and you can just sign on for a fee. The rooms were kept spotlessly clean, and the sports facilities are all in good condition. I would recommend the board at the hotel. The kitchen staff at Playitas are true culinary heros, and the buffet is just overwhelmingly good. There's always a healthy choice, a good salad bar and several courses to choose from.

There's also a noticeboard in the Sports Bookings Office where you can advertise for partners for tennis, badminton, biking trips or other activities. The Resort rents decent equipment which is made available to rent after you pay €30 for a deposit card. This amount is refunded to you if you return all equipment in the shape you got it in.

I went on hiking trips in the nearby low mountains which have great paths. Some of the paths lead into quite remote areas, so it's a good idea to hike with someone or bring a phone just in case. There's a nice 75 minute hike across the mountain from the resort to the nearby town of Gran Tarajal if you need to do some shopping, although you can also grab the bus.

An associated business on the beach of the resort - Wellenreiter - rents kayaks and can be hired to teach upright paddling as well as surfing and catamaran (basic and advanced) courses. You can also rent the catamaran for an extended trip. The beach is in a cove with calm waters, and it's a great place to practice! Plenty of wind.

The hotel offers Wifi for €35 per week or €7.5 for one day. I was not impressed with this, as it's supposed to work from your rooms, but is so unstable it does not. You have to go to the reception area or the pool bar to get a decent connection. iPads and phones with weaker antennas are completely useless from your room. Laptops with good antennas can get intermittent connection. In any event, it's low bandwidth and you'll not be able to do much other than regular web browsing. You can rent a safe deposit box in your room for €2 per day.

The hotel's gym is well equipped. I'd recommend you try the Red Cord system (for rent) while you're there. It uses your own body weight to strengthen core muscles. I used the spa for a couple of sports massages to loosen up after long days of being active all day, and it's great. A massage runs between €45 and €60 depending on the type.

The only partial negative for the hotel was the wait staff in the restaurant for lunch and dinner. They are very friendly, but they have to both clear tables, put on clean table cloths, take orders for drinks - board includes juice or water in the morning, but no drinks for lunch or dinner - and bring drinks. In two weeks, I sat through 3 or 4 meals waving my arms to try to get a drink, but didn't manage to order until I was at dessert. There's something broken about the floor management when the restaurant is busy. Also, designated areas of set tables could not be used by guests, even when all 'allowed' areas were full. I never understood why, but you had guests with filled plates from the buffet being shown outside to the tables by the pool or asked to simply stand and wait for a free table, when there were perhaps 40 free and set tables in the restaurant not in use!!!! Very poor service.

All in all, I'd recommend the Playitas Hotel for anyone who wants to experience an active sports vacation in a hotel filled with like-minded people.

Room Tip: If you ordered board, dinner starts at 7:15 pm. That's rush hour. If you can wait until 8 pm, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thomas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Info: we were at the hotel! The room was always very clean and the location is close to the sea. The food in the restaurants was very good and they changed all day the menues. I think it's perfect for sporty types because it has a lot of different sport activities to do, for all others it will be nothing special. The personnel was very kindly and friendly. We had a good time there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SupraStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I have just spent 14 days Triathlon training, staying in the hotel and have to say i was very pleasantly surprised.The cleanliness, quality of the buffet food, amenities for training ( pool, gym, shops) are very good, and very well priced. The only negative comments I have are no free wifi and would repeat that the mattresses of the beds need to be of a higher quality.

The Olympic pool is excellent, the information provided for the cycle routes/training is also well prepared.... Although be warned, with the hills, heat and wind it can be challenging (road users are very respectful though).

For a training base or active family vacation, it will take some beating. Just be warned, for those who like to explore.... There really is very little nearby!

Room Tip: Booked a sea view junior suite(7406), good size and great views....the balcony is not large but gets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YorkshireViking7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Playitas
13.8 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,474 reviews
36.3 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Bristol Playa
13.4 mi away
Hotel Elba Carlota
Hotel Elba Carlota
#5 of 27 in Antigua
4,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Alameda de Jandia Aparthotel
Alameda de Jandia Aparthotel
#16 of 16 in Morro del Jable
203 reviews
14.1 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
16.9 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playitas Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playitas Villas

Property: Playitas Villas
Address: Urbanizacion Las Playitas s/n, 35629 Las Playitas, Tuineje, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Tuineje > Las Playitas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Las Playitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playitas Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located in the south-east of Fuerteventura in a picturesque bay and directly at a dark natural beach. The fisher village Las Playitas is at a few minutes walking distance. The next bigger village is Gran Tarajal with different shops, restaurants and bus connections. It is about 5 km away. The airport can be reached in 40 minutes by car. The Playitas Villas are the perfect choice for families and couples. Every villa has a hall with a small bathroom with shower and toilet, 2 bedrooms with a full-size bed and each one with an en suite bathroom, bathtub, shower and toilet, a fully equipped kitchen with fridge, cooker, dishwasher, coffee machine, microwave, a storeroom with washing machine and dryer, a living room with dining table, couch, and SAT-TV (flat screen), internet, safe and a garden with a private pool, terrace, pergola and outdoor furniture. Playitas Resort is on its way to become one of Europe's best sports resort. It offers a huge variety of sports activities: swimming, cycling, triathlon, golf, etc. And a huge sports program: aerobics, spinning, body toning, combat, aqua-aerobics, etc. Our facilities include: 700m2 gym, 50m Olympic pool, 18holes golf course with driving range and PGA golf academy, tennis courts, 2 multifunctional courts, bike centre (the bike centre is unbeatable with a choice of more than 200 bicycles such as racing bikes, fat bikes, time trial bikes and mountain bikes), volleyball field, and many more. Additionally, we also offer watersports, such as windsurfing, catamaran sailing, diving, etc. The villas can be booked with or without meals. Playitas Resort is the perfect choice for active holidaymakers, families, athletes and everyone who wants to enjoy vacations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Playitas Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Playitas Hotel Las Playitas
Playitas Villas Las Playitas, Fuerteventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing