We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in Formigal - for a ski trip, stay here!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fun Aragon Hills Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Formigal
Chester
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best hotel in Formigal - for a ski trip, stay here!!”
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Wow, what can I say except this hotel was almost perfect for us.

First the only a few small not so good points and then the many good ones.

The spa. It is of course $20 to use, which I knew beforehand so was expecting it. What I wasn't expecting was the cold water temperature in the pool, lack of a jacuzzi, time limit and closing for siesta from 2pm - 4pm. The wife doesnt ski and so I wanted to leave her in the hotel where she could use the spa whilst I hit the slopes.. but it was closed.

Only other thing was we booked a double room but the beds were two singles. This was not a huge problem though and the rest of the room was great.

T.V - cannot be changed to English even though it has cable. Flat screen T.V but an older model so it was only in Spanish.

Now for the good points and there are many.

View of the mountains - exceptional. From our room, dining room and bar area you can see all the mountains in the valley. Truely amazing.

Location - perfect. 2mins to the shops and a 15minute walk to the slopes. However, the hotel have 2 buses dedicated to take customers from the hotel to the base station / hire shops / bar building. The times that they will run the buses is flexible and you can request a lift from reception if you decide to sleep in or miss the 11am finish time.

Staff - so friendly, helpful and English speaking. When I left my wife at the hotel for the day the bar man Adrian looked after her all day, teaching her some Spanish words and always checking if she needed anything. I asked reception to mention to his boss that he did such a good job of looking after her, when we checked out.
The other staff were great too recommending which mountain to choose for snowboarding. On the mountain also, a guy working at the hut bar / burger place saw me looking at a piste map and gave me some good advice that you can use all 4 ski areas using the same lift ticket that you can buy at any of the base stations. Of course I was using Spanish as I live here but I think they can speak English as most people tend to in Spain.

Food - very good quality and selection. Breakfast is 7.30 - 10.30 so you can get up at 10 and still get a freshly cooked omlette.

All in all, I can't wait to go back and can't recommend it enough.

WIFI - free to use when you ask for a user name & password from reception. We could still get a signal from the 4th floor, which was great as it meant we could use our laptops in the room.

Room cleaning - the staff clean all day, so no matter waht time you put out the door hanger thing, they will come and clean the room. They are also very friendly, which is quite rare these days.. we were greeted with a smile as opposed to the usual scowl we are used to.

Great place, if you go to Formigal - use this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChesterLfc79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    95
    64
    26
    30
See reviews for
92
108
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South West
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Skiing in Spain was not our first choice, but we are really glad we did make the last minute decision to go to Formigal.
Aragon Hills is a great hotel, and would happily recommend it to everyone...we will be going back there next year. By far it was the best ski hotel we have stayed in, having skied in many resorts across Europe. The rooms were lovely and spacious, and cleaned on a daily basis. Our room had a fantastic view looking over the mountains, with a great little balcony.
The food at the hotel was pretty good, with a good chioce and was varied across the week. There was lots of healthy and unhealty options to choose from (e.g. lovely cakes at breakfast and desserts at dinner time!).
The bar area is fantastic, as it has a great view across the moutnains and was eally relaxed and comfortable. The prices were really reasonable (a glass of wine was 2.30 euros and a beer 3 euros).
We reluctantly paid 20 euros for the spa, but we loved evrey minute of it, and it is definately worth a visit after a long days skiing.
The skiing was great, and appeals to all levels of skier (except perhaps the excellent skier). The ski area is really well thought out, with the option of blue, red and black runs from any of the main lifts. The slopes were empty throughout the week, and even at the end of the week when it was a Spanish bank holiday, we only queued for a maximum of 10 minutes for a lift.
The hotel provides transport to and from the slopes. We never had to wait for a pick up or drop off, someone was always there. But, if we had had to wait there was an option of a free local bus that drops you off almost outside the hotel.
Overall, a great skiing holiday, and we will definately be going back next year.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Well_travelled35_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brum
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Stayed in this hotel toward the end of the 2009/2010 ski season. Hotel was very clean, well equipped, well staffed - I have not a bad word to say. Staff in the hotel were all very professional, helpful and cheerful. There were enough english speaking staff that communication should not be a problem and those that spoke no english were happy to endure my attempts at speaking spanish!

Food was excellent. A minor let down is the buffet style which means that the food is left to stand out for a while. However, you would not be able to have the sheer variety if dishes were prepared to order, nor would you necessarily be able to return for a 2nd helping of the stuffed squid etc.

shuttle service from the hotel to the ski station was efficient. The driver even took my friend and I down to the station on our own a few hours after the last "official" shuttle had left.

The resort itself is good. In a sense it is a local resort largely undiscovered by tourists (be they French, British, German or wherever). This meant it was very quiet during the week, with very few lift queues and large open pistes. It got pretty busy during the weekend as it was a Saint's Day i believe.

the ski area is pretty small, you could do the majority of the marked runs easily in a day and half if you so wished. There's some pretty good runs, nothing amazingly challenging and a decent freestyle park. Can't really say about off-piste as we went end of season so not much decent powder about.

all in all, the Hotell Aragon Hills was excellent and I'd have no problem returning there. If the ski resort itself continues to expand and improve this could well become a very popular destination.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dab116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2010

What a find. Great hotel at a reasonable price. Everybody very friendly. Free hotel bus service to & from slopes (2mins), but it does stop at about 5.00p.m. Dont worry if you stay at the Marchica bar for a couple as the local buses carry on till late as well as a little road train. Plenty of skiing over the four valleys but probably a bit taxing for beginners. Some of the Blacks were a little tough as well, but the snow softens the bad language! The flight is only once a week at the moment and our flight only had 35 occupants!! Transfer to the resort was an hour and a half but the return was longer due to the weekend traffic returning from the slopes. The 2 for 1 lift pass was a draw and hopefully this may continue for next seasons' travellers. Prices are comparable with uk, even with the lousy euro exchange rate. Most bars are small but friendly and only a couple of clubs. Enough for the more mature skier and open till the very early hours. A fine hotel and resort, but hopefully too many won't go as it may spoil the ambiance.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeybridgeOldgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2010

Just back from a weeks skiiing in Formigal. We went because we got a good deal with plenty of skiiing for intermediates. The experience was wonderful, not least because of the incredible warmth of the people at the resort, in the hotel and providing tourism services. I have no idea why everyone was so nice - in most tourist resorts I have visited the people working their are often tired of their interactions with tourists - which can be felt. Despite many of the staffs lack of English their willingness to try and find a way to communicate made us feel incredibly welcome. The rooms: spacious with two twin beds - larger than singles; clean spacious bathroom, with bath and shower, balcony overlooking the mountains, blackout blinds for the windows - if you like a lie-in, TV, mini-fridge, bath-robes- all lovely. The rooms were very warm - we all turned the heating off and left the windows open. The hotel: 6 floors, with 4 floors of bed rooms, floor 1 is the restuarant, spa, pool, table, bar, floor 6 (5+1) is a library and reading space with great views. All hotel info is in Spanish so be prepared with a dictionary or friend who speaks spanish. The spa is not included in the price of the hotel, and costs Euros 20 per visit, or E80 for 5 visits which can be shared by people in the group. I liked it and went every day - its open from 4pm, others in my group thought it was too expensive. The restaurant: we had half board and were astouonded at the quality of the food, 4 stations of prepared food: salads; fish; meat and desert, and a cook at the end of the room ready to cook you fresh meat if you would prefer. You will not be hungry - and you will get to taste great spanish food, e.g. bacalao (salted cod), albondigas (meatballs in sauce) etc.. The staff again were superb. Dinner starts at 8pm and we were always the first in, the Spanish arrived later! The hotel: again lovely people, few spoke English, a shuttle that takes you to the ski slopes that runs every 10 mins - for free - it takes about 5-7 mins to drive there. There is a free ski locker in the hotel to leave your skis. Don;t buy spirits in the hotel - a rum and coke will set you back about Euro7.50, go into town. The downside is the location of the hotel - i.e. it was in town - but so were all the other hotels - so this is not something that can be rectified, however the bus ran regularly (both free hotel bus and free town bus) to the main ski area. The resort of Formigal: small location, mostly spanish speaking, lovely people, some nightlife - but it starts at midnight so too late for me, but we had some nice apres ski from 6-8pm. There are some great bars on the slopes: go to the Iglu bar for mulled wine, and the stop for a cofee in the tiny restaurant on the pipos run. Food on the slopes was OK, food at Anayet was best we felt - most variety. Overall it was fabulous, made especially by the lovely people we met over there. If you are willing to brave a lack of English people, and English speaking staff I would strongly recommend it - it is the friendltiest place I have stayed at in years.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tompel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2010

Having just returned from a ski trip to formigal, I thought I should write a review about our stay at Aragon Hills.
In general, the hotel is in a nice locaton, comfortable and modern. The rooms have ample space, with all the neccessary things you need. Turns out the soft drinks in the minibar were complimentary (although we only found that out, after we left)
The spa, which is slightly lacking in grandeur, also has a charge of 20 euros per day. Which was certainly not worth the value and after a hard days skiing, it's nice to look forward to a hot sauna.

The staff are very helpful, most we found, also have very good english. The breakfast buffet, is very good. Lots of different options, but slightly lacking in healthy options, most of the children seemed to dive for the doughnuts and chocolate milk every morning, The one thing that would certainly make this hotel lean more towards a three star rating rather than four is the buffet dinner.

The buffet, is served as half board, every evening. It consisted of desserts, compiled from the morning's breakfast - fruit and main courses of fish or meat, that were cooked into obvlion. It was a real shame to watch nice ingredients be overcooked and dished out like a canteen. The one saviour would be the grill, meat or fish cooked to order, but even then, they were using the same utensils to serve raw meat and fish.

After suggesting to the maitre'd and indeed the hotel manager, about changing some of the dishes and perhaps allowing their chefs to prepare proper dishes rather than carving vegetable and fruit characters to adorn the buffet, in their spare time. Our complaints were met with a slightly nonchalant attitude and we were informed that we were the first to complain. Perhaps that's because we are English!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2010

The hotel really is exquisite, the area by the fire & bar is lovely to sit & relax & the views of the mountain are superb. The room is spacious & the bathroom fab. Really cant fault the hotel on its design & apperance.
The Spa is 20Euros/Day! (I went thinking it was 30Euros for the week, as stated on some websites!) The Spa is lovely but not that big & only really has a sauna steam room, very small pool (not suitable for swimming!) & a relaxation room.
Food was great, but served after 8pm, which we found to late as you have a very long gap from skiing to supper! It is buffet style, but there is a sectioned off mini restaurant 'budda hills', we didnt go there as we werent quite sure what it was!
The staff are very friendly, but as we found a big problem is the language, they speak VERY LITTLE english! & we spoke no spanish so that left us with problems the whole week! I think we have just been spoilt as im used to going to a holiday destination where the english is good!
The shuttel bus service was awful! maximum of 2 minibuses running, to transport everyone to the slopes, i reccoment get there very early! we waited for over an hour one one occasion. The town bus service is also free, but you have to walk up a hill to get back to the hotel! The shopping in the town is also very limited, & the night life no competitor for andorra.
The skiing was awesome, this resort is totally underestimated by brits & i dont think it will be long before they discover it! A serious competitir for the alps, & at bargain prices!
I must say though we like short transfers, & hueska was only 1h away, unfortunatly the airport was 'missing a document' so we had to go to zaragoza, a 2h transfer, which was dissapointing.
So overall a really fab holiday - but as far as reccomendations go, for teh skiing & nightlife i prefer Andorra, for a hotel, i heard awesome reviews about the Abba & Saliecho both of which the spa is included in the price!

hope this helps!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodfanaticalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Formigal
0.1 mi away
HG Alto Aragon
HG Alto Aragon
#6 of 15 in Formigal
298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nievesol
Hotel Nievesol
#5 of 15 in Formigal
221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel abba Formigal
Hotel abba Formigal
#8 of 15 in Formigal
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Hotel Tierra de Biescas
4.8 mi away
El Privilegio de Tena
El Privilegio de Tena
#1 of 1 in Tramacastilla de Tena
228 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#5 of 5 in Panticosa
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fun Aragon Hills Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fun Aragon Hills Hotel & Spa

Property: Fun Aragon Hills Hotel & Spa
Address: Calle San Sebastian, 22640 Formigal, Sallent de Gallego, Spain
Location: Spain > Aragon > Province of Huesca > Sallent de Gallego > Formigal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Formigal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Formigal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fun Aragon Hills Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel & Spa Aragon Hills **** located just 400 meters from the Formigal ski station, it has 157 rooms in a lovely setting, in the Aragonese Pyrenees. Formigal is one of the best known ski resorts and a perfect destination throughout the year, offering a full entertainment program for both summer and winter, in a beautiful landscape with spectacular lakes. The Aragon Hills Hotel & Spa has 157 rooms of diferent sizes and capacities to suit all types of customers. Mountain rooms with modern style. Many of our rooms offer spectacular mountain views. We have standard rooms with balconies, adapted, duplex, Interconnecting with the possibility of including extra beds or cots. We also have connecting rooms, some with greater capacity for families. If you want any of these special rooms, contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fun Aragon Hills Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aragon Hills Hotel And Spa
Aragon Hills Hotel Sallent De Gallego - Formigal
Ibb Aragon Hills Hotel
Fun Aragon Hills Hotel & Spa Spain - Formigal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing