We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality hotel, good choice of food, great service, fantastic rooms, awesome skiing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fun Aragon Hills Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Formigal
Reviewed February 6, 2012

This was a little more pricey than we would normally pay for a ski hotel but it was well worth the extra money. The hotel is beautiful and the room was large and so was the balcony. There was plenty of choice of vegetarian food at breakfast and dinner and the service was excellent. It's a five minute ride on the shuttle bus to the slopes but this was not an inconvenience as the lovely driver was back and forth in no time and we never had to wait more than 5 minutes. The skiing experience was awesome, great conditions and loads of sunshine. Because it's so sunny, there are no cable cars or bubbles...so no taking off and carrying skis! We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Avoid Spanish and Portuguese public holidays as it will be crowded
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendymouse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 283 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2011

This was one of the best hotels i have ever stayed in. The rooms were only average size with a queen double bed, no family rooms so booked two rooms. The rooms had a balcony with french doors and views of the nearest peak and ski-lifts. The bathroom was very clean, and it was the first time my daughter had ever since a bidet.
As we arrived in august, it was a very quite time of the year, and not all the restaurants were open in the town, so we bought food at the local corner store and drove to a car park overlooking a lake for a BBQ.
The high light of this hotel was the friendly staff and the breakfast spread. It was the best i have ever seen in a hotel. Cooked of all sorts, fruit glore, cereal, yogurts, bagels, toast, croissants, cheese, ham and meat i have never seen before.
Would not hesitate to visit this part of the Pyranees again and stay here.
ps/ the hotel offers free WIFI too.

Room Tip: Visit during August ! choice of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martyn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Stayed here at half term with three other families and I think I can speak for everyone when I say the entire holiday was a great success. Even the hard to please teenagers had a great time. Superb location for excellent skiing in Formigal. Great food with lots of variety, excellent facilities, very helpful staff (even though very little English is spoken - but that just added to the fun!) Modern, clean facilities. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank backtofebruaryrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Wow, what can I say except this hotel was almost perfect for us.

First the only a few small not so good points and then the many good ones.

The spa. It is of course $20 to use, which I knew beforehand so was expecting it. What I wasn't expecting was the cold water temperature in the pool, lack of a jacuzzi, time limit and closing for siesta from 2pm - 4pm. The wife doesnt ski and so I wanted to leave her in the hotel where she could use the spa whilst I hit the slopes.. but it was closed.

Only other thing was we booked a double room but the beds were two singles. This was not a huge problem though and the rest of the room was great.

T.V - cannot be changed to English even though it has cable. Flat screen T.V but an older model so it was only in Spanish.

Now for the good points and there are many.

View of the mountains - exceptional. From our room, dining room and bar area you can see all the mountains in the valley. Truely amazing.

Location - perfect. 2mins to the shops and a 15minute walk to the slopes. However, the hotel have 2 buses dedicated to take customers from the hotel to the base station / hire shops / bar building. The times that they will run the buses is flexible and you can request a lift from reception if you decide to sleep in or miss the 11am finish time.

Staff - so friendly, helpful and English speaking. When I left my wife at the hotel for the day the bar man Adrian looked after her all day, teaching her some Spanish words and always checking if she needed anything. I asked reception to mention to his boss that he did such a good job of looking after her, when we checked out.
The other staff were great too recommending which mountain to choose for snowboarding. On the mountain also, a guy working at the hut bar / burger place saw me looking at a piste map and gave me some good advice that you can use all 4 ski areas using the same lift ticket that you can buy at any of the base stations. Of course I was using Spanish as I live here but I think they can speak English as most people tend to in Spain.

Food - very good quality and selection. Breakfast is 7.30 - 10.30 so you can get up at 10 and still get a freshly cooked omlette.

All in all, I can't wait to go back and can't recommend it enough.

WIFI - free to use when you ask for a user name & password from reception. We could still get a signal from the 4th floor, which was great as it meant we could use our laptops in the room.

Room cleaning - the staff clean all day, so no matter waht time you put out the door hanger thing, they will come and clean the room. They are also very friendly, which is quite rare these days.. we were greeted with a smile as opposed to the usual scowl we are used to.

Great place, if you go to Formigal - use this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChesterLfc79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Skiing in Spain was not our first choice, but we are really glad we did make the last minute decision to go to Formigal.
Aragon Hills is a great hotel, and would happily recommend it to everyone...we will be going back there next year. By far it was the best ski hotel we have stayed in, having skied in many resorts across Europe. The rooms were lovely and spacious, and cleaned on a daily basis. Our room had a fantastic view looking over the mountains, with a great little balcony.
The food at the hotel was pretty good, with a good chioce and was varied across the week. There was lots of healthy and unhealty options to choose from (e.g. lovely cakes at breakfast and desserts at dinner time!).
The bar area is fantastic, as it has a great view across the moutnains and was eally relaxed and comfortable. The prices were really reasonable (a glass of wine was 2.30 euros and a beer 3 euros).
We reluctantly paid 20 euros for the spa, but we loved evrey minute of it, and it is definately worth a visit after a long days skiing.
The skiing was great, and appeals to all levels of skier (except perhaps the excellent skier). The ski area is really well thought out, with the option of blue, red and black runs from any of the main lifts. The slopes were empty throughout the week, and even at the end of the week when it was a Spanish bank holiday, we only queued for a maximum of 10 minutes for a lift.
The hotel provides transport to and from the slopes. We never had to wait for a pick up or drop off, someone was always there. But, if we had had to wait there was an option of a free local bus that drops you off almost outside the hotel.
Overall, a great skiing holiday, and we will definately be going back next year.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Well_travelled35_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Stayed in this hotel toward the end of the 2009/2010 ski season. Hotel was very clean, well equipped, well staffed - I have not a bad word to say. Staff in the hotel were all very professional, helpful and cheerful. There were enough english speaking staff that communication should not be a problem and those that spoke no english were happy to endure my attempts at speaking spanish!

Food was excellent. A minor let down is the buffet style which means that the food is left to stand out for a while. However, you would not be able to have the sheer variety if dishes were prepared to order, nor would you necessarily be able to return for a 2nd helping of the stuffed squid etc.

shuttle service from the hotel to the ski station was efficient. The driver even took my friend and I down to the station on our own a few hours after the last "official" shuttle had left.

The resort itself is good. In a sense it is a local resort largely undiscovered by tourists (be they French, British, German or wherever). This meant it was very quiet during the week, with very few lift queues and large open pistes. It got pretty busy during the weekend as it was a Saint's Day i believe.

the ski area is pretty small, you could do the majority of the marked runs easily in a day and half if you so wished. There's some pretty good runs, nothing amazingly challenging and a decent freestyle park. Can't really say about off-piste as we went end of season so not much decent powder about.

all in all, the Hotell Aragon Hills was excellent and I'd have no problem returning there. If the ski resort itself continues to expand and improve this could well become a very popular destination.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dab116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

What a find. Great hotel at a reasonable price. Everybody very friendly. Free hotel bus service to & from slopes (2mins), but it does stop at about 5.00p.m. Dont worry if you stay at the Marchica bar for a couple as the local buses carry on till late as well as a little road train. Plenty of skiing over the four valleys but probably a bit taxing for beginners. Some of the Blacks were a little tough as well, but the snow softens the bad language! The flight is only once a week at the moment and our flight only had 35 occupants!! Transfer to the resort was an hour and a half but the return was longer due to the weekend traffic returning from the slopes. The 2 for 1 lift pass was a draw and hopefully this may continue for next seasons' travellers. Prices are comparable with uk, even with the lousy euro exchange rate. Most bars are small but friendly and only a couple of clubs. Enough for the more mature skier and open till the very early hours. A fine hotel and resort, but hopefully too many won't go as it may spoil the ambiance.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeybridgeOldgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Formigal
0.1 mi away
HG Alto Aragon
HG Alto Aragon
#4 of 15 in Formigal
309 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa de Sallent
Villa de Sallent
#1 of 15 in Formigal
247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel abba Formigal
Hotel abba Formigal
#9 of 15 in Formigal
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nievesol
Hotel Nievesol
#6 of 15 in Formigal
225 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hotel Tierra de Biescas
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saliecho
Hotel Saliecho
#2 of 15 in Formigal
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fun Aragon Hills Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fun Aragon Hills Hotel & Spa

Address: Calle San Sebastian, 22640 Formigal, Sallent de Gallego, Spain
Location: Spain > Aragon > Province of Huesca > Sallent de Gallego > Formigal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Formigal
#4 Spa Hotel in Formigal
Price Range: $86 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fun Aragon Hills Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel & Spa Aragon Hills **** located just 400 meters from the Formigal ski station, it has 157 rooms in a lovely setting, in the Aragonese Pyrenees. Formigal is one of the best known ski resorts and a perfect destination throughout the year, offering a full entertainment program for both summer and winter, in a beautiful landscape with spectacular lakes. The Aragon Hills Hotel & Spa has 157 rooms of diferent sizes and capacities to suit all types of customers. Mountain rooms with modern style. Many of our rooms offer spectacular mountain views. We have standard rooms with balconies, adapted, duplex, Interconnecting with the possibility of including extra beds or cots. We also have connecting rooms, some with greater capacity for families. If you want any of these special rooms, contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fun Aragon Hills Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aragon Hills Hotel And Spa
Aragon Hills Hotel Sallent De Gallego - Formigal
Ibb Aragon Hills Hotel
Fun Aragon Hills Hotel & Spa Spain - Formigal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing