We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back again in Playa Luna”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Playaluna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Playaluna Hotel
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Roquetas de Mar
Wuustwezel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Back again in Playa Luna”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Again I stayed in PL for 11 days and I must say, that is was better then last september 2012. The room was cleaned properly every day, the food was good, reception/bar very friendly, even the weather was sunny !! So, hopefully Mr. Nieto will see me again next year...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Johanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    617
    218
    64
    43
See reviews for
975
246
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
la jolla,ca
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Most Spanish hotels do not get social media. Playaluna has a high profile on Youtube, social media and the internet.
Almeria is outside the popular Costa del Sol, this hotel tries harder-using the internet.
In order to please the Spanish tourist market, you have to have good "animacion" or entertainment.Playaluna has the best.

Playaluna has a full-time team of at least 20 entertainers who work all day long.The first day of arrival they have figured out the personality of each new guest and how best to get them involved.It is like a 1 week Summer camp. Every hour there is a different programmed group activity.

They have a program under which adults can have unlimited alcoholic drinks and food and kids can have unlimited entertainment. This formula works, or at least it works for Spanish and British families looking for an inexpensive vacation in the Sun.

The hotel is directly on the beach-not across the street-right there.

Hotels that invest this heavily in entertainment cannot be expected to supply food of a high quality, or internet that works, or more than 1 person at the front desk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brazilvideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qawra, Malta
Level Contributor
133 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel doesn´t live up to the expectations of a 4 star hotel.
The cleaning was very poor and the room had seen it´s best days.
We had half board and the breakfast was ok but the dinners were not satisfying at all.
The dining room looked more than a playground than a place were you could enjoy your food.
It seemed to be good meat and fish but the staff made their best to ruin the food.
It was so bad that Went outside the hotel for diner.
The poolarea was terrible and people started to reserv beds at 6.30 in the morning although it was forbidden the management didn´t do anything about it.
The situation of the hotel is fantastic and the beach was very fine.

Room Tip: Take a room with see view in the end of the corridor. Just take breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Klaus-peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8830 Tjele, Denmark
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I think it is a 3 star hotel. The rooms are ok and clean, but the furniture is old. The food from buffet is good, and the staff are doing a great job. The sunbed area by the pool is too small, you are really close to the next sunbed.
If you stay with all inclusive in this hotel, and take a trip to Mini Hollywood and Zoo near Tabernas, you have free lunch buffet in Mini Hollywood.
If you are going to see the big Alcazaba in Almeria, remember it is siesta closed in the afternoon. You don´t have to pay to get in to the Alcazaba, if you have an ID with foto on.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had had a great holiday at Zoraida Park last year and were keen to return to Roquetas de Mar this June. We liked the fact that it isn't dominated by loud English people and we were able to use our basic Spanish in what is obviously a primarily Spanish resort - no All day Breakfasts and Sunday Roast offers - just superb Spanish food and tapas served free of charge with your drink.
We booked Playaluna with high expectations. Now, first of all I have to say that in many ways there is nothing wrong with the hotel - it just didn't suit us, an older couple looking for a fairly peaceful holiday with an emphasis on good food, wine and relaxing round the pool!
The room was good with a huge comfortable bed and a fair sized balcony from which we could just see the sea. The fridge was a bonus and the safe, although it incurred an extra charge, was welcome. Towels can be hired with a refundable deposit. The offer of 1 hr a day free wifi in the public area was good. We switched off roaming on our phones and accessed the hotel's link for our tablet/phones or used one of the various bars which offered free wifi and this worked fine for us.
We were a bit taken aback with the arrangement around the pool - most of the sun beds were under huge palm trees which were planted in row upon rows, but assumed this was for shade as there are virtually no parasols provided. However, we soon had reason to appreciate them when the wind built up to almost gale force. We sat on our sunbeds in the tree area and watched the other sunbeds get blown about , some even ending up in the pool, while we were completely sheltered!
So, so far, so good. What was the problem? Well , our first few days were fine. The food was pretty good, especially at breakfast when you could get excellent coffee from a special Nescafe machine and the service was also excellent. Then the weekend arrived and with it a multitude of Spanish families. Till then, the clientele had been mainly adults with s few young children of a wide range of nationalities. All change!! Huge family groups took over the dining room. Unruly children screamed and ran about and made it a challenge just to fill your plate and return to your table - if you had managed to secure a table, that is!! Food kept running out. Breakfast was a nightmare with huge queues for the crepes and omelettes and for some reason they withdrew the special coffee machine and we had to revert to the main drinks machine which distributed pretty vile stuff! It got to the stage that we dreaded mealtimes. Eating well is such a large part of our holidays that this was a major disappointment. Thankfully we were only half board so were able to have lunch at one of the chiringuitos or on our balcony. Having a drink at the hotel wasn't much fun either with one of the most depressing beach bars I have ever seen.
Evening entertainment seemed very child orientated and started very late. It was held in a very warm room. We tended to have a drink in the bar which had table service and used our 1 hour wifi. A little more excitement would have been appreciated!!
Overall this is an OK hotel and with its sea front position would probably be great for families. We'd like to go back to Almeria as we like the area including the Mini Hollywood theme park/ zoo and the wonderful Cabo de Gata which was just an hour away. But we'll not be returning to Playaluna unless it's in term time!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gladysScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Playaluna is a big resort. We took a small apartment for a few days to recover after a surgery. The room was nice and clean, had a view of the pool area with a glimpse of the sea. Everything was green and tidy and very nice. Breakfast was included and I have to admit it was quite good. A chef is on hand to make your omelet, the bread was fresh and there was a good variety of cold meats, cheese, yogurt, etc. The location was pleasant, walks up and down the beach very enjoyable. Here´s the thing I did not like and will not put up with again. I´m already paying well over a hundred euros a night and they want to charge extra for wifi in the room. Not that they don´t have the wifi, it is there and working, they just make you pay 10 or more euros a day for the privilege of using it. The ads and web pages never warn you about this, you have to ask. Well, from now on I will. If I´m not in Mauritania or something I will only book if the room has wifi included in the price. Oh, and one other thing, what´s the deal with cold water in the jacuzzis by the pool? A jetted tub with freezing cold water kind of misses the point.

Room Tip: If you want free wifi, stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Five of us visited this hotel. Three in an apartment, and two in a sea view double room. The apartment was o k except the sofa bed for an adult was a bit basic, and the sea view room was a bit small, but adequate. The apartment didn't have a kettle, a sharp knife or teacloth. Beach towels could be hired for 10 euros returnable deposit each. The pool was freezing, and the sea unfortunately a bit rough on our visit. It's a shingle beach so sand shoes advisable. There were a lack of sun beds around the pool. Many had towels on but no one using them.
Staff tried to be helpful, but the hotel is geared to the Spanish market. We travelled independently so were unable to access excursions unless we spoke Spanish. Luckily we found the local buses which give a half hourly service quite cheaply.
The food in the restaurant is quite good, the soups were acceptable, the grill was popular. Breakfast offered a bit of variety. Drinks were reasonably priced, though suggest you bring your own tea bags.

Room Tip: Avoid lower floors. Fourth to sixth floor best. Some apartments overlook pool, and some the car park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 413Darla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roquetas de Mar hotels
0.3 mi away
Playacapricho Hotel
Playacapricho Hotel
#6 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
0.4 mi away
Playasol Spa Hotel
Playasol Spa Hotel
#15 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Best Sabinal
Hotel Best Sabinal
#9 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Evenia Zoraida Park
Evenia Zoraida Park
#3 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
6.7 mi away
Playadulce Hotel
Playadulce Hotel
#2 of 5 in Aguadulce
3.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mediterraneo Park
Mediterraneo Park
#16 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playaluna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playaluna Hotel

Property: Playaluna Hotel
Address: Avda de las gaviotas, s/n, 04740, Roquetas de Mar, Spain (Formerly lti Playaluna Hotel)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Roquetas de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Roquetas de Mar
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Roquetas de Mar
#6 Family Hotel in Roquetas de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Playaluna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This friendly hotel enjoys a beachfront location in Roquetas de mar, one of the main tourist destinations in Almeria, just behind the seafront and only 5 min. From Playa Serena golf club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Playaluna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lti Playaluna Roquetas De Mar
Lti Playaluna Hotel
Playaluna Hotel Almeria/Roquetas De Mar, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing