We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Apartamentos Golf Center Pueblo
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed at the Golf apartments two weeks ago. After struggling to find it late at night (google maps gave its location as the centre of town!) we were very pleased to find we had a very spacious apartment with two balconies, overlooking the pool and the entrance. The apartment and the complex as a whole was clean and well looked after, if a little dated.

During our stay, only a couple of dozen or so of the apartments were occupied, making the place very peaceful. The whole resort appeared to be similarly quiet, it may well be different once spanish schools have broken up.

All in all a good place for a relaxing holiday for couples but anyone with older children or teenagers should perhaps think twice, very little to keep them amused.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MalandJan298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 199 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2011

I read the review from the last person before I went to the Golf Center Apartments last week. I thought the review was pretty spot on and we went to most of the restaurants recommended in it and found that they were all good (particularly liked La Grappa and San Rocco although the service was pretty slow when we went). Also a really nice restaurant on the promenade called Koral which served lovely fish.

The apartment was much more spacious that I imagined, having booked a 'studio' for myself and my two daughters. There was a twin bedroom, good sized lounge area and kitchen and separate bathroom. We had a nice balcony overlooking the pool and another one overlooking the gofl course (which nobody ever seemed to be on!). It was clean and more than adequate, my only complaint was that the 'pull out' bed in the lounge wasn't very comfortable although it was a proper mattress. Some apartments are obviously privately owned by Spanish people.

The complex and indeed the whole resort is very Spanish. There were only a few Brits and some Dutch people when we were there, practically all the tourists are Spanish which suited me fine as you actually feel like you're in Spain! It is very much a resort with tourist shops etc. but there are nice bars and restaurants and the walk along the promenade is really lovely. The beach is fine shingle but nice and very quiet in places because it is so big - find yourself a palm tree to sit under and enjoy :)

The 2 pools at the complex are really lovely and not that busy (especially before 11am and mid afternoon when the Spanish don't seem to be out in the sun). Lots of sun loungers etc and very safe for children. The bar was quiet, we ate there twice for lunch and it was good value for money and useful if you can't be bothered going anywhere else.

As for the cats issue, well there are a few about. We probably saw 5 or 6 at any one time, nearly always in the car park. Apparently a lady feeds them and then takes them off to the hills away from the resort. They never bothered us really.

Margar supermarket is less than 10 mins walk from the apartments and has everything (except not a lot of fresh milk!) including lovely fresh bread daily. The walk from the apartments to the shops/restaurants isn't that attractive (past rather a lot of large bins) but it's not that big a deal. We liked the area closest to the apartments for eating out rather than the 'main' area a bit further on as it was quieter.

All in all I felt it was good value for money and nicer than I expected. The weather was fantastic and we had a great time. If two young teenagers are happy then it can't be all bad!

Room Tip: As for a room above ground level to avoid the cats!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SELManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We were slightly apprehensive about our holiday to Golf Centre, and when we were dropped off we were slightly concerned. The signage for the property had letters missing and the reception area was quite tired, and when we got to our apartment it smelt quite musty. However, once we got the windows open to air it we realised we had the wrong impression.
The apartment was basic but clean and had a proper kitchen with oven, 4 ring gas hob and extractor fan. This made it very easy to eat in if we wanted to. The bathroom would have benefited from some updating but it was fine for what we needed it for.
The pool area was great, we have a 3 year old and he could get about quite safely, there is a childrens pool, and the other pool is really big with graduated sloping "beach" area with grab rails to get in and out and a clearly marked drop off, so safe for kids.
The location is slightly out of the way, but we worked out that if you cut through playa sol and neptuno hotel it cuts off a big corner and makes it quicker to get into the main area. Having said that, it's very quiet being in the middle of a golf course.
We didn't have much cause to go back to reception, but the contact we did have wasn't 100% positive, but they were polite enough. Some of the staff don't speak English that well, but didn't really matter. We never used the bar or cafe there either.
There seemed to be 2 main street areas, the area that the complex is situated in seemed to be the slightly less busy of the 2, and cheaper to eat. There are some really nice restaurants. La Vita owned by French chef Pierre is the first restaurant you come to, don't walk past it as it's delicious. Also, if you walk up the main street there is a beautiful Italian called San Rocco, opposite the big 5 star hotel on the main street. It's well worth a bit of a walk. The food is out of this world, family run. The daughter speaks Italian, Spanish and perfect English. For a cheaper pub style meal, Meson Don Jamon which is opposite La Vita is good value more basic decent quality food. Chicken and chips heartily recommended and they open at lunchtime. For a delicious breakfast, take a walk to Alvi which is on the main road, turn left and it's a bit of a walk on the right. It's got the best selection of very naughty treats and the lady who runs it is very friendly. Doesn't speak much English, but the universal language of pointing and dos cafe con leche gets you what you want!
The beach is huge. It's shingle and sand, so you don't get all sandy, but not great for building sand castles. There are lifeguards, toilets and children's play areas dotted all up and down the beach. If you want seclusion, head to the right past the main hotels and the beach is more or less deserted. The main beach gets pretty busy at weekends as the locals make the best of the weather, but it wasn't uncomfortable. There are plenty of sunbeds and cafes along the front. There appeared to be watersports, which didn't disturb the beach as there are buoys marking the area they must stay away from, this keeps the noise down and we didn't even notice the odd jetski.
Supermarket Nargar has everything you need, but if you go to the next main street area there is a massive supermarket and a traditional market.
The resort is fairly quiet, which is perfect for couples and families. It wouldn't be so great for younger people expecting a busy nightclubbing holiday.
The weather was amazing for us, about 26-29 and was getting hotter by the day. Any hotter thought and it may have been uncomfortable as there is no air con in the apartment, with all the windows and terrace open there was a good breeze. The balcony area was lovely, but beware as it was really dangerous for children who could quite easily climb out. We kept the patio door shut when we weren't keeping a close eye on our 3 year old. There is big roof terrace on the apartments which noone uses. It's ok but a bit grim. There aren't any chairs of sunbeds up there but if you wanted privacy I guess you could take some up there.
From what people had said about the flies I was expecting swarms of them. There were a few that landed on you occasionally while by the pool, and when you went out to eat there were sometimes some flying about but nothing too major. The restaurants always give you a coaster to put on your drink, but it's to be expected in a warm country. Don't let it get you down!
We didn't venture out of resort but there are some good excursions available to the waterpark, aquarium, spaghetti western/zoo attraction and some pretty areas to visit. Car hire seemed quite expensive about 50euros for a basic one for the day but is there are 4 or 5 wanting to do an excursion it could work out cheaper.
All in all a very relaxing holiday. The only decisions made all holiday = beach/pool, eat out/eat in.
Don't hesitate, enjoy.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sistap74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

we got are key to a bottom appartment the heat woz terrible we opened the patio doors to find at least 8 cats crying for food and woz coming in.the rooms have no aircontion a cockeroach run over me i went and reported it they gave me spray to spray the room all the tiles fell off the wall never again

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank libbyLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

after reading some reviews we where a bit wary of what we where going to get.But when we turned up the receptionist was top class and would try to do anything you asked of him.The rooms clean and very tidy bedding&towels ghanged 3 times in 14days.Pool area exelent ,bar&reastraunt very nice with nice friendly staff.The veiw from the roof terrace was amazing.For those who choose to play golf you are right on the golf course

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GezzaBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2009

I visited these apartments a few years previously with family so I decided to take my partner last year. I absolutely love these apartments, they're clean, airy (like going from home to home), the complex is small enough to feel safe, the staff are ever so friendly and the pools are fantastic! As we booked independently we had the choice of both pools although we mainly stuck to the quieter one.
The complex has the advantage of being close to everything (bars, beach, Restaurents) while remaining hidden and far away enough from main roads.
We didn't really eat at the complex as we love to eat out and try different things, however, we did drink there every night! We also had the good fortune of being there when Spain won the world cup and the atmosphere every, especially in town was electric!
I would definately recommend this complex if you are looking for a hassle free, relaxing holiday and if you love the beach you're in luck as it's only a 5 min walk away!!
I would suggest booking this holiday independently as the reps aren't really around (although I personally hate package holidays anyway, don't like being told how to enjoy myself!!).
O, and don't forget to visit the Mario' Aqua park and Grand Plaza.
Remember, this is only a simple self catering complex so don't expect 5* luxary. Your holiday is only as good as you make it!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank almeria_08_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

Dissapointed with this accomodation. Our apartment looked as though it had been flooded . The wood was peeling off the internal doors and architraves. The sofa was damaged making it difficult for more than one person to sit on it and the cooking utensils were very grotty.
I have never put a towel on a sunbed before but this was a necessity if you wanted one as there were only enough for approx one third of the guests staying there. We also had a problem with noisy guests and as there were no staff onsight to deal with them, other holidaymakers were having to intervene at 3 in the morning! No fun when you are holidaying with children!
The complex would also have benefitted from a small shop as the trek to the supermarket became a chore after a couple of days. Not the place for us.

Mrs Banks Manchester

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingWoman38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roquetas de Mar hotels
0.2 mi away
Neptuno Hotel
Neptuno Hotel
#6 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
764 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arena Center
Arena Center
#21 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
432 reviews
0.4 mi away
Playasol Spa Hotel
Playasol Spa Hotel
#15 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Fenix Beach
Apartamentos Fenix Beach
#23 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Roc Golf Trinidad
Hotel Roc Golf Trinidad
#5 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
1,191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Playacapricho Hotel
Playacapricho Hotel
#7 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Golf Center Pueblo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Golf Center Pueblo

Address: C/ Diagonal. Urbanizacion Playa Serena, 04740, Roquetas de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Roquetas de Mar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Roquetas de Mar
Price Range: $37 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Apartamentos Golf Center Pueblo 2*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Apartamentos Golf Center Pueblo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf Hotel Roquetas De Mar
Apartamentos Golf Center Pueblo Almeria/Roquetas De Mar, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing