We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (675)
Filter reviews
675 results
Traveler rating
340
204
72
21
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
340
204
72
21
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews washing machine indoor pool infrared sauna utility room thomas cook walk in shower apartment block fantastic stay sun loungers balcony overlooking relaxing week all inclusive option rental car sports massage book shop shopping centre and beach local village
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 675 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A quick list of pros and cons from our perspective.

Pros- lovely rooms, spacious, clean, comfortable, great kitchen and a washing machine and dishwasher. Good shower, balcony. Pools clean and kept the kids entertained,baby pool and inflatables allowed. Saved sunbeds around 9 am so not too early , breakfast good. Pool bar food tasty although I thought pricey (30 euros for 3x chicken nuggets and chips) and drinks nice. Good little train into shopping centre and beach. Town vibrant and we found a cocktail bar/book shop on the 1st floor which did a tale telling night at 8pm 3 times a week which the kids loved.(the rainbow fish, puss in boots etc) this was a highlight for the kids. Centre very vibrant late into the evening and nice little stalls out the back of the shopping centre near the beach and a park area.

Cons- a very Spanish resort, everything surrounding the hotel shuts down all afternoon, shops etc opening again around 5pm.very little English spoken and menus for eating out all in Spanish so a guessing game and difficult to cater for the kids, not very enjoyable eating out which for us is one of the things we love to do. All eating out in shopping centre and accessible places is on plastic tables and chairs. We had a decent pizza at the back of shopping centre to the far left and the burger place next door looked good but couldn't fathom the menu. Be better to have a car and seek out restaurants but all streets near hotel are rammed so I would expect it would be difficult to park. No pavements as such so a trip to the supermarket (10-15 walk) tricky with kids. If you turn left rather than talking train there is another place/centre to eat out but again although vibrant very Spanish so you need to hunt around. Lots of seafood.

All in all a good holiday and kids enjoyed it but I wouldn't return due to location unless I was all inclusive or traveling as a couple.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Ellie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SENTIDOAma, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sentido Ama Islantilla, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Ellie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope you have enjoyed at the hotel!

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Kind regards,
Irene Sosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked all inclusive and it was definitely worth it. The breakfast, lunch and dinner were all superb, lots of choice, fresh fruit, vegetables and amazing fish. The staff are so friendly and can’t do enough for you. The hotel and grounds are spotless and we can’t complain about anything. The two bedroom apartment was fantastic we were 5 and it was easily big enough, comfy beds and maid service everyday.

The resort is typically Spanish with lots of nice seafront restaurants, bars and lovely places for the kids to get an ice cream.

Overall a beautiful hotel in a stunning location. We will definitely be back.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank emantro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SENTIDOAma, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sentido Ama Islantilla, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Emantro,

Thank you a lot for this great feedback. We are really happy that you and your familiy have enjoyed at Sentido AMA Islantilla.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Do not hesitate contacting us.

Kind regards,
Irene Sosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I and daughter and stepdaughter stayed here in July on a B&B basis. This resort is very tranquil and well maintained. The pool was clean and there were plenty of sunloungers to go round. The staff were superb on the whole, our room was a self-catering apartment and was very clean and spacious. Transfers with Thomas Cook were very smooth. Breakfast was very nice. Impossible to have a self-service buffet with piping hot food so o disagree with some previous posts. It does get crowded but you would expect that, the same at dinner. The dinner buffets were lovely and freshly cooked. Given the 3 mini markets (one in the grounds, one just to the left on the main road, and the larger Jamon about 400m down thecroad), self catering is easy. I would thus say it's 50/50 whether to do all-inclusive or not. Very few bars and restaurants around so not great for our girls, but they were chilled out about it but wanted to go out.

The only drawback was confusion about whether you could go all-inclusive on a day to day basis or not. One receptionist said we could, only for another to say we had to do it for the rest of our stay or not at all. That was a disappointment.

Off grounds, the nearby Italian Lounge is fantastic for a more upmarket dining experience. For simple child/teenager eating, the shopping centre has lots of ways, including burger places.

Recommendation for Sentido management: why not have your own beach bar at your beach area? You would make a fortune. As it is, guests will need to lug drinks etc. down there on the free train.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Tractormunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SENTIDOAma, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sentido Ama Islantilla, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Tractormunky,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We will take into account all the details to keep improving each year.
We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Kind regards,
Irene Sosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We travelled from the UK for a 10 night summer holiday staying at the hotel in a 2 bed apartment with 2 boys aged 9 and 11. We were on an all-inclusive basis. First impressions of the hotel were very good - a warm welcome and we were able to access our room immediately despite arriving on an early flight before usual check-in time. We booked the upgraded 2 bed apartment, which was spacious. It was serviced everyday and towels could be changed whenever required. The hotel and grounds are kept very clean and tidy. There are 3 outdoor pools and a jacuzzi. We appreciated provision of towels daily for use on the sun loungers and swimming. There is a further indoor pool, jacuzzi and spa treatment rooms, plus gym and studio for exercises classes. Normally we go self-catering so I was a bit apprehensive about eating at the same restaurant for 10 days but have to say it worked really well - lots of variation and always something to tempt taste buds. There is a large complement of staff who work incredibly hard to ensure you have a pleasant stay. I thought the service was excellent and staff smiley and helpful. It is perhaps unfair to single out individuals but Antonio at the pool bar made great cortados, Rosa in the Fandados bar in the evening was lovely and Armando who covers all the activities was great fun, hard-working and a big hit with our boys. Between all the family members we did: the daybreak class (yoga/plates), Spanish lessons, table tennis, archery, darts, waterpolo, water basket, giant jenga and booked treatments at the spa. We were looking for a relaxing family holiday to recharge the batteries and the hotel really delivered for us.
Muchas gracias por cuidarnos en nuestras vacaciones!

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Macca007Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SENTIDOAma, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sentido Ama Islantilla, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Macca007Wales,

Thank you so much for writing this great feedback of your stay. It is a pleasure knowing that you and your family have enjoyed at the hotel and the facilities. We will keep working hard for our guests.

We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,
Irene Sosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Family of 2 adults, a 4 year old and a 4 month old baby on a B&B basis.

Positives:
Easy to find from Faro airport.
Were able to check in on arrival at 12pm.
Comfy beds and pillows.
2 bedroom apartment was spacious and had good facilities on the whole.
Pool was mostly quite quiet with plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas (although they are likely to fall over in the wind).
Snacks from pool bar were tasty and reasonably priced.
Had lunch in the buffet restaurant. Reasonably priced and plenty of choice but I suspect this would get boring quickly on All Inclusive.
Friendly and approachable staff.
Pool towels a nice touch.
Area on the beach with free sunbeds and parasols is a nice idea, if you can find it. Shame no toilet facilities nearby though.
Train to the beach and centro commercial is helpful (although we didn't use it).
Regular activities around the pool - aqua aerobics and some kids activities.
Spa is nice and once there was a special offer on massages they were reasonably priced.
Maid service every day if you want it, including fresh towels. Bedding changed every 3 days I think.
Washing machine and laundry drying area was VERY useful with 2 small children!
Dishwasher also very handy as we did eat in quite a bit.
Nice shower gel and soap in the bathroom.
Although this was not confirmed before arrival the travel cot provided was a good size and had an extra mattress on that was comfortable, not just the basic hard one that comes with it.

Negatives:
Oven/microwave combo was a good idea but instructions would have been useful.
Same goes for the hob - not the easiest to operate.
Could have done with a corkscrew in the apartment and also a colander for draining pasta.
Breakfast a bit limited and very busy.
Maid sometimes came at 9am which was a bit early!
Doorbells are way too loud!
A larger kitchen bin, or more bins in the apartment would have been useful.

Would return to the hotel in the future as we enjoyed our stay.

One thing we would have found useful to know, especially as we have small children who go to bed around 7:30pm, is that almost all restaurants and shops in the resort close for siesta from about 4pm until 8 or 8:30pm. We spent a very hungry evening traipsing around looking for a restaurant on the first night and eventually only found a burger king that was open. Once we adjusted our routine a bit though we did find a couple of nice restaurants. Pavarotti's in La Antilla being the best.

Room tip: We had top floor but facing the road, which can get quite loud of an evening.
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HolidayFan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SENTIDOAma, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sentido Ama Islantilla, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Kind regards,
Irene Sosa


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews