We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding value and service but rooms a little tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Islantilla Golf Resort Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Islantilla
Blackburn
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Outstanding value and service but rooms a little tired”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Third visit and the service and value for money remain outstanding. The public rooms are fine, as befits a four star hotel but the spacious bedrooms are beginning to look a little tired, requiring new sofas in the junior suites and careful re-decoration. Nevertheless we paid just £714, per couple for 7 nights DBB and five days of unlimited golf, including the junior suites for four couples and airport transfers, via the excellent Your Golf Travel. The food remains first rate and the restaurant staff efficient and hard working, our favourite waitress is Isabel. The golf course was in tip-top condition and take with a pinch of salt the review which says it is too easy for anyone over 18 handicap, we four men are eleven, two twelves and a thirteen and while we all hit 34 points none of us could reach 36, ie play to handicap. The Staff in the golf shop are absolutely superb friendly and super-helpful doing everything they can to meet guests playing needs. Best buffet in Spain possibly. Be aware large groups from Scandinavia visit if you need buggies or electric trollies pre-book as there are some sizeable walks on concrete paths from greens to tees. By the way if your a none golfer and do not want quiet and seclusion stay away.

Room Tip: Worth getting a junior suite lots of room for clubs and storage
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SPG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    484
    160
    40
    38
See reviews for
368
495
14
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We were a group of 9, five of us women non golfers, we were there to celebrate a special birthday, so the 4 men were very happy to play the golf included in the special offer, we women on the other hand were a little disappointed, there was nothing for non golfers to do, except swim or go to the spa...... okay for a while but not for the 3 days we were there.
Don't get me wrong there is nothing wrong with the hotel it's lovely, with very nice and helpful staff, but please put something in or something for us non golfers to do.
And one other thing, there is no ATM machine there, if you want cash, you have to travel 15 mins in a car to the nearest bank, so unless you want to pay with a card take you cash with you.

Room Tip: rooms facing the front get more sun during the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 189117Denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with 15 other ladies for a week long golf break. The deal was good value for money. The golf course was very challenging in places but most enjoyable. The hotel facilities were excellent and the rooms were also good. The breakfast buffet was plentiful with egg dishes cooked to order. Dinner was a bit disappointing as several of the cooked options did not always appeal but there was always a good selection of salads, cold meats etc. We would have like to get drinks or snacks in the hotel during the day, but the bar was only open evenings so had to go across to the golf course for food and drinks. The staff were friendly and helpful and overall this wss a good value resort.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfSnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

10 of us returned for a golfing break in Jan 2014. Hotel staff remain very good, and service was very efficient. Buffet meals offered plenty of choice and seafood evening was highlight. Golf course in good condition . Very good deal through "your golf travel". Visited El Rompido and enjoyed there too. We will return next year and plan to visit the Rio Tinto Minerva mine museum which we missed this year. Light lunch in golf clubhouse is always good- particularly the tapas.

Room Tip: Ideally get a room that has the sun on its balcony in afternoon. 118 was fine. In winter the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, England
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

This was our 4th visit for our Christmas/New Year break. We believe this hotel with the 27 hole golf course is excellent value for money. All the staff in the hotel and golf course are outstanding and very helpful, probably the highlight of the holiday. We had an excellent junior suite, third floor over looking the Golf Club House we think the best position. It may be time for a refurbishment, however the room service is outstanding and the rooms and corridors are very clean, no one will be disappointed.
The food in the restaurant is always to a high standard and changes every night. The breakfast chefs will prepare most food, however one morning I took mushrooms and they cooked them in the oven when I asked for them to be fried. The 27 hole golf course can be a challenge, I play off 12 and my wife 17 unfortunately this year the yellow 9 holes were closed. The blue and green 18 holes were in need of some TLC. Pine needles left too long on the grass kill the grass off which can be seen in the pictures. Most of the greens suffering with pitch marks, the groundskeepers staff need to get to work on repairing the course. Some of the buggy's need new tyres and the batteries don't last 18 holes. All things considered, a short flight from England to Faro, only 50mins across the border into Spain and excellent DBB and golf included we will most probably return next year.

Room Tip: Third floor over looking the Golf Club House
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minesatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We went to celebrate new year and play some golf and we were able to do both. The weather was kind to us and only rained during the evening or when we were not playing so all was well on that front. We can confirm that the staff were very friendly and helpful all the time. In respect of the food, there was plenty of it which was served buffet style for the first part of the week, but when the hotel had fewer guests it changed to a served service in the golf club which we preferred. For a week away we had a nice time. We knew that it was out of season that Spain would be closed in the area and it was but we went out and about further and saw the nearest towns for some retail therapy. The hotel laid on a great evening for new years eve and was very well done. While I agree that our room was a bit dated and tired we did enjoy the relaxed break away.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyandChrisKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Islantilla Golf Resort Hotel for our Christmas break. This was our third Christmas visit to this hotel and our fourth visit in total. Firstly the staff in both the hotel and at the golf course are in our opinion first class. The reception staff are exceptional and anything we have asked them for, or, any advice we have sought has always been given with friendly efficiency. We have always found the restaurant and clubhouse staff to be equally friendly and attentive. The rooms which we have had have always been clean, comfortable and spacious. There is always an excellent selection of food at meal times catering for all needs. The golf course was in good condition for the time of the year but some of the areas around the course had suffered because of high winds and rain. Overall excellent value for money and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islantilla
0.6 mi away
Puerto Antilla Grand Hotel
1.0 mi away
Family Life Ocean Islantilla
0.7 mi away
ILUNION Islantilla
ILUNION Islantilla
#5 of 8 in Islantilla
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Marlin Antilla Playa
Hotel Marlin Antilla Playa
#1 of 1 in La Antilla
77 reviews
6.7 mi away
Playacanela Hotel
Playacanela Hotel
#6 of 6 in Isla Canela
1,123 reviews
8.6 mi away
Playacartaya Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islantilla Golf Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islantilla Golf Resort Hotel

Property: Islantilla Golf Resort Hotel
Address: Paseo Barranco Del Moro s/n, 21431 Islantilla, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Islantilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Islantilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Islantilla Golf Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Islantilla Golf Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islantilla Golf Hotel Islantilla
Islantilla Hotel Isla Cristina
Hotel Islantilla
Islantilla Golf Resort Hotel Costa De La Luz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing