We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic, had a wonderful time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of ILUNION Islantilla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ILUNION Islantilla
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Islantilla
CORNWALL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic, had a wonderful time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2009

We wanted to go to Spain because in 2008 we went to Brittany, and whilst the holiday was great, the weather was not very good, so we wanted to go somewhere this year with almost garanteed sun! So we did some checking around and we were recomended the Confortel Hotel in Islantilla. Because of business commitments during the winter months we do not have a lot of time to wait around looking for last minute bargains, so we booked our holiday to Spain in January 2009, got everything arranged so we could get what we wanted, the week we wanted and could be sure we would not be disappointed, So a few weeks before we were due to go on holiday I read a couple of reviews on the internet about the Confortel that basically said it was dire! My heart fell to the bottom of my boots, what would we find??? Well the reviews were written in 2007 and 2008, and perhaps at that time things at the Confortel were not very good, but I can only base my review on what we found this year 2009. The hotel was comfortable, clean and welcoming, the staff couldn't have been more helpful, and the food was fantastic, lots to choose from mornings and evenings, you didn't have to eat the same dish every meal, if you wanted variety, this was the place. Another reviewer said outside the hotel there where only burger bars and very few shops, we didn't find this, you could eat as plainly or as fancy as you wanted. And the shopping precinct next to the hotel had plenty to choose from, and the shop keepers were all freindly. We enjoyed every minute and didn't want to go home, I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OLIVERCORNWALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    402
    302
    146
    103
See reviews for
650
366
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2009

We visited this hotel in May having previously visited a couple of years ago. Our room was vey large with a lovely bathroom and huge balcony. We have two small children and we were very upset when there was a very noisy all night party taking place above us one night, numerous calls to receptionn were met with a blank. Apparently the person above was famous so the staff weren't willing to ask her to tone down the noise (this went on from 2am until 8am!!) The restaurant is a very tired looking room in definite need of updating, and the same can be said for the food which was of a very poor standard. The only plus points were the fresh fruit and salas which were the good. The pools and outside area are good and well kept, but I must point out that unless you are a golfer there is absoluteley nothing to do in the surrounding areas if the weather is bad, just lots of apartments so you really do need to hire a car.

Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Islantilla hotels

England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2008

Just back from our hols in mid October at the Confortel islantilla.
The journey seemed to take forever, waited 1 hour for our luggage at Faro airport and the transfer time was well over the predicted 2 hours with only 1 drop off. After leaving at 2am, we eventually arrived at 12.15pm on sunday afternoon and were told at the check in desk that our rooms weren't ready and to come back in an hour. We had no rep (at the airport or the hotel - we flew with Thomsons) so had to just dump our luggage and wander around for an hour.

The hotel itself doesn't look great from the outside or the pictures in the brochure, but it is a lot nicer than we expected, very clean and spacious, large pool area with gardens, plenty of sunbeds and you can get towels for a 10 euro deposit, however they are bright yellow and one problem we encountered were the flies when you sunbathe. There is also a small souvenir shop, bar etc however we were unlucky with the weather, we stayed for 11 nights and experienced all weathers from sun, strong winds, storms, cloudy then back to sun. There was absolutely nothing to do at the hotel when it is raining outside, there is a large room with tables and chairs but no games etc except for one pingpong table which they brought inside, we just sat around reading magazines for 2 days!

The rooms were good size, twin beds, tv, piped radio, air conditioning, telephone, safe (deposit required) there was a dressing table, but no mirror so you had to use the one in the bathroom or just by the door. The bathroom had an excellent shower/bath although the water did come out brown one day which wasn't pleasant, a large vanity area, there was also a hairdryer which started off really cool but got very hot! We were on the 2nd floor internal side view which you could just see the sea and pool area, but mainly there was a huge shallow pool in the internal gardens with some geese, two of which had just hatched some youngsters so they were our amusement for the entire stay! If you book I would recommend the 2nd floor as the balconies get smaller by the 4th floor. There was carpet on all the walkways to the bedrooms which cut down a lot of noise, there are 4 lifts which we never had to wait for.

The restaurant for breakfast opened at 8am and there was a good variety of foods, eggs/omelettes were cooked fresh, however the other cooked items ie sausage/bacon didn't look great. A large selection of rolls, breads and pastries, fresh and dried fruit, cereals, fruit juice, tea/coffee/chocolate machines, fresh milk and skimmed milk, also herbal teas, yoghurt, bottled water, meats, cheeses etc.
Dinner was at 7.30pm and was a lot busier, but again lots of choices, fresh fruit, rolls, salads, pasta and sauce, there were always 2 meals cooked fresh one meat and one fish, and other meals in serving dishes which weren't always that hot. Every day there were chips and one other potato choice, ie mash, boiled etc but the vegetables were overcooked and covered in garlic. My only comment was that the spanish eat their meals with olive oil poured over them, so most meals were quite greasy. We found the desserts lovely, the mousses were excellent, gateaux, ice creams, fruits.

The beach area is just a 2 minute walk away, through the gate in the garden, across the promenade and you are there. Fantastic if you love the beach, but as we went out of season, there were no chairs and no shade. We walked along the beach a few times, great if you like collecting shells, thousands to choose from, some were really unusual. A few jellyfish were washed up overnight, we saw one over 2ft wide, also a stingray, crabs and others. Not much else going on, the bars/cafes were closed for the season. Apart from the promenade and beach, there wasn't anywhere else really to walk so if you like adventure this is not the place for you. I also don't think that there is a lot for children to do although there was a small play area and some daytime activities. There is also an indoor pool, gym and spa area. We didn't go in, but others said you can only go into the indoor pool if you have a swimming hat, and the prices for the Spa looked quite expensive,

There was a small shopping precinct next to the compex, with an adequate supermarket, a few boutiques, and the first floor was mainly cafes/bars. We did get ripped off when we sat outside for an ice cream as they charged a 20% surcharge (which was in spanish on the menu). Buy your drinks in the supermarket, even water was 8 litres for 1 Euro, in the restaurant 1 litre was 1.8 euros.

The resort itself is Spanish, for Spaniards to stay for their summer holidays, they own the fishing shacks on the beach front and the new villas built, most were boarded up though as their season ends in September. No-one spoke English, but that wasn't a problem, how many people over here speak Spanish? We got by just fine with the language barrier, one waiter in the restaurant even got his phrase book out to help us out.

The one thing that must be said is that the complete hotel caters for the disabled and blind. There were several parties with wheelchairs and from the coach drop off to the beach there was not one step to encounter, both the pools had disabled chairs which lowered into and out of the water so this must be commended to the hotel, even the rooms had braille numbers on the door handles.
Room vacation was by 12 noon, but we were allowed to extend the rooms until 5pm for 25 Euros, which was great as it felt like we had an extra day there.
The most important things I look for in a holiday are nice location, food, relaxation and sun. Apart from the weather 3 out of 4 weren't bad. I have posted the negatives as well as the positives as everyone looks for different things in a holiday.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable, great food, disabled friendly
  • Disliked — Lack of things to do if weather is poor, flies, travelling time taken
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank kat8606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2008

Just got back from a weeks stay at the Confortel Hotel.
We had a wondeful week weatherwise, Baking sun every day.
The Hotel is OK, its very clean, the staff are obliging (well most of them) Unfortunately I think they cater mainly for the Spanish and quite a few of the staff cannot speak English. The entertainment was very poor, allthough we tended to walk along the promenade after dinner and had a coffee on the sea front. The drinks in the hotel were expensive also. The bedrooms are ok and the bathroom is excellent. We also had a tv in our room but the only English speaking channel was BBC world and most of the time that wasnt watchable as there was no satellite signal.
If you are a vegetarian this is definetly not the place to visit. I tended to live off salads most evening, there were no hot courses that didnt contain meat or fish except for chips and other variety of potato. ALso the desserts were very disappointing.
They were quite crafty actually as regards to the Euro football which was on when we were there, Man United were on Eurosport but the signal was blocked for that evening and if you wanted to watch it, it was being shown in the bar only. Obviously a ploy to get punters to buy drinks whilst watching the match.
Personally I would not visit this hotel again, allthough it does have a excellent approach to the promenade and beach.
We did visit this resort two years ago and stayed at the Iberostar just up the road, and I would say I enjoyed my stay there more.
This is a wonderful resort if you want peace and quite but if you require a more lively holiday, this place is not for you.

  • Liked — Nice sea view from our room on the fourth floor
  • Disliked — Lack of vegetarian food.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue21348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2008

That hotel was excellent!!! We went at this hotel on June, and we loved that!!! Big rooms, the breakfast was very good and with variety. The staff was very friendly and helpful. If We can we will repeat the hotel. Five stars*****.

  • Liked — The location, the sun, the helpfull staff, the big swimming pool.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MSantosLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingleton, North Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2008

Was a little apprehensive after reading previous reviews on this hotel. We put in a request for a low floor room close to a lift as I am recovering from a knee replacement. We had a room on the second floor as far away from the lift as possible, we were a little dissapointed initially(but the extra walking did me good).

We was very pleased with our room, which was large with a lovely big bathroom too, we had a side view of the pool and sea which was very nice.

The hotel was very clean, apart from the public toilet areas which always had a strange smell about them.
At meal times there was always plenty of variety to choose from, especially if you like fish. The only complaint was that food kept on the hot plates was sometimes cold.
The majority of the staff understood NO english which made things a little difficult at times, but we always managed to get ther in the end.
The pool was fantastic, the gardens were well kept with plenty of sun beds, plenty of showers round the pool.

A lovely long promenade is just at the back of the hotel, there are a few eating places close by and a small supermarket, all with staff who speak no english. A walk of 20-30 mins takes you to more shops and bars which are all very busy at weekends when the spanish arrive for the weekend but quiet during the week. The beach is unspoilt with lots of accsess points and showers at each one. The beach had about a dozen sunbeds when we arrived but more were being put out throughout our stay as the spanish holidays approached.

This resort is extremely spanish, with english tourists being a minority,the same goes for the hotel. This hotel is by no means a drinkers paradise, a small glass of beer being more acceptable than a pint. This holiday is ideal if you want a quiet relaxing time in a lovely setting.

We will definately return in a couple of years time, perhaps by then the english language may be a little better understood, especially in the hotel. Please be aware that this is not a busy resort and there is not an awfull lot to do but it does get you away from the usual crowds.

  • Liked — Quiet relaxing room, and spaciousness throughout hotel
  • Disliked — No signs up in english, no english speaking staff
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2007

Travelled to confortel with first choice in late october and there was a real end of season feel both in the resort and in the hotel.We transferred by minibus from faro in one hour,half the predicted time,and checked in with no problems.The room was great with a huge bathroom,tv,minibar and spacious balcony.contrary to many reviews i found the food good and the restaurant staff helpful.Thebeach was excellent and was cleaned every morning,There was a brand new promenade with beach access every 50yards and shower points at each one,you could walk for miles with no hawkers or time share touts but somehow for all the millions that has been spent on this resort it lacks any sort of buzz.The large hotel buildings and never ending rows of unsold apartment blocks create a skyline as boring as the few bars and restaurants that provided the only night life available,These were situated in a commercial centre and didnt always open,while the hotel entertainment was bingo in spanish in one bar and pianist with female singer(in spanish of course)in the other.1 week here was more than plenty but on the bright side the weather was brilliant.

  • Liked — large room and cleanliness
  • Disliked — too spanish
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BRIANWITHJOYCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islantilla
0.3 mi away
Puerto Antilla Grand Hotel
0.7 mi away
Islantilla Golf Resort Hotel
0.4 mi away
Family Life Ocean Islantilla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Playacanela Hotel
Playacanela Hotel
#6 of 6 in Isla Canela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marble AMA Andalucia
Marble AMA Andalucia
#3 of 8 in Islantilla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ohtels Islantilla
Ohtels Islantilla
#6 of 8 in Islantilla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ILUNION Islantilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ILUNION Islantilla

Property: ILUNION Islantilla
Address: Avenida Islantilla s/n, 21449 Islantilla, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Islantilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Islantilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ILUNION Islantilla 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ILUNION Islantilla is situated on the sea front, next to the Islantilla golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your ILUNION Islantilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Confortel Islantilla Hotel Islantilla
Confortel Hotel Islantilla
Islantilla Confortel Hotel
ILUNION Islantilla Costa De La Luz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing