We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveler rating
131
87
46
22
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
131
87
46
22
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach bar buffet restaurant live cooking walk in shower star hotel short walk german sensimar sunbeds midnight tui
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 301 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2018

Sorry, but food is not on the level it should be. Especially the fruits are not of high quality.....remember..you are in Spain !
The staff is helpfull and very friendly. The beds could be more confortable.

Room tip: View towards pines.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GudySavannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José F, Director General at Hotel Sensimar Isla Cristina Palace & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018

Dear guest,

Thanks for the feedback. It is very important for us because helps us to improve.

The food is one of the most valued aspects of the hotel by our guests. We can say for sure that the quality of our products is proved. Specially the fruits and vegetables, because we buy it in the local markets of Huelva.

We hope you can trust us again for another stay.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2018 via mobile

Great 5 star hotel! Without children, ideal for resting in summer or another season. Very good food, very good facilities. 2 restaurants, 1 Spa, 1 pool bar and 1 beach bar. The service is excellent (Migueli and Javier from the restaurant Marismas and Lolo from the beach bar are exceptional serving customers). The new renovated rooms are very comfortable. A highly recommended hotel, we will surely go back! The hotel just lack a bathroom in the beach bar, it is very uncomfortable to return to the hotel to use the bathroom.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Juan G. O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José F, Director General at Hotel Sensimar Isla Cristina Palace & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2018

Dear Juan,

Many thanks for your lovely comment!
We appreciate your support and the recommendation!

We are already working on a solution about the request for the bathroom facility on the beach!

See you soon!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2018 via mobile

Well we decided to spend 4 days in Andalusia in 5 star hotel and chose Sensimar Isla Cristina Palace and Spa. Service was good, staff friendly, food ok ( not 5 star), facilities are great, nice pools as indoor as outdoor, bed is large, pillows are not comfortable at all, air conditioning works very well, good access to the beach. 5 star prices for cocktails, but quality is for 4 star..Nice parking, but chargeable.
Definitely 4+ star hotel, but we enjoyed it anyway.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank 133marc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José F, Director General at Hotel Sensimar Isla Cristina Palace & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

Dear Marc,

Thank you very much for your review!
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay!
Unfortunately we can't meet all the tastes and expectations of every guest.
Therefore we are sorry if you did not enjoy our drinks and food.
Anyways we are always open for any suggestions, as the opinion of our guests is very important to us!

We hope to see you again!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2018

Sensimar Isla Cristina Palace is a wonderful place to be until it turns into a huge outdoor concert arena at 9:30 PM for a couple of hours (possibly only during the summer season). Whether you like it or not, you will be enjoying live music at least five times a week until close to midnight, even with your windows shut and a couple of pillows on top of your head – especially if your bedroom is facing the pool.

Anyway, so much for the complaints already. My wife and I stayed here for six (beautiful) days and seven (short) nights, all-inclusive, in a comfortable and spotless room with big twin beds, a furnished terrace and a spacious bathroom with two washing basins, a bathtub AND a walk-in shower.

Hotel services and amenities also include a spa, a fitness room, a large swimming pool, a lovely garden and direct access to a fantastic beach that is only a few steps away. There is a pool bar, a beach bar and a lounge bar (open at night) offering a great selection of drinks, cocktails and snacks served with a big smile by a professional and friendly staff – although they should really not greet everyone by default in German. Fine, at least four fifths of the other hotel guests were German, but still.

Finally, the food… The very best thing about this hotel is their buffet restaurant, really. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served ‘buffet style’ with live cooking, a beautiful salad bar and an amazing variety of well-presented hot and cold dishes (local as well as international), meats and seafood. We must have tried about everything, and nothing came even close to disappointing us.

Conclusion – food: 10/10, service: 10/10, setting: 10/10, sleep quality: 6/10 (based on the average number of quiet hours every night). Overall: 9/10.

Room tip: Get a top floor room not facing the pool, if you are in for some quiet nights.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José F, Director General at Hotel Sensimar Isla Cristina Palace & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2018

Dear Kris,

thank you very much for that detailed opinion about our hotel and the lovely compliments!
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and your holidays!

We take note of your suggestions and try to apply them in order to improve.

We hope to see you soon again!
It was a pleasure to host you!

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017

The closest Airport is Faro (Portugal). The pickup and transfer took about one hour. Once arrived, we’ve got a welcome drink while our IDs were processes. The manager came to us with the room cards, information and took time to explain the basics.
The hotel personnel speaks several languages, depending individuals, yet they mainly answer in German.

The hotel displays five stars, local standard. I think in France it could make it up to four, maximum.

Our room was located on the far west side, overlooking a pinewood, with view to the ocean, beach and Isla Canela in the distance. Really nice, hot in the late afternoon, but exposed on the sunset side in the evening.The view to the town is not very glamorous on the righter third side.

The room was very quiet, being away from the pool and animation, yet this comes at a price: the journey to the restaurant requires long walks in a maze of corridors. A bit disturbing the first two days, and not a good pick for elderlies or persons with walking problems.

The room was quite big and furnished in a modern style, big bathroom with tub and separate shower, separate toilets and a bidet. The air conditioner works well even so a bit noisy.
We had two apples, a bottle of juice and a 1.5l water as welcome goodies.
The water bottle is resupplied everyday. There is a kettle and decaffeinated sticks, plus some tea bags.

We had a media pensión (MP for one week): breakfast and dinner, no drinks included.
All inclusive (AI) guests can drink the content of the minibar every day, others have to pay.

Drinks are quite expensive, served in 25cl disposable cups around the pool, 2.40€ for a soda, 3.00€ a beer for the lowest prices. 2.20€ for a 50cl bottle of water. Same prices apply at the main bar and minibar.
AI guests can have a lot free, except for some more elaborated drinks and harder liquor for which additional charge apply.

Non-AI guests may buy the AI for their whole stay or only one or more days.

Food:
Breakfast proposes a large choice of different kind of pastries, bread, salads, fish and sausages and much more. Pancakes are made on-demand as well as fried eggs and omelets.
Coffee is not outstanding but can do. Two types of cava (sparkling wine) is also proposed.

Diner is different every day and I would rank the food better than in other hotels we visited in Spain. There are two separate grills, one for meat, one for fish. Additionally there are live-cooking of specialities like sushi or tex-mex dishes, pizza... Some evenings are special like the one around seafood and the director’s gala dinner.

There is a separate restaurant called Kulinarium where we could have one dinner provided we reserve in advance and tick what we choose from a limited choice. We did not try it, preferring a larger choice at the buffet restaurant.

What we bought extra was the BBQ party on the beach. For MP guests additional 15€ pro person. Except for salads and side dishes presented as a buffet, the skewers and grilled meat, sausages were presented by the waiters, on the table. I value the effort of the animation team managing the party, but I did not feel the whole was worth the extra cost.

Drinks are ordered from waiters. AI guests have a large choice of free drinks and some costing extra. MP guests like us pay for every drink, except the few watered sangria cups or the cava the management team offered from time to time.

Waiters are a bit too eager to get empty plates off the table, sometimes you have to fight to finish before they drag it from under your fork. They show the same eagerness to take your orders for drinks, letting you barely time to look at the card and choose quietly. For some reason, when you take time to go through the card, they will stay waiting beside you, which is a bit annoying.

Wifi is free yet not very reliable and coverage out of rooms and lobby is poor. Connexion is frequently lost. Difficult to get connected at the pool but works surprisingly in the street in front of the hotel.

Outside pool: big, nice, not too deep (must be from 80cm to 1,50m I think). Sunlit for the biggest part of the day and start to be partly in the shade by 5:00pm in August.
6 big stairs all around allow access from everywhere.

Sunbeds are set all around, with some balinese bed to rent for extra fee, half or full day. There were enough sunbeds and people were disciplined enough not to reserve them with towels and not using them.

There is also a reserved sunbed area on the beach, with a beach bar.

Spa: the spa is located in the basement, no natural light, all dimmed artificial light. First there is the inside pool with blue underwater light. Water is not very warm, but sweet (outside pool is salty). The only way to get in and out is by climbing ladders...

Further in the cave you’ll find a small jacuzzi, a sauna, a steam bath and a cold water pit for after the sauna dive. I tried the steam bath which is ill lit, seems not very secure for steam outlets and was ill-smelling, no essential oils, but rather the previous visitors rancy sweat.

Locker rooms and a (empty not lit at that time) hairdresser salon are in the same area.

The lady at the welcome desk is not often there and anyhow hotel guests may use the area in opening times. I wanted to get more information about wellness program for my wife, but there was nobody... The spa area was really disappointing and not worth spending much time there. As a matter of fact, during my unique visit there, I met 5 people, no more.

Surroundings: The town of Isla Cristina seems to live mainly from fishing industry and to be a holiday and week-end resort for wealthy locals. Nothing special to see, There is very few effort towards foreign tourism, all advertising and signs are in spanish, as are the menus in the restaurants. Be prepared for a deep dive into local life or stay at the hotel.

From the hotel, a plankway leads to the beach through the pinewood. Another plankway cuts perpendicular and leads right towards the town, left towards the camping.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank DeGueck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José F, Director General at Hotel Sensimar Isla Cristina Palace & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your great review about the hotel, and for sharing it with the online community for the rest of the users. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Sensimar Isla Cristina Palace Hotel & Spa.

We will be very pleased to receive you again in the future.

Best regards from the team,



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews