We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,486)
Filter reviews
2,490 results
Traveler rating
1,186
867
283
97
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,186
867
283
97
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsair confish marketpool barworking townceiling fanspanish guestsrestaurants and barssmall poollovely hotelenjoyed our stayentertainment teambuffet restaurantdog dirtdunesregimesunbedscosta
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 2,490 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2017

Hotel very good, the room excellent, but for me, just falling short of four stars. The web site describes it as "Ideal for Families" which it is, and "Ideal for Couples" which it is not. The mainly Spanish guests with kids were having a wonderful time with Barcy, and thoroughly deserved too as the hotel staff worked tirelessly to keep the children entertained. As for my wife and I, we prefer a bit more peace and quiet so not for us. The buffet restaurant was noisy and the food was a bit samey and not very hot. No fault of the hotel, but the surrounding streets were paved with dog dirt and broken glass, much to our surprise.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank davidwM4271MG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2017

Shouldn't be the title of an evaluation but unfortunately this was exactly how we felt staying at this hotel. We know that when we arrive at a location of such a big multinational hotel chain guests are nothing but numbers and also everybody knows that occasionally things don't work well. And we also expect that customer care would be something else rather than just an advertising statement. But now what we definitely don't expect is to be completely ignored and even mocked by the hotel's staff including the hotel's manager - "yeah yeah we're so sorry we broke your sunglasses while treating you and your family as forth class guests (but than again that's the way portuguese people should expect to be treated in a spanish hotel, right?) so here you have some scratched, sandy, 2nd hand sunglasses as a token of our deepest apologies".
A disappointing, sad, even depressing experience.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank Miguel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBIslaCristina, Director General at Occidental Isla Cristina, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2017

Dear Miguel,

We were very disappointed to read your experience during your stay in our Occidental Isla Cristina, whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, please believe we do extend it with all sincerity.

According to the hotel policy reserving sunbeds is not allowed. We do our best to ensure the following of this standard, especially during high occupancy when this happens more often. Our Security staff kept your things after you left them in the sunbeds, and anfortunately your sunglasses were broken.

The management hotel contacted you to offer different solutions, but you refused to accept them. We offered you a pair of sunglasses with the same value or even give you the money back, but we could not reach an agreement. We are really sorry about that, and we tried to do our best to solve the situation.

Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Occidental will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future.

Best regards,

Marcos Alonso
General Manager
Occidental Isla Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2017

We really enjoyed our stay in the Barcelo Isla Cristina, the check in/out were easy and we received a €90 gift card upon arrival for joining the Barcelo club online. The pool is pretty big and 1m deep throughout most of it so perfect for our 4 and 6 year old to play around in. There was also a smaller shallow pool for babies/toddlers. Our kids loved the mini club which was structured with different activities each day and also included all the children taking part in a show on stage in the evening. The evening entertainment was enjoyable every single night and was suitable for adults and children. The food was of a good quality and there a good variety throughout our week, also with the option of eating inside or outside on the terraza.

The beach is around 200-300m but it wasn't crowded, there was a lifeguard, toilets and a couple of bars/restaurants.

Parking was €12 a day underground at the hotel or you could park in the street by the hotel for free. Our room had a kitchen which was great as there's a Mercadona supermarket less than two minutes from the hotel.

All in all a great hotel, great facilities, friendly staff, a fantastic mini club which allowed us to have a very enjoyable and stress free stay.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank markZ6873JJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2017

If you want to have a relaxing time and special treatment for your kids you should consider Occidental Isla Cristina as your next holiday. But you should take into account that in Isla Cristina (and in the hotel) you will be confronted with a language barrier if you cannot speak or are not keen on learning a basic set of Spanish words.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank 583deryam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBIslaCristina, Director General at Occidental Isla Cristina, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017

Dear guest,

We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Occidental Isla Cristina we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal.

At Occidental Isla Cristina we strive to deliver an excellent service to our international clientele, therefore we always ensure that on every shift we have réceptionists able to communicate with all main nationalities represented by our guests, nevertheless we thank you for your constructive remark and will make sure to share your review with our head of departments for improvement.

Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Marcos Alonso
General Manager
Occidental Isla Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2017

Spent a week here with my wife and although the stay was all right, the negatives outweighed the positives.
First the good points - the staff were outstanding, hard-working but always smiling and polite. A special word of thanks to the lovely lady who was cooking fresh food in the restaurant.
The room was a decent size, excellent (and essential) aircon, nice balcony to sit out on, comfy beds, good wi-fi.
The fact that most guests were Spanish was not a problem for us and gave me chance to practice my language skills.
Nice to get bottled wine for dinner, branded spirits at the bar, daily cocktails were nice.
Now for the bad points - our first view of the pool area showed only covered sunbed areas around the big pool and some fixed thatched palapas by the small pool. If you did not get a bed in those areas you would be fully exposed to the very hot sun, as there were no parasols for the other sunbeds. We managed to get a palapa, but that end of the complex gets the road noise and the busy delivery bay is just behind the screening.
Maybe we were unlucky with some of the following, but on the Monday 40 junior age schoolchildren descended on the pool for a day trip. There were teachers with them, but they regularly ran dangerously around the poolside and of course created a lot of noise.
We also observed non-hotel residents using sunbeds and on one occasion helping themselves to the all inclusive food. Talking of which, we never ate any of the outdoors food, as it was left uncovered all day for the flies to crawl over.
The pool toilets were out of order for 5 days, the entertainment sound system was playing up, the restaurant had renovation work which created big queues when the many weekenders arrived. On one night only did we get cloth napkins instead of paper, no table cloths (just mats), the lounge bar was not in use which created longer waiting times at the pool bar at the weekend.
Also, smoking continues to be a nuisance in Europe, allowing people to smoke at the outside dining tables when others are eating right next to them.
The hotel was not the most welcoming - no drink offered on arriving, charging an extortionate 5€ a day for the safe and then not having courtesy rooms on departure day, offering you to change and shower in the gym instead!

Room Tip: Sea view worth upgrading to.
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank betterthanwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBIslaCristina, Director General at Occidental Isla Cristina, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2017

Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your impressions regarding your recent stay at our Occidental Isla Cristina. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and improve upon the service that we provide to our guests.

First of all we would like to point out that we empathize with you and we understand your preference for a more tranquil accommodation. Nevertheless it is our target to offer all our guests a splendid and amusing holiday and therefore we try to combine lively attractions for the action seekers with a well organized distribution in facilities and time tables to ensure that the guests wanting to relax can do so at all times.

We want you to know that we do empathize with you regarding our smoking guests, however we would like to inform you that we must adhere to Spanish law which entitles guests to smoke anywhere outside on our hotels premises, apart from near children´s play areas which appears not to have been the case during your stay and we apologize for any inconvenience this caused you.

According to the hotel policy reserving sunbeds is not allowed. We do our best to ensure the following of this standard, especially during high occupancy when this happens more often and we apologize if exceptionally during your stay we weren’t able to have a total control on this matter.

Thank you for your very nice compliments for our team, they do work very hard every day to make sure our guests feel well attended to at all times and definitely are an asset to our hotel. We will certainly relay your praising comments to all of them and we are sure they will be pleased to know their efforts have been appreciated.

Last but not least, it fills us with pride that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our chefs as we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests offering the most delicious international and local dishes.

We have taken note of your various constructive comments and please be assured that we value all our guests' feedback to be of utmost importance to us and will ensure that the necessary corrective measures are taken accordingly to avoid any similar situations in the future.

Best regards,

Marcos Alonso
General Manager
Occidental Isla Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews