We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Location”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Porto Moniz, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Beautiful Location”
Reviewed February 27, 2018 for a stay in August 2017

The house has lain very nicely in a quiet and green scenery. Delightfully for all those search the rest and relaxation and with pleasure detain walking and themselves in the nature. It is equipped very well, very comfortable and maintained extremely. The pictures correspond to the reality. Maria is a very hearty, helpful and uncomplicated render. The place postage Moniz is good by the car to reach. Here there are many places. It was a marvellous week which we have spent in the house. We would not have explored this side of Madeira so and would have experienced if we had not lived there. It is to be recommended really very much. However, a car is necessary compelling. I hope this translation works well.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 1, 2018
Thank you very much for your 5 star review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martamars...
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spacious cottage with a beautiful view”
Reviewed March 8, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Casa de Campo is located in Ribeira de Janela - a small rural village in a very beutiful valley. It is the perfect starting point for various hikes. So if you want an authentic Madeira experience - go north!
The house is bigger than expected, beautifully located with view on the sea. On sunny days you can enjoy the terrace from which you can also watch what is happening around the only shop of the village - a little glimpse on the every day life.
It was quite cold in February but there is a big fireplace in the living room, which heats up quickly and creates a cosy atmosphere. We enjoyed it after our long hikes.
A big bonus: the traditional grill place INSIDE the house, in an extra "grill area".
The house owner, Maria, is very warmhearted and friendly. She even picked us up on the way from the airport and showed us the way to the house.
Thank you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 9, 2017
Thank you very much for your lovely review. Your kind comments are appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with our future guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0ziWalkab...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing and peaceful location.”
Reviewed January 8, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
4
people found this review helpful

Despite some initial confusion about where to meet the owner, Maria was incredibly kind and drove to the airport to direct me to Casa de Campo - about a 75 minute drive.
The villa is lovely, remote and very quiet. There is a small shop nearby within walking distance. Access to the villa is via a very steep and very narrow lane. Although I could squeeze my Peugeot 208 between the stone walls it's not for the faint-hearted however you can park at the top of the rise and walk a very short (albeit steep) distance to the villa. It is well-serviced and affords lovely views to both the ocean and valleys and hills. It has a Philips ambi light tv with a plethora of stations for adults, kids and teens should you find the time to actually watch anything but what's on offer in Madeira both night and day! There's also a selection of CD music from a stereo system and the kitchen is well equipped with everything you'll need for your stay. The master bedroom is located upstairs adjacent to the second bedroom (2 single beds) and is a very decent size and affords views to the ocean. Beds are very firm and I ended up doubling over some spare blankets to provide extra cushioning. This is not a criticism just an observation. There is also a lovely terrace to enjoy your evening cap or morning repas.
At the time of writing the lock on the front gate was not working so I had to leave the main section of gate unbolted. Not a major issue but just something to be wary of to prevent you from being locked out. Test it first. Overall it's a beautiful quiet location and Maria is a wonderful hostess. I'll definitely return and have no hesitation recommending this wonderful villa.

TOP TIPS:
For travelling around the island I would recommend paying a little extra for a newer decent model hire car. Madeira Hire cars (booked through Holiday Autos) presented me with a clapped out VW which I had to exchange for an upgraded Peugeot 208 for an extra €30. At this time of the year there were no queues at the service desk and the price was very reasonable and included full insurances.

Visit the remote NE of the Island and take lunch at the Quinta do Furão, a country house hotel below Santana affording magnificent terraced views of the wild Atlantic slamming into rugged and very vertical cliffs.

Take a drive up to the summit of Pico do Arieiro cutting its way through the volcanic heart of the island. The views won't disappoint.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2017
Wow what a super informative review. Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments. Much appreciated by us and for sure by future guests. We will sort the lock out asap. Thanks for bringing this to our attention.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 24, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 25, 2016
A perfect review. Thank you very much for your recommendation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Serge B
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2018
Thank you for your great comments. It is a shame that with such lovely comments you didn't give us 5 stars. :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massonnet...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Non.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 29, 2018
Unfortunately the weather was not good for your stay - but that is not in our control! Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2017
Thank you very much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing