We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oceanside view the best!”
Review of Hotel Praia Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Praia Marina
California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Oceanside view the best!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This was our 2nd and 3rd visit to this hotel (2nd and 3rd were at beginning and end of trip to Azores. On the 2nd visit we had a side street view. Much quieter because a celebration was happening during the 3 days we stayed. Lots of festivities, music and parades late at night. This festival is always at the beginning of August. On the 3rd visit we had a corner, ocean side room at the very top. The balcony was like a full size patio with lounge chairs and awesome views of the port and ocean. The suite was comfortable and spacious for 4 adults and a 3 year old. You are just steps always from beach and promenade. Easy to walk to center of town. No need for a car. Hotel staff were very accommodating in obtaining taxis for us when we wanted to tour island or visit a village. Ample breakfast included with traditional Azorean cheeses and pastries.Good Restaurants nearby. I can not say enough about the staff and how friendly they were to all of us including my 3 year old grandson. Hotel very clean. We will definitely stay here next time we visit and I will definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny on top floor. No swimming pool or fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    21
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
19
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We had an ocean side room with a balcony. It was fantastic! The hotel was very clean and well decorated (the photos on their website don't do it justice). The room was comfortable and spacious. We had the room at the end towards the bars/resturants, but the sound proofing was great! The staff were friendly and very helpful. Would stay here again in a heart beat!

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank avertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

This is a fine hotel -- modern, very clean, perfectly located, with friendly and welcoming staff who speak remarkably good English. We had two rooms, booked through a travel agency, both at the back of the hotel, with disappointing views into the neighbor's back yard. We asked about moving to the front for an ocean view, but a large party arriving the next day precluded that. The front desk staff said that the rooms at the front are all apartments, so we would have paid more had we moved, but it would have been well worth it. I would return to this hotel, but would ensure a front side room.

Breakfast was modest but adequate, and there are several interesting restaurants very close. We were unable to enjoy the fancy one next door because we did not have reservations, and were then disappointed when most closed on Monday.

Were we to visit Terceira again, we'd likely stay in Angra. Praia da Vitoria is very convenient to the airport and close to a birding site we wanted to see, but Angra has more to do and see accessible by foot, and is less influenced by the military base and its personnel who were pretty boisterous in Praia's restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel have no real view, are smaller, and have no balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamitxoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
376 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel for many years when visiting the island. It is a family run place, very friendly, with free wifi and a great breakfast with local dishes like fig breads and island cheeses. Plus, the scrambled eggs are cooked just like at home - a very big surprise compared to how most hotel/restaurants cook them. The rooms are also spacious with couches and balconies overlooking the sea. I think this is a terrific hotel and would be happy to find the same quality in many of the other places I stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank callmeishmael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

I've been in this hotel for 2 times and I love it!! Small apartments, though very spacious. Everything is very clean, everyone is very fiendly and I love the decor! The views to the sea are breathtaking. If you like diving, as I do, it is 300m from a dive centre 'Octopus', also with amazing people (Alexandre, Rita and João). Truly, a hidden gem...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VandaAbreu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We had two apartments with a little kitchenette. Modern design - red kitchens. Nice. Wifi was free and most importantly, it worked.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davispeets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2006

My family and I liked this hotel. It is very nice and located right across the beach. It is rated a 4 star hotel however I would not rate it as a 4 star considering it is lacking a lot of services other 4 star hotels usually have.
The biggest problem we did have was a very expensive gold neckless was stolen from one of our rooms. When we reported it missing to both the staff and the hotel owner, the only thing they would say was that it was impossible that it was stolen there, that WE must have left it somewhere else. We know exactly when and where we last saw the chain. We aren't blaiming the staff as being the ones who did take the chain, but the truth is, the housekeeping staff leave the doors open to the rooms they are cleaning and walk away from the rooms for extremely long periods of time. This to me is a very big problem because anyone can walk into the room. I went to the beach and returned back to my room only to find the door open wide and no cleaning staff around. It was over 20 minutes before a staff person returned. This is the reason I wanted to post this message. I want to warn anyone planning on going to this hotel to lock up your items in your luggage. Another downfall of this hotel is that it doesn't have personal safes in the room. Don't make the same mistake we did.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of services
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Loves-to-travel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Vitoria
11.3 mi away
Aparthotel Atlantida Mar
Aparthotel Atlantida Mar
#1 of 5 in Praia da Vitoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
9.8 mi away
Terceira Mar Hotel
Terceira Mar Hotel
#1 of 8 in Angra do Heroismo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel do Caracol
Hotel do Caracol
#2 of 8 in Angra do Heroismo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Hotel Teresinha
Hotel Teresinha
#2 of 5 in Praia da Vitoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
10.2 mi away
Angra Marina Hotel
Angra Marina Hotel
#5 of 8 in Angra do Heroismo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
9.9 mi away
Azoris Angra Garden Plaza Hotel
Azoris Angra Garden Plaza Hotel
#3 of 8 in Angra do Heroismo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Praia Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praia Marina

Property: Hotel Praia Marina
Address: Av. Beira Mar, Praia da Vitoria, Terceira 9760-411, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Terceira > Praia da Vitoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Praia da Vitoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Praia Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Praia da Vitoria by the beach and Marina. 50 meters from the Main Square (Plaza), 5 minutes from the Airport and 8 minutes from the Golf Course Rooms: Hotel with a diversity supply, fitting your needs: Twin Rooms - Studios and Apartments T1, all with Balcony. Suites, with a large Panoramic Terrace. All Apartments and Suites equipped with: Kitchenette, Complete Bath room, Air-conditioning, Cable TV, Phone, Radio, and Hi-Speed Internet connection. Breakfast Buffet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Praia Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Praia Marina Praia Da Vitoria, Terceira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing