We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST DEAL IN VENICE - Clean rooms and wonderful staff”
Review of Hotel Marco Polo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Marco Polo
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Campalto
Chapala, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“BEST DEAL IN VENICE - Clean rooms and wonderful staff”
Reviewed May 26, 2010

We looked for a hotel close to the airport as we were arriving late from Amsterdam. I read reviews about this hotel and decided to give it a try. WE ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!
If you want a clean, nice, pleasant and affordable place to stay you MUST look at this one. Don't let the location fool you. It is only a 12 minute bus ride to Venice (the canals) and just 1.50 Euros. The hotel room was 75 Euros with breakfast. If you are just looking for a comfortable and clean place to rest your head then save your money and stay here.
The staff at the hotel are wonderful. This is our way of thanking them for a wonderful stay. You must go there!

Tom & Carol

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tayule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    151
    52
    15
    25
See reviews for
80
178
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Marco Polo the night before a cruise and had a fantastic experience. The location is great for getting to Venice by public transport (bus #5 is 2min walk away and takes you directly to Piazzala Roma in Venice), as well as being located a couple of miles (5min drive) from the Venice Marco Polo Airport (VCE).

The hotel staff was extremely friendly and went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed from our stay. The service at this hotel is extremely good and maybe the best I've had across Europe.

Breakfast was included in our room fee (which was a good value) and it was a very good continental-style breakfast.

The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated and not extremely small as can be the case in a lot of European hotels (they're not large, but our room was not too tight of a fit for a family of 4).

There is a very tasty pizza takeaway restaurant 3-4min away from the hotel by foot and the hotel staff are happy to provide plates/cutlery/etc., as well as allow you to eat your pizza in their dining room if you like.

Also, you can buy bus tickets from the front desk, which is quite convenient as well.

I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Venice, either for a cruise or for a stopping point to explore Venice (as it is much more reasonably priced than most hotels in Venice).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cspoe7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2010

We arrived a couple hours before check-in time and Vanessa at the front desk checked and had a room ready for us.She was very helpful,told us what bus to take to Venice,what water taxi to Murano. She also had bus tickets for sale at the front desk and explained about validating them.When we returned later that day Lara was working on the front desk. He told us about the restaurants within walking distance,seafood,meat,or pizza and pasta.We didn't feel like going out for dinner so he suggested picking up a pizza at a takeout place about 2 minutes away.He also mentioned there was a small supermarket just across the road from the bus stop,about a 5 minute walk.So we went there and bought some wine and picked up a pizza.When we got back to the hotel he had plates,cutlery,and wine glasses set up for us.We had arranged for a shuttle to the airport the next morning (15 Euros) and he said he would have some food and coffee or juice available for us. We were leaving at 6AM and the breakfast starts at 7AM. Both Vanessa and Lara were so kind and helpful,they definitely made our stay enjoyable.The room was spacious and very clean.Had a flat panel tv,safety deposit box to lock your valuables in,comfortable bed.Bathroom was adequate and shower worked well.We had a small balcony facing the street which we liked. Didn't find it too noisy but a room on the back of the hotel would be quieter.All in all we had a great stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRT007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2010

The staff were friendly (in particular, the bloke on reception was absolutely wonderful) and helpful and the room was very clean and comfortable, with modern furniture, etc. The location is good - just ten seconds from a bus stop with a regular bus that takes you to the heart of Venice in about 12 minutes. There are also a couple of reasonable restaurants in the area, a shop over the road and a supermarket very close by. A good tip is to go to the takeaway pizza place just across the road if you want a cheap dinner one night - unlike the horrible pizza takeaways in England they make the pizzas fresh in front of you and they are really very good (and the hotel staff can provide plates and cutlery for your room if you want a quiet night in). The buffet breakfast is also good (toast, pastries, cereal, coffees, juice, rolls, cheese, etc.) and there is half an hour of WiFi free of charge. The only small criticism is that our double bed was actually two singles pushed together and because they were on wheels on a laminate floor, they had a bit of a tendency to move around when you sat on the bed! Very minor point though - overall, we had a really nice week at the hotel and would definitely go back if we were to visit Venice again. Thanks to the staff for all their help with everything.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eniahsphoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

Because I couldn't find the English translation button on the official Marco Polo website I booked this hotel through a popular American travel site. Apparantly there was an option on the travel site to select the number of adults that would be staying the the room. I must not have changed it from the default (1) to 2 since my new husband and I planned on staying for one night before departing from Venice (I didn't pay attention since it has never made a difference if 1 or 2 stay in a room before). When we arrived at the hotel they initially tried to charge us 80 additional Euro (the room only cost 80 Euro) to have a second person in the room, even though there was no difference in the room they were going to give us. We explained that we would only be staying for less than 7 hours and wouldn't even be eating breakfast since we were departing on a flight at 6:00 in the morning. After much debate the front desk man lowered the price to 20 additional Euro for my husband, which by that time I was willing to pay just to get in the room and go to sleep, and then a couple minutes later he volunteered to let him stay for free. So, it ended up being fine, but the check in process took over 45 minutes due to the fiasco and was fairly stressful. Also, the front desk person had taken my passport at the beginning of our conversation, and he never returned it to me. That morning I was frantically looking for my passport and went down to the front desk to check if they had it, and they had it sitting in the open behind the desk. I already had checked out of the hotel and paid that night, so if I hadn't gone down and asked for my passport I probably would not have received it. I think they should have brought it up to the room right away rather than leaving it behind the desk as it was an important document and there fault that they did not give it back to me. With all this being said, the front desk person did end up doing the right thing and the hotel was comtemporary and nicely decorated. The room was satisfactory and clean with a working television. I can see how many people would have a good experience with this hotel, but due to the misunderstanding it was not a pleasant stay for us.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amandaOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2010

This pink-facade hotel is not located in a tourist district, but rather in what appears to be a working-class neighborhood. However, it is a hidden gem and well worth staying in if you are looking for a quality, safe and secure place that is not a stress on the budget and yet still close to Venice. After reviewing comments from Trip Advisor, we decided to stay here for three nights, renting two rooms. Since we had a car, it was important to us to have a place to park it, which the hotel had. The lot is gated at both entrances, and the entry doors to the hotel are locked, too (use a buzzer to get in). The hotel staff is extremely friendly and helpful, especially the nice man, Lara. He was the BEST desk manager/concierge we've ever encountered at hotels and assisted us with bus schedules and other valuable travel tips. The hotel and rooms were clean and quiet and had all the necessary amenities. Breakfast was standard, nothing extravagant, but still good. Venice hotels are so expensive, so this hotel was the perfect option for us. There is a bus stop about a block from the hotel and you can buy bus tickets at the hotel front desk. The bus for Venice comes about twice an hour and it's about a 12 minute ride into Venice. You are dropped right off at the main bus/train/car parking area. So easy to do, and very stress-free! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mejulaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2010

Nice hotel... the staff was friendly and knowledgable of the area. Rooms were a comfortable size and very clean. Hotel was less than a 5 minute drive to the city of Venice. Free parking. And most importantly, you cannot beat the price for the Venice area. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amberharty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campalto
0.2 mi away
Antony Hotel
Antony Hotel
#19 of 58 in Mestre
1,474 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Titian Inn Hotel Venice Airport
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ducale
Hotel Ducale
#1 of 1 in Favaro Veneto
485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#2 of 3 in Campalto
183 reviews
1.8 mi away
Venice Resort
Venice Resort
#4 of 4 in Tessera
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marco Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marco Polo

Property: Hotel Marco Polo
Address: Via Orlanda 115 | Campalto, 30173 Campalto, Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre > Campalto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Campalto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marco Polo 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo is a modern and comfortable Hotel in Campalto: totally renowed in February 2008, it’s only 3 km far from Marco Polo International Airport of Venice and along the main street to Venice Downtown; the closest highway A4 and a convenient public bus service makes the Hotel the ideal stay to reach Venice at only € 1,00 per person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Marco Polo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marco Polo Province Of Venice, Italy - Campalto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing