We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finding this hotel truly saved us!”
Review of Hotel Marco Polo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Marco Polo
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Campalto
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We booked a different hotel just for one night stay. However, this turned out to be a complete mess, a lot of bad customer service via e-mails which resulted in cancelling our reservation for that hotel. Generally, we found hotels in Venice to be a complete disaster and finding a good one quite difficult.

Since we had to go to Venice in the next couple of days, it was a big issue how to find a decent hotel in Venice for just one night, close enough or well connected by public traffic to reach the Marco Polo airport.

I must say this hotel was a great find. We booked a room on their website and got 10% discount and it was pretty easy to reach this hotel from Maestre train station (just take bus no.9).

Hotel is newly decorated and very nice. Customer service was kind and friendly, they were actually pretty fluent in English, which is a rare case in Italy, trust me. The rooms were big enough, with a good king size bed, air conditioning, mini bar, TV and of course, nice small bathroom. All very clean and comfortable.

Breakfast was included in a room price, it was a standard buffet breakfast, I have nothing to complain about food, it was good.

Also, we got a 1 hour of free wireless included in a room price.

If you are just passing by Venice because you need to take an early flight on Marco Polo airport, I would recommend this hotel for you. It's easy to reach airport, just take bus no.5 on a bus stop nearby and airport will be at the last bus stop.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TripsterPassingBy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 374 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

My friends and I stayed here for 5 days in August during our Venice holiday and we definitely recommend Hotel Marco Polo if you are on a budget or on a short visit to Venice. The hotel was easy to get to/from the airport (bus 15 and 5 stops a few metres from the hotel - you can’t miss it). On arrival we were met by the friendly manager and the good service continued during our stay. Overall, the staff was very friendly, helpful and made our stay pleasant.

The room was well maintained, very clean and met our needs (tv and air conditioning) though the shower was a bit small. The hotel offers a continental+ buffet breakfast with breads, croissants, cold cuts, cheeses, yogurt, fruit, cereals, hard-boiled eggs in the shell, coffee, teas and juice) was very good.

The hotel is only 20 mins away from Venice (bus 5 and 19) and less than 15 mins from Mestre central where you will find more restaurants, bars and a shopping centre and (bus 15) – bus stops are a few meters away from the hotel. It’s more economical to buy a travel card (7 day travel card costs about 50 -58 euros but 3 days travel card may cost less) at the airport which enable you to travel on bus and vaporetto (waterbus) in and around Venice at any time and as many times as you like during you trip and will therefore save you a lot of money.

Try and book gondola rides, boat tours and walking tours ahead of your trip as it can save you a lot of money (especially the gondola rides).

Hotel tax (€1.50 approx.) is charged per night per person in Venice so budget for that. Also remember to take insect repellent if you are travelling visiting in the summer as we (and many other tourists in Venice) were beaten a few times at night during the trip.

We would definitely stay here if we visit Venice again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BunnyGh2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed one night on our way home from Venice. Hotel is right on the bus line and it's easy to travel back and forth to Venice on the local bus. Service was excellent and staff at front desk spoke English. Very reasonable priced for a nice place.

Room Tip: They have King size beds in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donloeffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here several times. It’s just two miles from Aeroporto Marco Polo and a heck of a lot cheaper than the Marriot & others a bit closer to the airport. The hotel is in the town of Campalto and there are restaurants, bars and a grocery store nearby. The rooms are modern and very nice. Breakfast at the hotel was a bargain at five euro. If you have an early flight to catch the next morning, this hotel should work for you. It worked for us.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WVCliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We recently stayed for 3 nights at the Marco Polo following a cruise. We used their shuttle service to meet us when we left the ship, and booked it again to take us to the airport. Unfortunately, the shuttle was in for repair for the airport run, but the manager kindly arranged a taxi and paid the difference - what service! The hotel is so conveniently situated with regular buses into Venice just a few steps away and the airport not far away in the opposite direction. The rooms are simple but clean and comfortable with a good breakfast included in the room rate. Although situated on a junction, the hotel is quiet and the area is very peaceful at night. The staff were helpful and friendly and happy to explain how to get around and where to eat. There are a couple of good restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel. We would certainly recommend this hotel and will stay here again if we visit Venice.

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank philjay15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We recently stayed a few days at the Marco Polo Hotel in Campalto before boarding our cruise. We stayed for two days and visited Venice. Then left the Marco Polo to visit relatives in Bresica for one night. No problem leaving our luggage with the hotel, as we came back for one night before boarding the ship.

The hotel is about 5 minutes from the Venice Airport and about 15 minutes from Venice. Very convenient. We took the number 5 bus from the airport to the hotel. It lets you off about ½ a block away. We also took the number 5 to Venice two days. It was easy and inexpensive.

The Marco Polo is a small Italian hotel. It is not a Hilton or Hyatt. If that is what you are looking for, then the Marco Polo is not for you. However, it is very inexpensive and if you choose not to stay in Venice it is very easy to take the bus in for a visit. The rooms are small, but very clean and bright. The front desk clerk Orlando, was wonderful. He took the time to explain the bus system, gave us suggestions for restaurants in the area and was just a genuine nice guy. Breakfast is included in the rate. It's self serve, but you have a variety off coffee, juice, cereal, hard boiled eggs, pastry, toast, etc. Everything you need to start the day. They also have a bar, which we didn't use, but looks like they have anything you would want.

They offer shuttle service to and from the airport. We had no problem getting to the airport for our 6AM flight using this service. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it as a place to stay outside of Venice, but still have the convenience of being close enough to visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nana2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Marco Polo is a small 3 star hotel in Campalto (a suburb of Venice) for a reasonable price. Rooms are clean and comfy, a good buffet breakfast and helpful staff. What else one might need?:-)
In my opinion there is no sense to pay the double the price if not more to stay in Venice. There is a bus stop in just a few minutes walk from the hotel and it'll take about 15 min to get to Piazzale Roma.
I've stayed for 4 nights and had no problem getting to and from Venice.
You won't be missing anything if you choose to stay in Marco Polo.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ksush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campalto
0.2 mi away
Antony Hotel
Antony Hotel
#19 of 58 in Mestre
1,509 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Titian Inn Hotel Venice Airport
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ducale
Hotel Ducale
#1 of 1 in Favaro Veneto
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#2 of 3 in Campalto
190 reviews
3.2 mi away
Novotel Venezia Mestre
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#157 of 385 in Venice
2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marco Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marco Polo

Address: Via Orlanda 115 | Campalto, 30173 Campalto, Mestre, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre > Campalto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Campalto
Price Range: $68 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marco Polo 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo is a modern and comfortable Hotel in Campalto: totally renowed in February 2008, it’s only 3 km far from Marco Polo International Airport of Venice and along the main street to Venice Downtown; the closest highway A4 and a convenient public bus service makes the Hotel the ideal stay to reach Venice at only € 1,00 per person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Marco Polo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marco Polo Province Of Venice, Italy - Campalto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing